We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing beachfront break”
Review of Lin Thar Oo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lin Thar Oo Lodge
Ranked #1 of 17 Ngapali B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 9, 2013

I arrived in the low season and managed to barter for the beachside cottage. $40 but normally $55. The room was beautiful but the limited electricity (6pm to 6am) was at times a little frustrating. The hotel was undergoing some significant extensions so will be much larger by the end of the peak season. Very quiet and relaxing feel with a great location but the staff seemed less than happy to provide any assistance or advice.

Room Tip: Pay the little bit extra for the beachside cottages, they are much more modern and comfortable. If i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GrahamF1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (105)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 105 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2013

Ngapali beach was definetely our best choice in Myanmar. Beautiful white sandy beach with a nice warm sea. The resort was great. Very friendly staff. Great seafront cottages. We enjoyed our stay here very much.

Downside, the cooking wasn't very good. But do try the green umbrella restaurant which is just 5 minutes walk in the beach to the left.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank markb81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

I staid at Lin Thar Oo for four nights and was pretty happy with the hotel. I had a room in the large building on second floor for $35 per night. As far as I know, this is the best price on the beach (memento apparently charges the same). If you find that horrendously expensive, welcome to Myanmar, for now prices are rather going up than down. My room was nice, I had a balcony, it was surprisingly quiet and clean. Breakfast was included in the price and perfectly OK. Staff was OK, too.
Most of the other guests were considerably older than I am and the place seems to be frequented much more by tourists than by travellers. However, I'm afraid the same is true for the other hotels/resorts on Ngapali Beach, too.
Overall a pleasant experience with no complaints which justifies 4 stars, I think.

Room Tip: The rooms in the main building cost 35 USD - for me this was perfectly OK. It makes no difference to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RobertLockwoodJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

we had 2 of their new bungalows facing the sea at £85 per night. They have cheaper older ones, in a block at the back where there are rooms but i've been told they were noisy because of the road traffic early mornings. Excellant breakfast and good restaurant. My son bought 2 fish from a man and asked the restaurant to cook it for us, which they did at no charge as we ordered other things along with the fish. There were heaps of deck chairs available and it was very peacefull. Just a short walk to the other restaurants and little shops, Free pick-up and drop off to airport. We really enjoyed our stay here and met many other tourists from all over.

Room Tip: take a new bungalow and don't worry about the cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rosy002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

I preface all hotels in Burma by saying they are poor value when compared to the countries around them. The hotel beds are kept at a ridiculously low level where demand far outstrips supply. They charge for one night...up to $80 per night... what one of their staff members earns in a month...compare this to your country. Here, in Ireland, that is €1,600 per night!

Lin Thar Oo is in a fabulous location-right smack on the beach. To have breakfast overlooking the beach is very special indeed.

Ngapali is really 3 areas.

1. Twande airport to Ngapali village and a bit beyond. There are a couple of upmarket resorts along this strip and little else. The village has a few (fairly decent) restaurants, travel agents (for plane/boat bookings) and some shops. Beyond the village there is little else and mainly agricultural.

2. South of Ngapali village to the small village where Lin Thar Oo is and a bit beyond. This is a really nice place with plenty of restaurants, a couple of shops and a few resorts/hotels. It is very laid back and calm.

3. From south of Lin Thar Oo to the fishing village. This is where most of the resorts/hotels are and along with plenty of restaurants. The fishing village is really run down and the kids now starting to beg.
PLEASE do NOT give them anything. You will only teach them to beg.

Choose your bed carefully in Lin Thar Oo. You have three choices;

1. Beach front bungalow @$60. These are basic and run down but super location right on the beach. We booked one and choose not to stay.
2. Rooms in the new block @$45. We had an upstairs room and it was far nicer than the bungalows...but, the noise from the road was awful. It starts at 05.00 and believe me the trucks/vans/lorries/etc are seriously noisy and all blow their horns. The walls had huge gaps through which insects can fly in and keep you company throughout the night.
3. The new bungalows $80. Right on the beach, clean and fresh inside. The best choice by far. But way overpriced.

The reception is pretty awful being basically an empty square area with a dreadful stinky filthy toilet off. This leads to the tiny bar and the restaurant deck. The bungalows are to the left and right of the reception on the beach front. Staff are a mixed lot but the manageress in reception is a very helpful and hard working lady. Breakfast is a decent affair with a pancake and a fresh egg station. Plenty of other dishes and fruit. We did not eat here at night as we found great places in the local village "Excellence" restaurant, and on the beach "Sun set view".

Ngapali beach is a wonderful place to relax and chill. There are no discos, loud music, noisy bars or bad quality tourists. Leave your phone/laptop/tablet behind and enjoy the calm, peace, food, sunsets and the beach. Because it won't be like this for long.

Magic!

Room Tip: Choose carefully....see review. There are many other resorts that are in fact much nicer but they ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Harleyclarkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

It seems a bit much to call a $50 a night bungalow in Burma 'budget', but such is the reality of travelling in Myanmar in 2013. That being said, this place is a long-running resort for good reason. Compared to other resorts on Ngapali, it is a good deal. You get a bungalow facing the beach, a deck with two chairs, another two chairs a few meters ahead right by the beach; and probably the best beach in Burma right after that. The winter months do get a little chilly at night and electricity can be off and on (as can the hot water), but we were definitely satisfied with the resort. The breakfast was one of the best we had on this trip with eggs and toast as well as Burmese style pakoras and samosas.

Definitely would stay here again if we come back to Ngapali.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slakjaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

I arrived to Ngapali airport where Lin Thar Oo staff greeted me and drove me in a minivan to the lodge (pickup and drop off included in price). The place consists of older bungalows directly on the beach and newer ones though more expensive in the back. I stayed in one of the older duplex bungalows directly on the beach. The price was a little high for Myanmar and what the place had to offer but considering other options in Ngapali and high season the $45 per night was OK and probably the best deal you can find there. General comment - Myanmar is way overpriced for what it offers so what would be outrageous in just the next door Thailand or Laos is not so outrageous there. The room was spacious enough with separate bathroom with hot shower and working a/c. The bungalow had also own little patio facing ocean with a small coffee table and set of lounge chairs. The room seemed (as most places in Myanmar) tired and due for renovation but it was clean and comfortable enough. The not so great parts were the paper thin walls between rooms allowing me to nearly participate in my German neighbors' nocturnal activities;-) Additionally the management was turning power off at 7 am and would not turn it back until 7 pm. In general not a big deal - the breeze would cool off the place sufficiently during the day (November), the power was in time to turn a/c for the night and the shower would remain hot for a few hours after power was turned off. I was given an explanation that this was "government", but it was not really credible as all other hotels on the beach appeared to have power all day long but again, not a big deal. Another annoying part were pesty mosquitoes at night but a staff would routinely to spray rooms at evening with mostly psychological effect;-)

The resort also has an outdoor restaurant where descent breakfast is served (included) and you can order food and drinks at reasonable price during the rest of the day. There is really little need to venture anywhere else but if you insist there are couple restaurants in walking distance both along the beach and along the road behind the resort. Other than staying on the beach, taking walks or swimming there is little to do there so bring a companion or a good book with you (or both), put your ipod headset and Raybans on, sip ice cold Myanmar Beer and enjoy relatively unspoiled (yet) beach. There is absolutely no nightlife anywhere in Ngapali that I am aware off (confirmed by hotel staff). Would I choose Lintharoo again? If I ended up in Ngapali, short answer is yes.

Room Tip: This place is best enjoyed with some company, good book, and ipod. Sunsets are spectacular and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bouncing_Dee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ngapali hotels
0.2 mi away
Silver Beach Hotel
Silver Beach Hotel
#14 of 20 in Ngapali
104 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jade Marina Resort & Spa
Jade Marina Resort & Spa
#13 of 20 in Ngapali
127 reviews
0.7 mi away
Yoma Cherry Lodge
Yoma Cherry Lodge
#3 of 20 in Ngapali
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Merciel Retreat & Resort, Ngapali
0.1 mi away
Bayview - The Beach Resort
1.8 mi away
Pleasant View Resort
Pleasant View Resort
#10 of 20 in Ngapali
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lin Thar Oo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lin Thar Oo Lodge

Address: Ngapali Beach, Ngapali, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Rakhine State > Ngapali
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Ngapali
Price Range: $34 - $38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Lin Thar Oo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing