We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pretty good with all the facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vansana Plain Of Jars Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Phonsavan
Vientiane, Laos
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“pretty good with all the facilities”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

i have stayed here on a business trip in mid january 2013. providing the facilities they have i would give it 4 stars. as i did not have a vehicle to go to town they provided free shuttle bus which was very nice. the buffet breakfast was good. the only thing is the wifi goes down from time to time. other than that all good..

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Milan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    82
    113
    43
    14
See reviews for
26
139
29
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

There are not many hotels near the Plain of Jars. The rooms were ok and quiet at night.
There was a large group at the hotel, and we were told that it may take some time for our meal, especially because we wanted to order à la carte.
But dinner was very good after all.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doroPfalz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder
Level 6 Contributor
273 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The Plain of Jars area does not appear to have many choices of hotels and we can't comment on how this one compares to any others in this area. The room was large - actually two rooms. The service was only fair as they seem a bit inexperienced when many are staying there. I am not sure how often it happens but on arrival we were told we could not dine there that evening. It turned out a large group arrived in the evening and they were holding almost all of the rather large dining room for that group. We felt as getting into town is not easy and walking distance, they should make some effort to save tables for all guests staying at the hotel. In fact, we could have dined before the large group even arrived but were not offered that option. When we went for breakfast the entire dining area was not yet cleaned from the large group which was in the process of checking out. Again the staff needs to be aware of accommodating other guests. They did, however, when we asked clear a table and bring out some fresh dishes. Otherwise our stay was very acceptable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monty1424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice Springs
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

This is an ok hotel for a few nights when exploring the Plain of Jars. Spectacular views. Room was clean, comfy (keep in mind Lao beds are pretty hard), hot water - everything you need for a place to sleep and shower while out and about exploring the area. Brekky was a bit ordinary but the view makes up for it. Didn't eat in the restaurant - would recommend getting the transport into town, where there are a couple of basic but ok cafes. Phonsavan isn't an action packed place - its a dusty town but interesting to poke around for a morning. But the reason you're here is to visit the Jar sights and this hotel is an perfectly adequate place to base yourself.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MandyTaylor63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

This is a basic hotel in an area that is developing. For the price it was a good deal and I would stay there again. Off the beaten path and not walking distance to anything was my only complaint. The room was clean.

Room Tip: Given location of hotel, all rooms probably fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 668Willamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We looked long and hard for a place to stay in this town before leaving for our trip and this hotel looked to be about the best choice. If so, it's a sad situation for a town that's the basecamp for visiting the Plain of Jars.

The room was poorly appointed with uncomfortable furniture. The beds were particularly uncomfortable ... cheapest mattresses I've seen in years. No wifi in the room. Wifi in the public spaces was worthlessly slow. The food at breakfast was small in volume and poor in quality.

We ate dinner in town and walked back to the hotel which is on a hill overlooking town ... very dark streets and poorly signed. Consider a taxi.

We don't know if this truly was the best option in town but hope for others that it is not.

Room Tip: Another hotel might be a good option!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ayr2l8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Phonsavan hotels

vancouver island
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Our first impression of the hotel was very positive. It is located on a hilltop overlooking Phonsavan and has a nice view over the city and surrounding countryside. Our room was very large and had a Jacuzzi style tub. That is where our problem started. When we tried to fill up the tub with water it drained out. The only shower was a handheld one with no attachment for holding it. The hotel could not fix the tub so after 90 minutes we were moved to another room and finally got to have a shower. To make up for the problem we were given dinner in our room but my wife’s steak was vey tough and the rest of the meal only average. The breakfast the next morning was quite limited there were no cereals and only one plate of fruit.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking th town have a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vanisle_al
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phonsavan hotels
0.0 mi away
Maly Hotel
Maly Hotel
#1 of 6 in Phonsavan
43 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Hillside Residence
The Hillside Residence
#3 of 33 in Phonsavan
54 reviews
0.0 mi away
Phouviengkham Resort
Phouviengkham Resort
#3 of 6 in Phonsavan
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Anoulak Khen Lao Hotel
Anoulak Khen Lao Hotel
#5 of 33 in Phonsavan
135 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jennida Guesthouse
Jennida Guesthouse
#4 of 33 in Phonsavan
18 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pukyo
Pukyo
#1 of 11 in Phonsavan
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vansana Plain Of Jars Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vansana Plain Of Jars Hotel

Property: Vansana Plain Of Jars Hotel
Address: Ban Phonesavanh, Phonsavan, Laos
Location: Laos > Xiangkhouang Province > Phonsavan
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Phonsavan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Vansana Plain Of Jars Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Vansana Plain Of Jars Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing