We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple place to stay in Laoag”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Octagon Resort
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Laoag
Reviewed March 16, 2013

I've searched a lot of places to stay for a one night stop over in Laoag and the best I can find is Grand Octagon Resort. We have 3 kids in the family and one of their request is a pool where they can spend time playing. Since it was just a stop over, I did not choose those pricey hotels along the area and settled for this resort.

The place was not hard to find considering that they are along the main road. The place looks quiet and it seems like there are not much people you can see roaming around, maybe it was a low season when we visited them last January. The receptionist is nice and answered most of our queries and request except for a certain lady who I would assume as her superior who are not welcoming at all. We reserved 2 rooms with 2 double beds per room but it was only when we arrived did they arrange the rooms. It was a little bit annoying but we decided to let it go, since it was already late and we are all tired from our Vigan trip. One of the room given to us has a bathroom with a see through door where you can clearly see the person using it from the outside. Although we are a family travelling together, we do want the bathroom to be private. It turned out that the room provided to us was a matrimonial room not a family room. We didn't have a choice but to occupy 3 rooms which had costs us more than the original reservation.

The rooms are okey but I don't like their bathrooms, it's not that clean and fixtures were worn out. Good thing they have hot water which made me sigh in relief. The pool was small and was not well maintained. They have a nice lawn and garden however there are lots of mosquitoes too in the room. We had to request a spray to protect the kids which in fairness they had provided for free.

I think this could be a better place if the management will keep it's cleanliness and if they would renovate their bathrooms.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kayee14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ma Jem G, Owner at Grand Octagon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Grand Octagon Resort, but I was very disappointed to hear your experience. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

Grand Octagon Resort strives to provide BEST service and experience for every guest. The fixtures and room bookings that you have pointed out have now been addressed and we aim to improve on these, taking appropriate measures to prevent same occurrence.

We appreciate your feedback, and We hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to Grand Octagon Resort and provide you with a hassle-free experience.

Sincerely,
Grand Octagon Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (38)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 38 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2012

We stayed here for 10 days... Hospitality at its BEST!!! They will really make you feel at home!!!!Staffs and the owner are friendly... Good service, nice hotel with a character, yummy food!!!Worth the money!!!highly recomended!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Ljcjod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ma Jem G, Owner at Grand Octagon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are very delighted to hear you had a pleasant stay and will share your comments with the Grand Octagon team. This feedback will serve as an encouragement to our team to continuously strive to be the BEST.

We hope to see you soon with your friends and family on your next stay.

Again, Thank you for sharing your positive experience and We hope your next visit will be as pleasant as your previous stay.

Sincerely,
Grand Octagon Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

There were was no wow effect when We reached Grand Octagon Resort. Our junior suite room can accomodate up to 10 people as they have told us that us why we tool the place. We were 7 adults and 3kids, the room was just enough but the aircondition was too bad, its just a normal aircondition that can cool up a small room and ours was not small, we requested for a fan that they provided, but it can not even give some air in the room. Imagine that your sleep in sweat!!
The pool is so small and they hold swimming classes there, they also allow non guest to use the pool with a payment, thats why there is no place for my niece and nephew to swim. I would not recommend the place to my friends, they would be disappointed like I did.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank geekpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ma Jem G, Owner at Grand Octagon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2015

Dear 283ross,

Thank you for taking the time in reviewing our resort.

Its unfortunate that you had bad experience last December 28, 2014 and did not meet your expectations.

I also feel that you were not happy that you have paid the full amount of your stay which was meant for 4 nights via our on-line travel agent which was not possible because of its terms and conditions.

It is pitiful that you were not honest and open when our receptionist asked you why you were leaving the following day, as you have told them that you have found a relative to stay with.

We strive to keep our customers happy and have a pleasant stay in our resort.

We are proud of the grounds and it is still under development.

Thank you and hope you continued to enjoy your holiday in the other hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

After a long journey from Europe, Entering Grand Octagon Resort greets you with a welcoming staff. From the gates, there they carried and assisted us with our luggage then escorted us to their Front Desk. Front Desk officers appeared accommodating and welcoming. I have observed with the staff which I totally liked and approved that they walked around the resort with a smile and greeting everyone (good morning)/(good evening)... KEEP IT UP! The resto was a bit big and needs total marketing because the food is very good. Resto appeared full only when during lunch time as it catered to the office and other staff nearby. Going for a dip in the pool is very lovely. However, the pool opens and closes at certain times due to maintenance- understood as it needs to be cleaned daily. Rooms and bedding was clean. Efficient staff for their good efforts when needed hot water as hot water was not on once, never happened again. Some towels loss their fluffiness, hope they will improve on this. WiFi is not too bad either, hope the resort will improve on this too.
Place is recommended despite minimal faults. Sleep is a good quality too!

Room Tip: The Guest House is the Best area. Love the garden setting and the trickling of water in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Westerntraveller19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2012

we have our first trip together with my bf and we stayed Octagon Hotel for a week last january 2012.They gave us the deluxe room coz their standard room was so small and very noisy coz of those tricycles,jeepneys,etc.....anyway,the room they gave us was big but the biggest disappoinment is the sink in the bathroom it was leaking and the flow of the water in the shower was sooooo little,it doesnt make sense they know it all along that somebody is going to be that week but they didnt make any effort to fix it.Another thing is the pool is so small,the fridge is kind a dirty and you have to order ur breakfast ahead of time coz sometimes they are out of it.The cleaner was not cleaning so well.They gave you rugs instead of bath towel.i dont know if we are going back there.......

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank nhel_0316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ma Jem G, Owner at Grand Octagon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Thank you for your review.

Apologies for your inconvenience on your stay. We have recently addressed the following problems that you have raised. The facilities that you have pointed out are now fixed and improved.

The cleaners have been given feedback and we are closely monitoring performances, particularly in the cleanliness of the rooms and hotel vicinities. Cleanliness is paramount to Grand Octagon's mission and vision.

We aim to improve and demonstrate a pleasurable experience on your next stay . Hoping you will change your review in a positive way. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2011

Just about everything worked as expected, the place was clean.
Not quite to western standards, and maybe not quite as good as some resorts in the same price range in the Visayas, but very good for the area.

Very friendly and competent staff.

The internet did keep dropping, which necessitated regular calls to the front desk for a reset. However when it worked, response was very good.

I am taking a mark off for the restaurant however. They did not have a lot of the items listed on the menu, and what we did have for dinner was not that good, much too fatty using cheap cuts of meat / chicken.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TonyScott23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2011

I stayed only one night but would go back any time. I have travelled very extensively in the Philippines and I thought that the Grand Octagon offered very good value for money. It is not in the city center but I am happy with that. It is closer to the airport.

My level 2 room in the front building was very modern and clean, had a balcony and good aircon, with a modern ensuite bathroom. It was quiet and I had a very good sleep.

I arrived late and in a thunderstorm. The staff were very friendly and helpful, including changing a cell phone chip and preparing a gluten free meal for me.

Definately on my "to return to" list.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank RobandMaryJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laoag
4.0 mi away
Java Hotel
Java Hotel
#1 of 12 in Laoag
261 reviews
4.4 mi away
Northview Hotel
Northview Hotel
#7 of 12 in Laoag
62 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Tiffany Laoag
Hotel Tiffany Laoag
#8 of 12 in Laoag
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Rivermount Hotel and Resort
13.5 mi away
Playa Tropical Resort Hotel
43.8 mi away
Hotel Luna
Hotel Luna
#1 of 7 in Vigan
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Octagon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Octagon Resort

Address: Along Airport Avenue | Barangay 50, Buttong, Laoag, Luzon 2900, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Ilocos Region > Ilocos Norte Province > Laoag
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Laoag
Price Range: $35 - $52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Grand Octagon Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Grand Octagon Resort as an invigorating place to retreat from the chaotic city. Walk around the lush tropical gardens, camp on the well-manicured lawns, cement beautiful relationships at the cottage by the pool, appreciate the beauty of greenfields at the sentry like cottages built on century old trees and reflect on how greatly blessed you are. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Octagon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Octagon Hotel Laoag
Grand Octagon Resort Laoag, Ilocos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing