We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“absolute paradise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandoway Resort

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Sandoway Resort
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Ngapali
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“absolute paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2009

Out of all the resorts I have been too this is certainly the very best resort I have stayed in. Desighned completely by the hotel manager Alberto Peyre it is set in a beatiful location with blue skies, turqouise seas and refreshing breezes.

Pros:
The food was really delicious Italian and Meditereanian with a hint of Burmese in the menu. The staff in the restaurant are very ,very nice and speak English, Italian and German aswell as Burmese. They are very well trained. The menu included spagetti bolagnease, parma ham and medetareanian pizza bread with tomato salsa. Other than the subject of food the hotel had other great facilities including an inviting pool right next to the beach and a brilliant library with books in all languages. Every day at 9:00 pm the hotels private and very comfortable theater opens to those who love classics like doctor no, doctor Zhigavo, Casablanca, Laurance of Arabia and many more. The rooms are amazing and they are well desighned and perfect for couples.

Cons:

Well I have to say that the breakfast wasn't the best. The sausages were too sweetand the poached eggs tasted strange. It was an a la carte menu. Also the door handles were not a good desighn. If you leave the key in the room or villa and you close the door then it will automatically lock itself. I ended up going to reception 5 times to get someone to open the door for me.

All in all the resort was very freindly especially the manager and restaurant staff who always smile. The airport bus was really nice; a 1930's bus with cushioned wicker armchairs. I highly reccomend you stay at this resort rather than the other long list of choices Ngapali has to offer.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LSHemshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    112
    32
    16
    3
See reviews for
52
310
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2009

As private individuals, our arrival started with warning bells ringing loudly! Had to sit in the hotel's uncomfortable bus for an hour, with no drink nor cooling towel. It was high noon,so with you can imagine the temperature with no air conditioning except the glassless widows, with the rest of the people who were going to the hotel. The transport to the other hotels had long gone, very efficiently.
Our villa was nicely appointed, but had no information about
the hotel eg. activities.
The evening meal was a disaster. Stale bread, cold cooked vegetables and a main course very poorly cooked - inedible!
There did not seem to be a food and beverage manager and by the time the general manager decided to get up from his table, which was right behind us, we were way passed feeling hungry. He did offer to give us another meal, but by that time we were not hungry, just very frustrated.
We ate the next night at a local restaurant which was much cheaper,great food and superb service. The Sandaway manager only seemed interested in the many Italians staying at the hotel and the menu was mainly poorly cooked Italian food.
Breakfast was better apart from the fact there was no fresh orange juice, which the waitress maintained was out of season. This seemed very strange as they obviously had not been to the local market, which had piles of them! If you wanted transport from the hotel to the local market, the cost was $50 US currency for travelling 5 km .
We had cockroaches the size of mice in our room.
It seemed to us the management lacked competence ad organisation which reflected through to the unfriendly staff.
The hotel is set on a beautiful sandy beach which could be idyllic, but was not as the hotel beach loungers were very unforgiving and uncomfortable, no mattresses. The sunshades were falling apart and gave no relief from the sun . The beach towels provided were thin, worn and very old, they didn't dry you at all. We had expected this hotel to be the highlight of our trip, but we were left very disappointed, having experienced wonderful hotels and service elsewhere in this beautiful exciting country. We will definitely return to Myanmar, but certainly not to the Sandaway.
The Burmese travel agent who arranged this trip for us was genuinely shocked and upset by our report to him.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — The staff and the food
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
15 Thank 2Cedar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2008

Sandoway is a piece of heaven - it's the by far the most charming boutique hotel we have ever stayed at and we've been back 4 times since!!!

Alberto who runs the hotel and who has given his italian touch to the surroundings has done a splendid job - it is understated luxury to the max....so peaceful, so amazingly stylish too. You will not find any kind of bad taste here, every single element of the hotel has been hand crafted. The beach itself is exquisite and pristine - one of the finest in the world...after being around the world and seeing some of the best boutique hotels in teh world I would argue with anyone who does not think so!

The staff are every ready to answer your every whim, they are gracious, charming uber professional and discreet...they merge in with the surroundings and everyone speaks in a gentle whisper as to not disturb you!

We went with a huge wedding party - almost 30 of us and they threw us a beach bonfire and helped us with every need.

One of my guests got a little too drunk and fell asleep on the beach, then went to his room and left all his belongings on the beach. The next morning there was a knock on his door and all his belongings were returned, clothes folded and dry, money and valuables in a little plastic bag.

Sandoway is my favorite place in the whole world - that's why we will always go back again and again and always spend that extra money to book the beach villa!

PS food is amazing - the breakfast is to die for, as is the fresh tomato salsa and selection of italian breads that come with lunch!

Sandoway we love you!!

  • Liked — The incredible service and the rooms/hotel layout - it's stunning everywhere you look
  • Disliked — ok I am picking at straws here - I suppose the food is quite expensive but you can always try one of the many resteraunts up the road
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank ZinzieLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2007

We've stayed at the Sandowy towards the end of April for an entire week...definitely too long! It is boring and this comes from people that adore reading, quietness and peace; but apart from the hotel that is extremely tasteful, the beach and water is not as good as the Thai resorts (ie Phi Phi or Krabi) and it has a huge jelly fish problem. Behind the beach there isn't any village apart form some scuttered local cottages. Basically there is nothing to see and the bay is far from being spectacular. If it wasn't for the hotel you'd think to be on a third rate Thai beach.
As said before the hotel has 'class', nevertheless a few things can get on your nerves: big cockroaches coming up the water pipes in the bed room bathroom; for this 'problem' we've contacted the concierge and got no help; after 2 days we've got the smart idea to close the drain holes with tape at nite and leave the light on...it worked but it is a bit of a nuisance if you think you are in a 4 stars hotel. Enquiring for the 'cockroaches' problem we've discovered from the hotel staff that there is also a mice problem! As a matter of fact in the bedroom we've found some mice fieces but luckily we didn't run into them. The beach doesn't have any food or drink service and the restaurant is only Italian food. Frankly this is a good thing since Burmese food is NOT GOOD to be generous. The bothering aspect is that the manager (Italian) tends to greet and welcome in a decent way only Italians.
Service is not professional and you can see there is a lack of guidence by the managment. Overall we won't go back to Ngapali...not only for the hotel that despite the MANY problems is probably the best but in particular because the place is not worth! Do visit Burma but if you want to spend sometime at the beach go for Thailand.

  • Liked — The Hotel architecture, the room and general elegance understatement
  • Disliked — Service and managment
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank achille5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
102 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2007

Ngapali is a real oasis ! unspoiled with a terrific beach.
The hotel is great. I really recommand to spend some more money and book a beach villa ; yes, it's expensive but really worth. Do not expect a "Four Seasons hotel", you are in the middle of nowere but the quality is fantastic.
They have an italiaan chef and the food is excellent (Mediterranean).
I have travelled quite a lot and could not beleive that places like that still exist.

  • Liked — The Beac, the Villa and the restaurant
  • Disliked — Front desk
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Attilio B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2007

Be wary of what you book here. A so-called deluxe room was near the road and so near the village and noisy. Also there was absolutely no sound proofing from the next door rooms. Everything that took place in the neighbouring rooms was audible. Given the prices and that I had expressly well in advance asked for a quiet room, this was disappointing.

Unlike other hotels on the beach, there was no all day food service on the seafront, only 3 set meal times and only European food. The hotel's idea of a Thai restaurant was one where the guest had to have seven set dishes.

The hotel was, I felt, unduly regimented.

There are more agreeable places to stay on the beach.

Stayed December 2006
Helpful?
6 Thank Kenrigg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warks.England
Level Contributor
349 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,048 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2007

Just to confirm all the other reviews - an excellent boutique hotel on the Bay of Bengal to finish off your Burma trip. Stylish cottages and great sunsets. Locally recruited and trained staff are friendly and efficient and the addition of the pool and library area (added since our previous visit) completes the facilities. If you like Italian food then you will be in heaven but after a few days of pasta,pasta & pasta you will want to wander to the other recently built 5* hotels whose food is much more varied and cheaper.
Chef take note! In our opinion still the best hotel, and with the best position ,on Ngapali Beach but with the opening of the new Auream Beach Resort it will have a strong competitor. We hope to return.

Stayed January 2006
Helpful?
5 Thank Silverswimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ngapali hotels
1.2 mi away
Bayview - The Beach Resort
4.5 mi away
Hilton Ngapali Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Aureum Palace Spa & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Pleasant View Resort
Pleasant View Resort
#8 of 17 in Ngapali
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
1.8 mi away
Yoma Cherry Lodge
Yoma Cherry Lodge
#3 of 17 in Ngapali
5.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
6.0 mi away
Merciel Retreat & Resort, Ngapali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandoway Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandoway Resort

Property: Sandoway Resort
Address: Mya Pyin Village | Ngapali Beach, Rakhine State, Ngapali, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Rakhine State > Ngapali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Ngapali
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ngapali
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ngapali
#5 Family Hotel in Ngapali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sandoway Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Sandoway Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandoway Hotel Ngapali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing