We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just in paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Amata Resort and Spa
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Ngapali
Angouleme
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“just in paradise”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Currently there are still only a few hotels in this wonderful place but I'msure it won't be long!!!!!!!
This hotel really is right on the beach with some of the luxury chalets having views out across the sea. However the beach and sunsets are stunning, very clean and quiet. Our room was spacious, modern and spotless. Loved it, wished we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RozAngouleme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    142
    49
    12
    13
See reviews for
47
220
19
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013

After travelling 3 weeks in Myanmar we came to this beautiful resort. The location is fantastic with a beach you can only dream of. The room was specious and had a nice terras . Super breakfast ( best ever) and good restaurant. Friendly staff. Only remark is the slow wifi
Survey a place to recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the bech
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karenhans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This place is great: really good service, lovely rooms (ours right by the beach), great food and drink. Well worth spending the extra cash to stay here: lovely! It's right by the beach and the hotel picks you up from the airport. Breakfast is particularly good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjhow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Our visit was lovely. The hotel is pretty slick but really, the jewel is the beach that it fronts! Overall I don't know if I'd rush back to this resort but at the same time, I can think of little negative about it. There is not much accommodation that actually sits on the beach where you look out on the water. Most is hidden behind in immaculately kept garden settings. The beach view cabins are very stylish and comfortable. The breakfasts served overlooking the beach were extraordinary for the range and quality of food. Really wonderful. We had our lunches and dinners at local restaurants on the sand up and down the beach which were basic but lovely with lovely ambiance and of course views of the sun setting as we sipped our Gin and Tonics. The resort restaurant is reasonably priced (for resorts) but much more expensive than local restaurants. The bicycles for hire are old and badly maintained.

Room Tip: Check what and where your room is. eg, not all 'ocean view' cabins are created equal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

What a lovely resort this is - and in such a beautiful setting. From arrival we had no complaints whatsoever. From the staff at reception to the housekeeping team - every single member of staff were truly delightful. We enjoyed meals at the restaurant every night of our week stay and breakfast was excellent with so many food options and your choice of eggs made to order just as you liked. Nice pool if you wanted it and stunning viewsa with amazing sunsets. The building is amazing and our room on the first floor of the unit which had a lovely ocean view - lovely to wake up to. Very spacious accommodation that included all the essentials. Our shower was over a bath tub located next to a glazed window panel which wasn't the best of installations as it soaked the frame but we mopped up as best we could. In the heat it wouldn't have taken long to dry out anyway. The beach is pristine and the memory of our sunrise strolls along much of its length will remain with me for a long long time. Visit Amata - a lovely lovely perfect stay at beautiful Ngapali.

Room Tip: Ocean views are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Twishy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Our cabana cabin was wonderful and HUGE! Many families would be happy to live in such spacious accomodation which was also clean and well maintained. The bedroom is on a mezzanine floor which did mean a nightly downstairs trip to the loo, which I can assure a previous reviewer did not bother this " elderly" couple at all. In fact our only slightly negative comment on our accomodation was, that our front garden hammock, was too low which made it nearly impossible for me to get out ! Still it heartily entertained my husband as I tried! The whole place is well maintained ( we simply could not find the problems of poor maintenance mentioned in comments of some months ago! and the setting on the wonderful Ngapoli beach only enhanced our stay. It was like staying in many other tropical paradises 50 years ago! Absolutely 100% recommended with excellent restaurants close by and those gorgeous myanmar people I can fully understand why some people stay here on a very refgular basis. Bliss

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank muscadet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oriental, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We had a terrific stay at Amata. I spent quite a bit of time prior to our trip to Burma looking at all the various options in Ngapali and was torn between 3-4 places. When we got there, I visited my other choices in a moment of second guessing. I made the absolute right choice with Amata.
We had a great two story cabana that was very nicely appointed. We basically just slept there, but should you choose to spend time in your room, it was extemely comfortable. The bed upstairs has mosquito netting but we never needed it. I liked the open shower in the bathroom with the window so you could look out. We had a fridge to keep my beers cold. (there is a store that sells beer directly across from the front gate at less than half of what the hotel charges) The grounds are just beautiful, with so many different blooming flowers everywhere.
The breakfast was excellent, with a ton of options-both Burmese and western. . You could also get eggs made to order and pancakes. The pastry selections were very good. Lots of seasonal fresh fruit and juices. Sitting outside by the pool with this massive buffet was a great way to start the day. Note...get there early if possible. It was packed every morning the week we were there.
The food in the restaraunt is very good, if not somewhat pricey. Be warned that the portions are huge. My wife and I split an entree after watching several other tables struggle with all the food and it was still more than enough. Do yourself (and the locals) a favor and head out the front gate for dinner at least once. There are several restaraunts within a 2 minute walk, all of which have unbelievably good food at less than half of what the resorts charge. Most of them feature whatever came off of the boat that morning. Local ladies selling fresh fruit every day down by the beach chairs They have whatever is fresh and will cut it up for you in seconds. Nice break in the heat of the day. Look for Aye Aye Soe and her little daughter Phyo Phyo. She would bring us homemade treats each day.
Very nice bar. I was a bit siuprised that the waiters did not work the beach chair area. They could have tripled their business if they had staff down there taking drink orders.
The pool is awkard. Nice enough pool, but it is set in the middle of the dining area and no real area to lay out. If you jumped in, you worried about getting the folks dining wet.
The beach in front of the hotel is beautiful and never crowded. Turn left and head down to the PVI restaraunt out on the rock jetty. There are also several little beach restaraunts down there that do a very good job and have sunset Happy Hours. Turn right and stroll down to the mermaid stature on the rocks. Early in the morning there are lots of seashells to find.
If you book a snorkel trip with one of the locals, ask for Chip. He wears a green army hat. Hands down does the best job, cooks you an amazing fresh seafood lunch on a deserted beach and is 5,000 kyats cheaper than the rest of the crowd..
We had an outstanding stay at Amata. I could not have been happier with my choice.
The staff was all exceptionally friendly. The airport transfers were flawless and they send a staff member back to the airport with you and she handles all the immigration and check in procedures while you have one last cold beer in Ngapali.

Room Tip: Slip back to your room around noon to turn your a/c back on and lower your shades. The maids turn i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NCSTATEGUY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ngapali hotels
0.2 mi away
Sandoway Resort
Sandoway Resort
#4 of 18 in Ngapali
504 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pleasant View Resort
Pleasant View Resort
#9 of 18 in Ngapali
211 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hilton Ngapali Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Bayview - The Beach Resort
0.8 mi away
Aureum Palace Spa & Resort
0.9 mi away
Jade Marina Resort Hotel
Jade Marina Resort Hotel
#12 of 18 in Ngapali
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amata Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amata Resort and Spa

Property: Amata Resort and Spa
Address: Gyeiktaw Main Street | Mya Pyin Village Ngapali Beach, Ngapali 11021, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Rakhine State > Ngapali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Ngapali
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ngapali
#7 Spa Hotel in Ngapali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Amata Resort and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Amata resort & spa, Myanmar's most exclusive international beach resort, stretches along the beautiful shoreline of Ngapali, Myanmar's premier beach. The resort covers more than five acres of tropical wonderland and guests are luxuriously accommodated in eighty teak, bamboo, cane and rattan cabana, bungalows and suites. The resort is flanked by a 400 meter seaside boardwalk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, JovagoAsia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Amata Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amata Hotel Ngapali
Amata Resort Ngapali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing