We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Jade Marina Resort Hotel
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Ngapali
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Wonderful service”
Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a week over the Christmas period and had a wonderful stay where we were treated like royalty by the charming staff. The accommodation is extremely clean, luxurious and the grounds are well maintained with a large number of staff making sure that the resort is kept in prime condition. The resort definitely has the best location on the beach free from rocks and the water at its clearest. At the time, it was not fully operational as the official opening is not until January, however the staff were all working hard to make sure that we enjoyed our stay. All the staff are Burmese and the design of the resort has been kept as traditional as possible, built around the main dining area, an old camp for outstanding students. Even the parasols by the pool are of Burmese design. The only criticism would be the variety of the breakfast though as the resort was not fully operational, I would assume that this will improve. The quality of the food at other times is excellent, we had lunch and dinner at the hotel on a number of occasions as well as outside and although the hotel is more expensive, the standard of the food was also better. I would recommend one of the traditional Burmese set menus, the best meal of our entire trip in Burma with fresh crab, squid, fish dishes. The food and beverage manager was also super friendly and organised a special menu with dishes specially requested by myself which the Chef went out of his way to source ingredients for. The manager of the hotel was also very attentive and open to comments for improvement at all times. It's obvious that all the staff are proud to work there and want to provide the best service to guests. We travelled with two young children and they both had big smiles all week with all the attention they received. The chef even made special chocolates for them so that we could put them in their stockings for Christmas. We stayed at Traders hotel in Yangon and I can only say it felt like a let down there to not receive so much personal attention.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Htaik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    46
    11
    6
    5
See reviews for
16
59
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Uppsala, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

We stay in December, 2013 it's very cold weather there. Beach is very clean and nice. White sand. Good Service and peaceful bungalows. But ladder to Upper floor is not indoor it's not good if you want to go with wearing in pajamas. Bathtub is not included. Out door shower is good but actually I don't like room design much. Whatever bed room can have nice ocean view.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alberthina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We stayed here Nov 2013 and thought it was outstanding. It is well-maintained with beautiful grounds, pool, bar, and beach area. We thought it was the best location on Ngapali Beach, as it was all sandy where other parts were rocky or too near the fishing village. The other hotels were crowded, where we felt at times like we had this place to ourselves. We didn't use the upstairs part of the villa because it was not air conditioned, but the downstairs was very luxurious with an outdoor shower, large, comfy bed, very spacious and well looked-after. The staff was very helpful. We noticed also the other hotels on the beach had issues with glass lightbulbs washed up on the sand from the squid boats, but we saw a staff member from Jade Marina picking up garbage at the beach in front of the hotel. We definitely had the prime spot on the beach. As we were trying to travel responsibly, we were happy to find that the place is owned by a local winery whose wine we had tasted earlier in the trip. The food was excellent with a big spread every morning including omelettes one day. We liked the pool bar as well. The food is more expensive than you'd find at the nearby beach huts, but it was definitely good. We were very impressed by the friendly staff.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ChristyMorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warks.England
Level 6 Contributor
368 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,070 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We visited this in the week of its "soft opening", and whilst there was construction going on we visited the villas, pool, dining room and reception. The eight accommodation blocks to the rear were still being fitted out but the Beach Front villas are complete with some first guests in occupation.
Jade Marina Resort is between Aureum and Thande you cannot miss it as it has a giant fountain outside.
We were impressed by the friendly staff who showed us around , the grounds are substantial and it has a long beach frontage with opened lawn areas around the 20 two storey luxury sea view/beach front villas. They are expensively furnished with the bedroom, dressing room and luxury bathroom downstairs with the addition of an outside drench shower but the most peculiar set up is of an external staircase leading to the lounge/sitting area which is overlooked by the two storey standard room blocks to the rear . Maybe there will be a screens erected but it was not to our liking. As there will be 8 blocks of "cheaper" rooms, totalling 84 bedrooms I am unsure how this will work with the 20 luxury villas, guest wise, especially with peak rack rates of $650++ for the latter.
It is owned and has been developed by, like so many hotel deveopments, a close associate of the previous Government- The Ruby Dragon Group who also own Red Mountain Estate in Shan, the leading winery in Myanmar.
The location and grounds are excellent but I am still unsure how the relationship between the luxury and tourist guests will work out.
Five Stars for position and Villa Accommodation, Four Stars for helpful staff but as we did not stay/eat/swim or drink I cannot rate anything else but we do plan to return ,next season, when it is fully open to complete the review.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Silverswimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ngapali hotels
0.7 mi away
Sandoway Resort
Sandoway Resort
#4 of 18 in Ngapali
505 reviews
1.3 mi away
Pleasant View Resort
Pleasant View Resort
#9 of 18 in Ngapali
211 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aureum Palace Spa & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Bayview - The Beach Resort
4.0 mi away
Hilton Ngapali Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Yoma Cherry Lodge
Yoma Cherry Lodge
#3 of 18 in Ngapali
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jade Marina Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jade Marina Resort Hotel

Property: Jade Marina Resort Hotel
Address: Mya Pyin Village, Ngapali Beach,, Ngapali 95043, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Rakhine State > Ngapali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Ngapali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Jade Marina Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Have you heard about Lu Yee Chuns (Outstanding students) in the history of Myanmar? The role of those Lu Ye Chuns critically played in the nation building process in our grand history and they were trained at many historical camps throughout the country. Those camps still remain much of unforgettable memories and one can still feel the undying theme of those outstanding students. And, Shwe War Chai Camp at Ngapali beach was one of those memorable camps in the history with long-lasting structure and unique design theme that would give the unique feeling. To provide the guests to feel grandeur theme and outstanding sketch of the history along with the modern society and natural environment, we modified the Shwe War Chai Lu Yee Chun Camp into Jade Marina Hotel facilitating the most exclusive amenities. The combination of modern and history architectures allows the guests to feel between the edges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Jade Marina Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing