We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem of Myanmar”
Review of Amara Ocean Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Amara Ocean Resort
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Ngapali
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 3, 2014

I can't say how amazing this property is. From the second we walked in to the second we were dropped off at the airport we were treated like we were the most exclusive of guests; and from what I could see this is how they treat everyone who stays at the Amara Beach Resort. After being in Myanmar for a few days and not really enjoying the food we came here and ate so much because the food was phenomenal! The fresh seafood was some of the best I have tried, and they have a huge staff in their kitchen dedicated to making sure that the food not only tastes fantastic but is presented beautifully as well. The General Manager of the resort was often in the restaurant saying hello to guests and ensuring that their stay was going well, which I thought was so unique and welcomed as he was a very kind and charming man. The beach at this property is pretty much private, there were only a few people from the resort on it while we were there, and you don't see any other tourists because all of the other resorts on the Ngapali Coast are actually further down the coastline. So it's like a little secluded piece of paradise. If you are not a fan of the beach and the sand, they have a beautiful pool and ample space for lounging. The rooms are fabulous as well - they are individual beach "cottages" that are made of beautiful wood and all of them have a beautiful view of the ocean. We only stopped here for 3 nights as we were moving around a lot on our trip, but I'm already planning to go back for a longer stay!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Katherine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (220)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 220 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

Amara Ocean Resort want to be one of the most luxury choice of Ngapali beach. Very near to the airport (10 minutes by car) and to Thandwe village (30 minutes by car) is the last resort and it's the gate to the part of Ngapali beach.
Sea is awesome, beach well furnished with beds, table and palm umbrella to avoid the heat of the sun.
In Ngapali tide eats more than half of the beach during the afternoon, but being the beach so deep you will not lose any nice opportunity for your sunbath.
Amara Ocean resort offers a nice SPA with price between 20USD to 60USD for various kind of massages and treatments can last from 30 to 120 minutes.
The restaurant, that decides the resort in two parts, offer a full Asian menu with some International dishes. Prices: appetizer (5-12USD), first course (8-12USD), main course (7-16USD), dessert (6-8USD). Can find also some more expensive choice as lobster (10USD/100gr) or quality steak for 35USD.
Bungalows are spacious and well decorated in Burmese style, big bathroom with double sinks, toilet room and shower room. The main bedroom is surrounded by big window-doors so guests can have a nice view of the resort and the sea right in front.
Wifi covers all the resort, but don't expect to surf easily in Internet or open some mail attachments from your bedroom, because the connection lacks a lot and you can get a barely decent speed just in the common area like the restaurant and the pool.
Staff is well trained and try to be helpful for any needs.
The resort offer a free pick up from and to airport and a flat rate round trip to go to Ngapali beach (30USD) and to Thandwe (40USD).
Amara Ocean resort is supposed to be a romantic and quite escape from several other choice Ngapali beach can offer, even if during my stay the resort was over crowded by family with kids that made this resort more suitable for family trip then for a romantic retreat.
In this moment guest with kids are spread all over the resort, but considering the whole structure is divided in two parts by the central restaurant, can be a nice touch from the management if all the guests with kids under 14yo are grouped in one half of the resort and the other guests, that maybe search more quite an tranquillity, can join the opposite part. This can be a nice way to satisfy both necessities and give to all the guests the best experience.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
9  Thank MrDago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

We stayed at the Amara at the front end of a 19 day trip to Myanmar. This was the third stay in the Ngapali , and the Amara is the top spot in the entire beach area. The setting is absolutely fantastic, one of the nicest and least populated beaches in the world. The rooms and service at Amara are first rate. People are a little light on English, but they communicate well and are extremely friendly. Food is first rate and well-priced. If you want disco ,nightlife ,action, crowds, of course, this is not your spot. I hated to leave. Paul

Room Tip: The rooms are either directly on the beach or 20 yards behind and facing the beach. I prefer the fir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank paul t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

I hesitate to extoll the virtues of this wonderful beach front property because I don't want it to be ruined by too many visitors but because there are currently just 28 units this is unlikely. The individual bungalows are large with fans , air conditioning , mosquito nets , large verandas with sun loungers and towels but no TV or radio , which is part of the ethos of the hotel and perfectly OK with me. Although the properties are a short walk from the quiet and unspoilt beach , there are fresh water faucets to rinse of the sand and salt both on exiting the beach area and externally to the cottages.
The gardens are well maintained and the staff are all friendly and welcoming.
The food in the restaurant is excellent , particularly the seafood .There are western choices but my husband and I stuck to Rakhine cuisine and it was fantastic.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jill O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in January at the end of our journey around Myanmar for some Rest and Relaxation before returning home.
Highlights:
-The Beach Bungalows were pristine, roomy and luxurious. Beautifully designed and perfectly maintained. Loved the sliding louvered windows and doors that allowed for natural ocean breezes. Wow!
-The bed was the most comfortable (soft and luxurious) we found in all of Myanmar.
-The Beach itself was awesome. Three kilometers of private white sand with swaying palm trees and abundant marine life and birds. All completely private with absolutely no other people around. It felt like being on an exclusive private island. The flip side of that was that the property was remote and transportation to and from town was 30 minutes and 25 USD each way so you really are dependent on the hotel's restaurant, spa etc. This turned out to be no real hardship!
-The restaurant was very good. We favored the local selections for breakfast and dinner and were not disappointed. Because there were only about 15 guests (that we saw) they did not put out a full buffet but rather allowed you to order off the menu. The service was very good but they did not have a couple of the items on the already limited menu. One time they did not have maple syrup (but were able to substitute honey) and another time they did not have the horseradish that was supposed to come with something. Puzzling since neither one of these condiments goes bad quickly even in tropical climates. Though the coffee was excellent and the orange juice fresh squeezed.

The Missing 5th Star:
-We had a minor annoyance at the spa. We enjoyed our 10 minute free back massage the day we arrived and booked 90 minute treatments with those therapists for the following day. We were careful to specify that we wanted those particular therapists and for which treatments and how long they were to last. We arrived the following day at the appointed time to 2 completely different therapists and had (really endured) 60 minute massages. When we enquired, we were sternly told by the spa manager that this is what we booked despite seeing eraser marks on the paper schedule to the contrary. It seemed as if she could not 'lose face' in front of her employees: but it was not a big deal since the treatments were not particularly enjoyable and we were a little relieved that we did not have to endure another 30 minutes of ineffective soft stroking. Think frustratingly wimpy Thai massage that fails to get down deep where you need to be untangled after two weeks of tight planes and crowded busses. The language barrier left us all a little frustrated I think.

Would we come back again? ABSOLUTELY! Stunningly Beautiful Beach Property!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MarkOrmondBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Driving to the Amara Ocean Resort in Ngapali (pronounced Napoli) along the one road from the Airport feels like stepping way back in time. The area has the feel of a remote, almost deserted Island. Arrival is to a beautiful and romantic new hotel with open teak pavilions and teak bungalows, all right smack on the beach. The General Manager who is part Thai?, but lived in London and all over the world is a lovely man and very close to the Village people. He has done a fantastic job training the staff and the service is excellent.
A short walk on the beach to the left takes you to a fishing village and many beautiful shells on the beach and a short walk to the right and then another right at the schoolhouse to a wonderful village where the children and people are so innocent and proud. There is also an interesting Pagoda and Monastery in the Village. We really loved it here because it is just the right mix of real, relaxing and romantic.

Room Tip: Its worth the extra money to stay in a bungalow on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lf7932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

This Resort Was a Great Place to End Our Stay in Myanmar and Provided us with a Relaxing, Restful and Wonderful Stay. We Could have stayed Here a Month, it was Perfect and Exceeded All Our Expectations.
Our Beach Villa was Outstanding and Excellent in Every Way. All the Luxury you could ever Want and Expect of a Paradise Resort. Very comfortable separate bungalows with decks to sit and relax, read and stare at the ocean!

We had Private Access to the Beach. A Very Big Wooden Porch for Resting and Viewing the Beach and the Sunset. It was Absolutely Perfect. All the luxury you could ever want - A private access to the beach, a wooden porch big enough to move your deckchair following the Sun and to the enjoy the Sunset.
The White Beach was Beautiful, Peaceful and Wonderful. Very Pristine and Not a Soul on the Beach. We Took Walks Up and Down the Beach Every Day and it was Wonderful. We were the Only Ones on the Beach.
The Resort is Very Well Run and Expertly Managed. The Restaurant is Excellent-Breakfast Buffet Extensive and A Very Good Selection of Cuisines for Lunch and Dinner. We Ate Out Outdoors on the Deck Every Day Overlooking the Ocean. Very, Very Nice.
Wonderful Spa Facilities.
Rented a Bike from the Hotel and Rode Around the Area on a Dirt Road and Saw the Local Villages and an Area Market. It was Very Safe, Unique and Interesting. Very Glad I Did. If You are Able, and Enjoy Riding a Bike, Highly Recommend You Do this as Well. Very Very Interesting, Unique and Enlightening Perspective of Life in Paradise.
Highly Recommended that You Stay at the Amara Ocean Resort. You Will Love it.

Room Tip: Definitely go for a beach villa front row.

Room Tip: As for A Beach Front Villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mrfoxycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ngapali hotels
1.2 mi away
Hilton Ngapali Resort & Spa
5.8 mi away
Sandoway Resort
Sandoway Resort
#4 of 19 in Ngapali
506 reviews
5.2 mi away
Aureum Palace Spa & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Bayview - The Beach Resort
3.9 mi away
Yoma Cherry Lodge
Yoma Cherry Lodge
#3 of 19 in Ngapali
241 reviews
5.1 mi away
Jade Marina Resort Hotel
Jade Marina Resort Hotel
#12 of 19 in Ngapali
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amara Ocean Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amara Ocean Resort

Address: Gaut Village, Ngapali 120401, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Rakhine State > Ngapali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Ngapali
Price Range: $363 - $378 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amara Ocean Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amara Ocean Resort offers an exceptional stay for all guests by sharing the local culture while preserving the pristine environment. Carefully integrated within its nearby villages, this is the perfect hideaway at one of the most beautiful places at Ngapali beach. ACCOMMODATION: The resort features 28 bungalows including two twin bungalows (Duplex Bungalow), purposely built all by hand in wood to provide unique accommodation this is in harmony with its surrounding, the beach, the many palm trees on the white sand beach and its nearby villages. The bungalows cater up to 70 square meter inside and 40 square meter private terrace overlooking the seaside. ACTIVITIES: Mountain hiking is available which is nearby the Resort of Gaut Mountain. Snorkeling is available at the resort as well as fishing with wooden boat to the Elephant Bay which will take about 55 minutes from the Resort to the fishing village. TOURS: Sightseeing to the villages and Long beach of Ngapali, visiting to the Three Pagodas, scuba diving is available on the other side of Guat Ward. Sunrise up trip at Nandaw Pagoda, riding hot air balloon is available during your stay. There truly is a place beyond your dreams …. The Amara Ocean Resort, with its unique, solitary location bordered by the ocean and a fine, white sanded beach and palm trees on one side and uninhabited hills on the other side, has become known worldwide for its excellent service and attention to detail, a perfect fusion of European standards of a first class hotel and Asian hospitality. We strive to uphold this status, we plan to add activities and services such as cooking lessons, bird watching excursions, and quality entertainment offerings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Amara Ocean Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing