We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend retreat...great moment at Taiping Golf Resort”
Review of Taiping Resort

Taiping Resort
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Taiping Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kamunting
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Unplanned weekend retreat at Taiping Golf Resort by calling the front desk reservation at 11.53PM, straight forward booking for two rooms connecting facing the pool, done in less than 10mins.

Arrived at the resort around 02:35PM for check-in and to my surprise the front desk staff informed me that the booking was never been done on their system under my name! After few minutes arguing with another front desk staff, they finally got me the two rooms connecting just what I have booked but on a different floor not the ground floor facing the pool.

After paid-out the total amount for two rooms, the rest are history with wonderful and great short weekend retreat with the kids.

Breakfast for two pax is included with the room rates and all in with taxes and charges. Additional pax per person only have to pay MYR20.00 with decent breakfast choice at the golf club eatery.

Kids like to swim at the pool but found out that "outsiders are allowed" as well using the pool facilities. As a local, I just close my eyes and informed the kids that the "outsiders" could be the hotel staff family members staying around the hotel and they are allowed to use the pool facilities, maybe! Requested twice from the "lifeguard" for pool towels but twice the request has been turned down with an excuses that the pool towels are very limited for hotel guests! What the fish!

Overall kids did not enjoy their swimming activities at the pool and I personally advise the hotel pool is not for foreign guests if they like much on swimming activities.

Overall stay at the hotel is nice for me and family with a decent room rates and room facilities. Hotel management need to address areas that need an improvement - booking system, pool facilities and its policy not to allow outsiders to use it and rooms maintenance interior and exterior as it has shown its aging, maybe new layer of paint and touch up will bring back the hotel facelift.

Since this is a weekend family retreat, I found out that Taiping Sentral beside Tesco in Kamunting town which is about 4KM away from the hotel is consider decent place to have casual lunch and dinner as I can buy the kids foods I normally found in Kuala Lumpur.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the hills if you like quite moment as if you choose the rooms facing the golf r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank BozAurora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (31)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 31 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2012

Value for money, clean and accommodation within acceptable range.
breakfast included with shuttle to the club house.
surrounding very peaceful,10 minutes drive to taiping lake and 15minutes to taiping town area.
close
bycycle rental and pickup provided for taiping tour with friendly guide

Room Tip: look for higher level
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank junkopile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2011

Taiping is my father's hometown and we come back for the holidays quite a bit and have stayed in most of the 4-star hotels in Taiping. To me, my stay in Taiping Golf Resort was the best so far, especially for a longer period of stay. Yes, it was a little far out from Taiping town and it is almost a 15-20 minutes drive to town but it was well worth it. The breakfast spread is the best in comparison to all the hotels in Taiping!!! The rooms were spacious. The facilities were pretty basic. Service wise, there is room for improvement. Otherwise, it was a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: This is a condotel, so there are some hotel facilities that are no provided, so, bring your own toil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MSeelan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2011

We stayed here for 01 night during festive season. The hotel was fully booked. I love coming to this hotel. The drive to the resort always feel so serene and relaxing. Away from hustle and bustle of traffic. You do need a car to stay here or else you will be limited to eating at this resort restaurant only as its quite a distance to Taiping town centre. We were welcomed by a charming and friendly receptionist. Nothing was a hassle to her. We got to our room facing the golf course. The room look tired and in need of updating. It is starting to show its age. I do hope the management will do something about or else it will be another great resort down the drain. Even though the room is a bit dated and tired, this resort will always be our choice whenever we are here in Taiping.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kaminski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2010

My first time have a night stay at Taiping Hotel it is very easy navigate by Garmin from Penang use north-south highway. The place is very quiet cool located near hill site and its room is big,clean and well arranged furnitures. I take a chance go to safari night Zoo Taiping, Malay Bazar in Taiping Town is good for shopping and variety of malay foods...please try special "Asam Pedas" at one restaurant. I will plan more days stay next time. If you choose to stay lazy in the room I suggest buy pre-cook foods for dinner use microwave provided.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rosli I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2009

Another getaway to another town of Perak with my love partner. I drove to this resort in the late evening and had no difficulties locating this place. Its situated 10-15mins drive from the city. Just as any other golf resort, this place is not very accessible by public transport.
The room is fairly spacious, clean and it has a microwave which i dont quite find it in any other resorts. During my stay, it was very quiet as there's not much guests staying at that time. But it doesnt have a water boiler, and you need to request hot water from the reception.
My promotion rate does not include breakfast. I had my meals in taiping town, and the food is cheap and nice.
Overall, not bad during my stay. Affordable resort.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank just-travel-it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2009

we had a lovely 3days/2nights stay in this resort. the accommodation was excellent, clean, with big room, a large balcony with chairs, very calm view.
The only area which I would improve is breakfast - syrup juice instead of fresh juice in the breakfast buffet, also very limited selection of western food for breakfast.
But overall very satisfied and I think this is one of the best accommodations in Taiping - suitable for business or families.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank zuzanocka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kamunting
2.8 mi away
Sentosa Villa
Sentosa Villa
#8 of 16 in Taiping
76 reviews
2.7 mi away
Louis Hotel
Louis Hotel
#2 of 16 in Taiping
68 reviews
0.3 mi away
SSL Traders Hotel
SSL Traders Hotel
#10 of 16 in Taiping
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Legend Inn
Legend Inn
#5 of 16 in Taiping
83 reviews
2.8 mi away
Novotel Taiping Perak
Novotel Taiping Perak
#1 of 16 in Taiping
90 reviews
3.1 mi away
Flemington Hotel
Flemington Hotel
#6 of 16 in Taiping
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taiping Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taiping Resort

Address: Jalan Bukit Jana, Kamunting 34600, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Perak > Larut, Matang dan Selama District > Kamunting
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kamunting
Price Range: $32 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Taiping Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 230
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Taiping Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taiping Malaysia
Taiping Resort Kamunting, Malaysia - Perak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing