We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sandoway Resort
Nearby Hotels
$92
$89
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$187
$174
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$181
$170
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$96
$83
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$87
$66
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$133
$109
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$52
$49
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$135
$108
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (571)
Filter reviews
571 results
Traveler rating
377
133
37
19
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
377
133
37
19
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeachfront villabeach frontitalian foodngapali beachraise the flagfamily restaurantlocal restaurantsthe cottagesday beditalian managereat localbeautiful beachlarge bedroombathroom downstairsfishthe main hotelhotel bus
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
224 - 229 of 571 reviews
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Huge and gorgeous beachfront villas.
Excellent service !

The Sandoway is a wonderful place to stay, Ngapali is a heaven compared to the over crowed beaches in Thailand 300 miles south on the Andaman coast.

It is very expensive especially by Myanmar standards, it make you feel bad to stay in such an expensive place.
Don't hesitate to try the small local restaurants that serve delicious foods at much more affordable prices.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Didier V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed at the Sandoway for 15 nights before we did our sightseeing in Yangon etc. and were completely relaxed by the time we left. The beach postion was perfect for the Sandoway and the hotels either side (Amata and Bay) as our daily walks along the rest of the beach took us past poorer quality beach. Each room had an allocated spot on the beach with a bamboo/palm leaf sunshade and sunbeds or you could just laze by the pool if you wanted to. The only beach sellers were locals selling beautiful fresh fruit and as they were not allowed to approach guests you went to them if you wanted some fruit. As we bought fruit from them every day we enjoyed talking to them and amused them by trying to learn & speak some of their language and find out more about their culture.

The rooms were extremely spacious with the bedroom on the 1st floor and a living area, dressing area, bathroom, shower area and toilet on the ground floor. The rooms were kept spotlessly clean and fresh towels appeared daily.

Breakfast was an a la carte affair which we got used to after a few days but it is probably one area that could be improved as everybody is different and particularly where eggs are concerned it is better to have a chef preparing eggs in front of you as then you have a chance of getting them cooked the way you like them. The breakfast staff were always smiling and the service was excellent, constantly topping up the coffee and offering more pastries.... a great way to start the day!

As we prefer to eat local fresh food in the evenings on our holidays we ate out at the restaurants outside our hotel and Amata. If you are the kind of traveller that prefers a selection of cheap, excellent restaurants on your doorstep then the Sandoway is ideally located. There are 12 restaurants within 300 yards of the Sandoway entrance, four to the left and eight to the right. We tried them all and went back to our favourites towards the end of the holiday although all were excellent in their different ways. We both agreed that the fresh seafood dishes and seafood curries were some of the best food we have eaten in the many far east countries we have visited. The prices for a more than adequate meal for 2 plus beers and water ranged from 8000 kyat (£6.60) to 17000 (£14) with the average cost being around £10 a night. If you wanted lobster (around £10 each) the restaurants would show you the live lobster before it was cooked - you can't get fresher than that!

Our overall opinion is that although expensive, the Sandoway is one of the better quality hotels to stay in but I would suggest that you go to Ngapali soon before it becomes too popular. A beautiful beach in a lovely part of the world.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jolleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Although the Sandoway Resort is a decent hotel located a stones throw from the pristine beach, we felt it was a bit overpriced (room rates, restaurant and boat tour). Compared to other 5* hotels we have stayed in Myanmar (The Strand Yangon, Amazing Bagan, Inle Princess Resort), it was also lacking in areas of service. During our one day stay on 14 April:

- Inefficiency - Hotel staff sent our suitcase to the wrong room
- Poor advice - Through poor advice from one staff member, we were told it was fine to go snorkeling on the hotel boat during the afternoon when in fact, it was not. The open sea was very rough and visibility was severely limited (we are both scuba divers). When the boat reached its destination out in the open sea, the boatmen gave us faulty life vests to wear (ie. straps couldn't clasp properly), and told us it was fine to go into the water. After ten minutes, I knew that the currents were way too strong for snorkeling, and we were in danger of drifting far away from the boat. Without hesitation, my husband and I told the skipper that we wanted to return to the hotel. As the general manager was in Indonesia, we politely filed a complaint with the acting person in charge that day. (I say 'politely' because it could have been an honest mistake, so we didn't want to make a big fuss) I wasn't however, pleased with the hotel's initial response. The staff member (who had given us the go ahead for the boat trip), basically told us that we must pay the full charge of the boat (which was not cheap). If we didn't, then she would have to pay and it was too much for her. I was actually surprised at her response, and at how the matter was handled. I asked to speak with the person in charge again. We never did speak. When we checked out of the hotel the next day, we weren't charged for the boat trip at all. I'm not sure how the matter was handled internally in the end. It wasn't so much about the money, as we were happy to pay a contribution, but our key message was: it is dangerous, and next time the right advice (as well as safer life jackets/equipment) should be given.

- Tipping? - When we left the resort, we were accompanied to the airport and by a receptionist (I think) from Sandoway. When we reached the airport, the lady pulled my husband and i to one side and whispered that we should pay the Porters 5000 kyats per piece of luggage they carried. Having been in Myanmar for one week already, We knew this was more than the average tipping. We don't mind being generous with tips, but it was the first time for us in Myanmar to be pulled aside and told how much to pay.

This was our experience at the Sandoway. Lovely hotel, beautiful beach, but maybe we will stay somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Judy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Such a lovely place! The hotel just oozes something special as soon as you get picked up at the airport in the old bus, your lougage already having been moved for you. We stayed in a beach front cottage, and found this to be spacious, although a few interior design 'features' seemed to be wasted on us like trouser 'presses' in the bedroom and the bedside lamps that took up the whole of the bedside tables? But lovel to just look out and see the sea and only be a few feet from the sand. Breakfast was a'lcart which was nice but a little frustrating at times as you just want to get on with it so to speak. We liked the pool and the cinema which we went to a couple of times and the fact that everyone had a designated beach umbrella and chairs so no need to go early to reserve your pitch! We had lunch once at the hotel and this was very expensive 36$ for 2 salads and 2 drinks but we had wanted a change from local food. The rest of the time we had luch at a small restaurant (RHS of the hotel looking out to sea),on the beach near the mermaid = 8,000 Kats 9$ for 2 including 2 drinks. In the evening there are several restaurants just outside the hotel, we liked Enjoy which was 200 meters to the right as you come out of the hotel, the fish was cooked to perfection and 14 - 16,000 Kats = 16 - 18$ for 2 set meals and 2 beers! Just to note the Beach front villas are seperated from the main hotel by a 'beach road' so everything seems a bit issolated yet they don't have their own facilities - pool etc which we were surprised at?

Room Tip: Excellant for relaxing after a tour of Myanmar
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BucksKeentraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

the beach is quite beautiful , the hotel has probably been decorated by its owner, who has been there a long time, and you see the italian touch and sense of humor. The restaurant is Ok, funny Mouton Rothschild on the wine list with a good price, but obviously when you order it, is out of stock. Do not go there if you want to work on internet, such thing does not exist, and a bad signal is available in the lobby.

Room Tip: Ask for a duvet when you stay in the sea-view bungalows as it can be freezing at night, difficult to control the temperature.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank polyakov123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews