We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay in Maasin”
Review of Villa Romana Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Southern Leyte Province
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Romana Hotel
Reviewed February 11, 2012

We spent one night at Villa Romana when we were passing through Maasin City. It is probably the nicest place in town. We got a standard room, which was small but clean and serviceable. The price was reasonable and included a light breakfast.

The hotel is only a 5-minute walk from the port, which is very convenient if you are arriving or departing by ferry. However, you may also be woken up by the horn blast of a late-night ferry (though there is very little traffic at the port). The hotel is on the main street and we enjoyed walking around the seaside town of Maasin.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the main street as there will be a lot of vehicle noise. There are some standard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (20)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 20 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2011

As hotels go in Maasin City, this one was nice and reasonably affordable. The rooms were well kept, the AC worked and the showers were hot most days. The staff was trustworthy enough that the people I was traveling with could leave a laptop computer charging in the room.
The biggest drawback was the noise. Most evenings, groups would gather in front and drink, smoke and joke until 1 a.m. At 4:30 a.m., the local Catholic Church would begin blaring its sermon and music over the loudspeakers until 6 a.m. It wasn't the wake up call I wanted.
I would recommend it ONLY if you can get a room that faces the water at the rear of the hotel, particularly on the northern side. That helps with the noise according to some in my party.

Room Tip: Get a room toward the back north corner
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SheldonTraver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2011

Just returned from Maasin, stayed at Villa Romana for 3 nights, couple + our 19 yr old son. The best you will find in this very pleasant priovincial town, no question about it. Clean, comfortable, great food and great hospitality. A little noisy at night, staff apparently have a habit of moving furniture around to accomodate late arrival - minor drama... WI-Fi works fine. And to be honest, there is not much else around. Recommend it. Our room was No 206, 2nd floor with large veranda on the water, 3 nights for $AU 180.00 including an additional bed for our son.

Room Tip: Room 206 and 207 are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank cburnat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2011

Its my first trip in Visayas region and i found the place has so many white sand beaches. The hotel is good and its staff. They are very accommodating, in fact the front desk there give me sketch and instructions on where to go. Their room is clean and the rate is ok, they serve me well. So if i have given a chance to go back in Southern Leyte i would still choose to stay in Villa Romana Hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank busted_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2011

We stayed in this hotel in April 2011 for 4 nights. There seems to be not much choice if you really have to stay in this area (Maasin city), but if not try to avoid this hotel. The customer service is really bad. In fact, the lady at the check was ignoring us almost completely, very rude. For the first night we had a room facing the sea, which is quite and looks ok inside, but 3000 pesos is way too expensive for a small hotel like this. The rooms facing the street are more cheaper, but really noise. Basically you feel like sleeping in the middle of a busy street with lost of noisy motorcycles. The restaurant stuff downstairs is noisy too and does not care about the rest of hotel guests.The rooms are not very clean, the new towels already dirty, and the staff "forgot" to clean the room and didn't care much about it anyway. The food in the hotel restaurant is also nothing that can be recommended.. WIFI is free but slow and doesn't work in all rooms.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Airbusflyer09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2010

I stayed in Room 304, which has a balcony with sea view for 2750p ($65US). It was a waste of money. If you plan to stay at this hotel, my recommendation would be to book a less expensive room, but request that it not face the noisy main street. I have nothing positive to say about the deluxe room. There is no night table and thus no bedside light, no clock, no phone, no Kleenex, and no plug in the bathroom sink. There is one straight-backed chair that is too short to use at the non-functional desk. The water in the partially enclosed shower is barely warm and the water pressure is abysmal (see video). There is no hot water in the sink.

Don’t rely on their wake up call – the night staff were still asleep when I carried my luggage downstairs to meet my pre-arranged tricycle.
Wifi is free but slow at best and is available in the restaurant only

Food in the restaurant is not great and is inconsistent –if you order the same dish 2 nights in a row, you won’t even know it was the same dish

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank driftdiver1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2010

Villa Romana Hotel
Thomas Oppus Street, Abgao Maasin City, SO Leyte
Mail: [--]
Tel: [--]
Price feb 2010: single: 950 pesos, deluxe 1350, and other rooms from 1750 to 3500.
Simple breakfast included.
Very nice hotel, new, nice restaurant with sea/pier-view, probably the best in town.
The rooms are very clean, new, hot water, aircon. Some with views and balcony for the more expensive ones.
Free WIFI
The best hotel in this small town that I saw.
Close to the center, but quiet.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank jp2000b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southern Leyte Province
15.4 mi away
Padre Burgos Castle Resort
Padre Burgos Castle Resort
#3 of 3 in Padre Burgos
146 reviews
13.8 mi away
Sogod Bay Scuba Resort
Sogod Bay Scuba Resort
#1 of 3 in Padre Burgos
146 reviews
3.7 mi away
Caimito Beach Hotel
Caimito Beach Hotel
#1 of 1 in Maasin
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
76.8 mi away
Z Pad Residences
Z Pad Residences
#3 of 21 in Tacloban
118 reviews
75.1 mi away
Bamboo Garden Apartelle
Bamboo Garden Apartelle
#9 of 21 in Tacloban
2 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jaimees Hotel & Resort
Jaimees Hotel & Resort
#3 of 20 in Southern Leyte Province
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Romana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Romana Hotel

Address: Tomas Oppus St | Maasin City, Southern Leyte Province, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Leyte Island > Southern Leyte Province
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Southern Leyte Province
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Villa Romana Hotel Southern Leyte Province, Leyte Island, Philippines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing