We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely veneer, appalling customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amazing Ngapali Resort
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Ngapali
Certificate of Excellence
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Lovely veneer, appalling customer service”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

I don't like leaving negative reviews and hardly ever do so. However.....
The resort, on the surface is lovely, and the staff charming (as they were everywhere we went in a Myanmar). We started off in a beautiful room with lovely sea views. Unfortunately it had a connecting door which was really flimsy so we could hear every sound from next door. Disconcerting at the best of times, but when are the next door neighbour is very ill and keeps you up all night with coughing and vomiting it is unacceptable for a hotel at this price. We asked to be moved the first night it happened but they said the hotel was full. Long story short we ended up in an inferior room for half of our stay. I kept asking if they had anything else because I was really unhappy but they didn't. We were offered no compensation not even a couple of drinks. When I complained to the agent afterwards the hotel told them that they had offered no compensation because we'd said we were happy with the change. An outright fabrication.
I would sum this place up by saying if things are going well it is fine but as soon as anything does not go to plan there is nobody with the authority to do anything about it. I'm pretty sure the expensive villas were not all occupied but there was nobody there with the authority to upgrade us, only to downgrade.
A shame to end a fabulous trip in Myanmar this way. There are plenty of places to stay around Ngapali so you may as well go somewhere with good customer service.

Room Tip: If you must stay here ask for a room with no interconnecting door
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mandykingkilby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoshuaMgMg, Manager at Amazing Ngapali Resort, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Mingalarbar ! Warmest Greetings from the Amazing Ngapali Resort !

Thank you very much for taking bother to provide the feedbacks from which we can learn to improve ourselves. We are sorry that you were not happy with the solution and we dont know how to pay back for this. Anyway we truly appreciate your kind comments which really guides us to improve. If you allow we still want to fix this problem at your next visit.

We look forward to welcome you back again to pay back.

Best Regards,

Kyaw Swar Maung Maung and Amazing Ngapali Resort Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    92
    33
    9
    5
See reviews for
83
312
31
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norway
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Lovely staff!! After 2 weeks of touring around Myanmar we were relieved to come to a hotel with a jolly good breakfast and a lunch/dinner menu that always had something we fancied!! Room was fine, bathroom a little dated, but the sun shone, the sea was warm and we had a lovely rest after our tour of Yangon, Bagan, Mandaly and Inle Lake.
We had a lovely 3 days here.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor with a nice big veranda - but we could see there were beach front "...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulineNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoshuaMgMg, Manager at Amazing Ngapali Resort, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Mingalarbar !

Thank you so much for taking bother to recommend our hotel and we truly appreciate your kind support and we will always remember your help.

We look forward to welcome you back.

Best Regards,

Kyaw Swar Maung Maung & Amazing Ngapali Resort Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Dear Mr. Zaw Min Naing,

Thank you very much for serving the best services from your hotel to us when we visited last month. We are so pleased while staying there and looking forward to visit again. I will definitely recommend my friends who would like to visit Ngapali to stay at your hotel. However, may i suggest to improve the Internet access a bit then the hotel will be perfect. :)

Look forward to seeing you again.

Thank you.
TA & MM

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

In the end of our vacation, we would like to rest a little bit. So we have chosen this hotel. Really, it is not disappointing. Nice place, nice hotel, nice beach, nice sea, everything is nice. Good restaurant, don't hesitate to choose Chili crab, but it is a little complicated to eat and it takes a lot of time.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chen65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We loved our stay at Amazing Ngapali. From the attentive welcome at Thandwe airport to the quirky old wooden buses, from the " Ahhhhhh" sensation upon arrival to the " Wouahhhh" exclamation when entering the spotless, wooden villas with deck and windows opening on one of the most magnificent beaches in the whole of south east asia, from the attentiveness of Dor Nila, master smiler and amazing restaurant floor manager, from the excellent food (humm, the best in Myanmar?) and romantic night BBQs on the beach.. everything is the details, the smooth comfort of an amazingly well maintained property. We stayed 5 nights with our 4 year old child, we felt at home and did not want to leave... Please Joshua, dear GM of this awesome place, keep some of this great Burma wine for our next visit! One note though, we loved our thai massages as well, but also would like to recommend you organize some training at BKK's Wat Po for further improvement of your masseuses..

Room Tip: room on the front row have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

The hotel is really nice, but not where I would go for 3 reasons:

- it's not on the main beach so there's nowhere else to go. Stay on the main beach and you can wander up the beach, sit with your feet in the sand at one of a dozen beach shacks, have a cold one as the sun goes down and fresh seafood for half the price of Amazing.

- it too nice - who wants white tablecloths at the beach? - and yet it doesn't quite hit the heights of the best top end (eg small pool)

- lots of tour groups - not a very laid back vibe.

Some people love it and I get why - but it's not for me.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jman345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014

3 nights in Ngapali to end our 2 weeks in Myanmar. This hotel enjoys a very enviable position on a very nice and quiet beach. No disco, no annoyance in the vicinity that would spoil this privileged environment. The room (sea view villa if I am not mistaken) was spacious and part of a 2-storey building with 6 rooms, 3 on ground floor and 3 above. Although we were on the ground floor, we did not hear our neighbours from above.
Breakfast was good, and you have such a view over the beach: just paradise. Service was OK.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JollapParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ngapali hotels
0.7 mi away
Hilton Ngapali Resort & Spa
3.9 mi away
Sandoway Resort
Sandoway Resort
#4 of 18 in Ngapali
504 reviews
2.7 mi away
Bayview - The Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Pleasant View Resort
Pleasant View Resort
#8 of 18 in Ngapali
211 reviews
3.4 mi away
Aureum Palace Spa & Resort
2.0 mi away
Yoma Cherry Lodge
Yoma Cherry Lodge
#3 of 18 in Ngapali
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amazing Ngapali Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amazing Ngapali Resort

Property: Amazing Ngapali Resort
Address: Ngapali, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Rakhine State > Ngapali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ngapali
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ngapali
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ngapali
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Ngapali
#5 Spa Hotel in Ngapali
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Ngapali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Amazing Ngapali Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the most beautiful beach in Myanmar, 45 minutes away from bustling city of Yangon by air and 5 minutes drive from Sandoway Airport, Amazing Ngapali Resort is ultimate hedonistic resort that redefines escapism in its beauty, luxury and conception. The view from the lobby takes in the gentle waves and allowing its guests an exhilarating feeling of spaciousness and an affinity with the natural surroundings, lushly landscaped gardens and pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, JovagoAsia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Amazing Ngapali Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amazing Ngapali Hotel Ngapali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing