We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice staff and comfortable beds”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Balay da Blas Pensionne House
Ranked #1 of 23 Laoag B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Paranaque, Philippines
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Nice staff and comfortable beds”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We were a big group so we stayed in their barkada room. The room had a loft that had 2 of the double beds. Airconditioning was great. Hot showers after tours and trips were really great. They cleaned the rooms daily and you get fresh towels daily too. They can arrange tours for you, you just need to inform them. You can take tricycles around the city if you want to try restaurants like Saramsam or try the local hangout called Dap-ayan. It is in the city so everything is easy to get to.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Melizza V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    70
    20
    3
    5
See reviews for
67
48
7
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Accommodation was quite large with a suite type configuration and of reasonable value. Starting to show wear on the furnishings but still servicable. Kitchen unit did not have any serviceware of any type. Desk set up day tours as requested and provided car service to the airport. Did not get around town much as the local transportation was mainly tricycles with side cars so small that we could not get comfortably seated. Pros: Price, large room, good WIFI and friendly front desk. Cons: Breakfast was rather nasty and one day made my spouse sick later that morning, Each morning some of the staff would light up near our room where the smoke would creep into the room, Billing was a bit confusing with credits and debits being mixed up it took me a while to sort it all out and find that the total due was accurate, hotel takes MC when on site but requires a bank deposit when making a reservations which is a pain when one is travelling from overseas. Indications are that an proper dining facility is being constructed next door which should make things better.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elrod13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

The property is nice and quaint. The staff very helpful and the location is wonderful. Walking distance to restaurants and not far from the airport. My only issue was the roll away bed which was as hard as a rock. There was a modem socket in the bathroom which i found strange and the aircon by our living room that wasn't working. But for Laog, i have a feeling this place was better than most!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelwithMonique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Had a beautiful antique room on the top floor. The bathroom is the eye catcher! My cousin's family had a one bedroom suite perfect for them. I already recommended this homey type B&B to my other friends. The staff were wonderful too. Would go back again!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aquarian25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanderhoof, Canada
Level Contributor
114 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

i and my friends stayed here when we decided to visit vigan and pagudpod.the room i chose was good for 4. im not really expecting something extravagant. our room has it's own bathroom.it's clean. the bedroom has aircondition unit.the lights are quite dim and a bit eerie at night. it's very quiet at night too. the breakfast is simple but delicious. approachable staff too.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arwen_31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manteca, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed in the biggest room there and it was amazing. The ambiance of the pensionne house was great (we stayed in the older part; old world ilocos/hispanic) and the service of the staff was fast and friendly. The Balay is very homey and comforting, which was welcomed because we just got off from a long flight. The balay is super close to the city, which is a plus, since I love sight-seeing and immersing myself into the culture. There is also a complimentary breakfast and it was amazing! Definitely better than what I've experienced at other hotels. If you are looking for a home away from home then this is the spot for you. The staff is very welcoming and will help you carry your luggage upstairs because there is no elevator. A side note: there are 2 different ambiances to the Balay da Blas--old world and modern; and there is free wi-fi, if you ever need the internet. Oh, before I forget, the pensionne house is also super clean and full of beautiful antiques. The pensionne house is also beautiful and well-designed. You will know what I am talking about once you visit. Very charming place!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Judy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

We absolutely loved this place and highly recommend it. Our room was large and very nice. Breakfast was delicious and we really enjoyed chatting with the owner Sam. It's located in a pretty nondescript neighbourhood but is nice and quiet. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jntgl1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laoag
0.6 mi away
Laoag Renzo Hotel
Laoag Renzo Hotel
#2 of 12 in Laoag
3.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.7 mi away
Java Hotel
Java Hotel
#1 of 12 in Laoag
3.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Tiffany Laoag
Hotel Tiffany Laoag
#8 of 12 in Laoag
3.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Northview Hotel
Northview Hotel
#4 of 12 in Laoag
3.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
2.4 mi away
Grand Octagon Resort
Grand Octagon Resort
#12 of 12 in Laoag
3.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
45.7 mi away
Hotel Luna
Hotel Luna
#1 of 7 in Vigan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balay da Blas Pensionne House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balay da Blas Pensionne House

Property: Balay da Blas Pensionne House
Address: # 10 Giron St | Barangay 7-B, Laoag, Luzon 2900, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Ilocos Region > Ilocos Norte Province > Laoag
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Laoag
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Balay Da Blas Pensionne House Hotel Laoag
Balay Da Blas Pensionne House Laoag, Ilocos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing