We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worst pensionne house I stayed at”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Balay da Blas Pensionne House
Ranked #1 of 24 Laoag B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 24, 2012

poor customer service, i regret of staying in this pensionne house. I did not know how they got a good reviews from customers. I booked a junior suite room but to my surprise, the room is not good. I don't even know why they describe it as a suite room. I even paid for extra bed but until late evening, they did not set-up the bed for me. This is really the worst pensionne house i have stayed. I really regret of staying here.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kaye s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (198)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 198 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2012

This hotel was a nice surprise.
The price is excellent for the service you get. All are very friendly, including Sam, the owner. Nice Filipino breakfast. Rooms and toilets are cleaned everyday. You get free WIFI and cable in your room. Worth recommending.

Room Tip: Do not take a room in the same building as the reception because it's all in a big hall and all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaxeS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

I originally booked at Balay da Blas last September 2011. Due to typhoon, my flight got cancelled and re-booked with them on February 2012.

Our room is located on the 2nd floor. The room is big and spacious for 2 persons. Their bathroom is clean and neat.

Staffs are warm, nice and friendly. The owner is very professional and understanding.

Our complimentary breakfast is good and tasty.

All in all, It’s true that this Pension House is a home away from home. It's perfect and highly recommended!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank herbievore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We booked the Junior Executive Suite, where 3 people can comfortably stay. There's TV, living/dining room and kitchenette. We love the ambiance. The place is rustic and it feels like you are in Spanish era. Staff are very warm, accommodating and helpful. Even the owner, Mr. Sammy is truly wonderful. He patiently answers all my queries and even suggests things to do and where to go in Ilocos. Food is superb! We love the food. Especially chicken pesto pizza. You may choose to have breakfast in your room, they will deliver them to you just tell them what time you want your breakfast to be delivered. You may also choose to eat al fresco, where you feel close to nature. Mr. Sammy is also the owner of Saramsam Restaurant, do drop by and eat there. Food is delicious. If you want to buy Ilocos vinegar, do buy there because it's cheaper and authentic. Only 40pesos for a 750ml bottle. If you have itinerary and do not know how to go from one place to another, you can ask the staff at Balay da Blas and they will gladly help you on how to commute and get there. Much cheaper I say than rent their van. Best time to go to Ilocos is December. The weather is a little chilly at night and early morning but just right in the afternoon. It was such a lovely stay for us. Thanks Mr. Sammy and staff!

Room Tip: We got the room on the 2nd floor-Junior Executive Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Milo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

we enjoyed our stay in this pensionne house. staff very accommodating.the rooms are big enough with plenty of space to accomodate us. thanks to Mr Sammy Blas for the upgrade.We enjoyed the food, we'll give you thumbs up for your hospitality.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jhean-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Most review here recommends this inn probably they did not end up staying at room #1.
The room we got was very stinky. The smell coming from the drainage of the bathroom is smelly all over the room which made us dizzy and barely slept that night. We complained about it and the staff cleaned the bathroom again and sprayed it to remove to odor. When we got back at night the same smell is all over the room again. I was able to talk to the owner and told him about our concern and he was very apologetic however they are fully booked at that time that is why they cannot transfer us to another room. I suggested that they should convert the room 1 to a stock room. However our friends room is okay at room 3. Our breakfast is delicious, I had tapa ilocano and an extra order of longganisa. Ambiance at the dining area is nice as there are lots of plants around us. The inn also offers free wifi.

Room Tip: Request the room 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cresil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We stayed in balay da blas for 3 days and 2 nights and I wish it was longer. The staff were very accomodating and the rooms were better than what we expected. Plus, they have a great restaurant a few blocks away and the food was superb. We are definitely booking here the next time we visit ilocos.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blessings02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laoag
0.7 mi away
Java Hotel
Java Hotel
#1 of 12 in Laoag
261 reviews
0.6 mi away
Laoag Renzo Hotel
Laoag Renzo Hotel
#2 of 12 in Laoag
123 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tiffany Laoag
Hotel Tiffany Laoag
#8 of 12 in Laoag
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Grand Octagon Resort
Grand Octagon Resort
#12 of 12 in Laoag
38 reviews
1.7 mi away
Northview Hotel
Northview Hotel
#7 of 12 in Laoag
62 reviews
7.6 mi away
Bellagio Hills Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balay da Blas Pensionne House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balay da Blas Pensionne House

Address: # 10 Giron St | Barangay 7-B, Laoag, Luzon 2900, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Ilocos Region > Ilocos Norte Province > Laoag
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Laoag
Price Range: $30 - $63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings and Agoda so you can book your Balay da Blas Pensionne House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balay Da Blas Pensionne House Hotel Laoag
Balay Da Blas Pensionne House Laoag, Ilocos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing