We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad for the location!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vansana Plain Of Jars Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Phonsavan
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
195 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Not bad for the location!!!”
Reviewed December 14, 2013

This is what would normally be classed as a very average hotel but given its localtion in Phonsavanh, Laos it is one of the better hotels in town.

The Hotels reception is somewhat dated to say the least however the staff are frienndly and helpful and the rooms, while basic, are large and clean. As other reviews have suggested the beds are very hard but this has appeared to be the norm in most of the hotels stayed in in Laos during our trip.

The restaurant at the hotel served a basic but nice dinner, however, the breaskfast would have to rate down there with the worst encountered. Breakfast consisted of a few pieces of fruit, no cerial, a few fried cold eggs and cold scrambled egges in a bay marie and some warmed baguettes. The best part was the coffee!!!

The hotel is located a little way out of town but provided a shuttle bus service which was readily available and good.

Overall, given the location it was not a bad hotel and probably better than many others there.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 23PeterJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    82
    110
    42
    14
See reviews for
25
137
29
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Laos
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 12, 2013

We had one of the larger cabins with living room, bedroom, and bath. All of the cabins are surrounded by beautiful flowering trees and the setting is pleasant. The food is basic but good. I did not see another hotel in the area that I would have wanted to stay in.

The dining room is being enlarged and the number of cabins is being increased. It seems that a large increase is visitors is expected soon. The Plain of Jars is scheduled to become a World Heritage Site in the near future.

We engaged a taxi driver at the airport to take us to the hotel, Name: Mr. Noud Phetrasy , E-mail: rasapet_lao@yahoo.com. Mobil : 020 22967213. He spoke excellent English and when I asked where he learned it, he told me his Daddy taught him. Where did his Daddy learn English? From the American POW's in Laos. after we arrived and arrange our trip to Site 1 the same afternoon and we spend about two hour, he explain us how the jars was made, how they transport them how old they’re, and we feel like we can see the pass, it’s amazing what we have learn about the jars culture and the war history , Mr. Noud father is the man who open up the plain of jars to the public and cleared the U.X.O from the site, next day he took us to jars site 2 ,site 3, only the way make unusual stop and explain you know? our area has the most bombing in Laos, more than 90 millions clusters bomb it's drops on Laos, Now there'r two team that's helps clearing and the U.X.O and they exploded 200 bombs a day, by the time one man just walk out with uniform of U.X.O Lao, said sabaidee, and took us to the field and show us the 5 bombs explored , it’s amazing we never seen something like this for our travel in Laos, we’re highly recommend Mr. Noud phetrasy if you go to phonsavan and want to have good experience go to visit him.
two night is all the time needed for this area. You will never see a more basic airport than the one at Vansana.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sousath-travel-Laos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morris, Connecticut
Level Contributor
163 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Although the weather was cool, the view from the room at the top of the hill was enjoyable. The food for breakfast was just OK, but the dinners were tasty. Try the mashed potatos- as good you can get anywhere.

Room Tip: Got to get the room on second floor for the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ref4219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania, Aust
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We found the suite reasonable well appointed, but the bed was SO hard... and to shower, we needed to almost kneel. It is set too low on the wall. The staff kindly loaned us a heater as the nights get extremely cold. The wifi, only available in reception, seems to go 'down' for much of the day. We could not say we would recommend the dining room, having eaten one dinner and two breakfasts here. The driver kindly ran around after us as it is a difficult road to negotiate i. The dark, altogether a country dirt track. With the growth in tourism here, there is room for a new player to lift the standard.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bellalab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Phonsavan hotels

Ontario
Level Contributor
57 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

A pleasant hotel consisting of sets of four one storey units set in attractive landscaping. It is situated on a knoll overlooking the town and the countryside. The rooms are of an adequate size with modest bathroom facilities. The breakfast and dinner offerings are quite good but the restaurant dinner service was pretty slow one evening because of the tour groups staying there.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hutchoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
114 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Phonsavan is located at an average elevation of 1100m and this hotel is located on a hill about 1300m.
I find the hotel rather charming. A small terrace with table & chairs outside my room with great views. Also, great views at the breakfast restaurant.
The hotel is rather basic but there is water heater for the shower and hair dryer provided. TV in room. Wifi available only at the lobby. No electric kettle to boil water.
It can be dark at night with not much lighting, so do bring a torchlight.
Also, the temperature really dipped at night (think 10 Deg Celsius), so do bring warm clothing! There is no heating provided in the room.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pingishere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alstonville, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We enjoyed our experience here. Beds were a bit hard but got used to it by the second night! Staff were friendly and helpful. Great views and location , short and interesting walk to town, not a problem. Torch at night. We were met at airport, which was not booked, so that was very nice. The driver/guide, Tong, spoke excellent English. We hired Tong (856)02055875589 (Saibadee Travel) for two days of sightseeing . This experience was unique and unbelievable as Tong took us to major attractions but also off the beaten track and we learnt so much about culture, history, and daily life which was the highlight of our time in Laos. Due to travel sickness history, we also hired Tong to drive us to Luang Prabang. If in Phonsovan, RING TONG!!

Room Tip: **no swimming pool or fitness centre - just couldn't get rid of dots!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phonsavan hotels
0.0 mi away
Maly Hotel
Maly Hotel
#1 of 6 in Phonsavan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Hillside Residence
The Hillside Residence
#3 of 26 in Phonsavan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jennida Guesthouse
Jennida Guesthouse
#4 of 26 in Phonsavan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Auberge de la Plaine des Jarres
0.0 mi away
White Orchid Guest House
White Orchid Guest House
#10 of 26 in Phonsavan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Nice Guesthouse
#8 of 26 in Phonsavan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vansana Plain Of Jars Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vansana Plain Of Jars Hotel

Property: Vansana Plain Of Jars Hotel
Address: Ban Phonesavanh, Phonsavan, Laos
Location: Laos > Xiangkhouang Province > Phonsavan
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Phonsavan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Vansana Plain Of Jars Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Vansana Plain Of Jars Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing