We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Vansana Plain Of Jars Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Chittavanh Hotel(Phonsavan)
$26
$23
Booking.com
View Deal
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Maly Hotel(Phonsavan)
$35
$30
Agoda.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Favanhmai Hotel(Phonsavan)
$32
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
    Average 3/5
    • Free Parking
    • Restaurant
    TripAdvisor
    View Deal
    Average 3/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Restaurant
    TripAdvisor
    View Deal
    Dok Khoune Hotel(Phonsavan)
    TripAdvisor
    View Deal
    • Free Wifi
    TripAdvisor
    View Deal
    Good 3.5/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Reviews (296)
    Filter reviews
    296 results
    Traveler rating
    14
    92
    130
    46
    14
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    14
    92
    130
    46
    14
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsreception areasitting roomsmall hillbase for visitingshuttle service into townminute walk into townshower curtainplenty of hot watercontrasttubtorcheggtourmr
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    155 - 160 of 296 reviews
    Reviewed February 16, 2013

    Our first impression of the hotel was very positive. It is located on a hilltop overlooking Phonsavan and has a nice view over the city and surrounding countryside. Our room was very large and had a Jacuzzi style tub. That is where our problem started. When we tried to fill up the tub with water it drained out. The only shower was a handheld one with no attachment for holding it. The hotel could not fix the tub so after 90 minutes we were moved to another room and finally got to have a shower. To make up for the problem we were given dinner in our room but my wife’s steak was vey tough and the rest of the meal only average. The breakfast the next morning was quite limited there were no cereals and only one plate of fruit.

    Room Tip: The rooms overlooking th town have a nice view.
    • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank vanisle_al
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed February 9, 2013

    Good experience with this hotel during a recent visit. The rooms are plain, nothing fancy, but they are clean and the staff did a good job and were very helpful. The location is a bit out of the town but the hotel runs a shuttle, which worked fine. It did not appear that Phonsavan has a lot of hotels so don't expect five star properties. I thought it was fine and I slept well.

    Room Tip: Upgrade to the rooms with a sitting room.
    • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank ThreePutt72
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed February 8, 2013

    I booked a "Deluxe Double room with fan" for 25 + 26 March via booking.com on 12 January and received my Booking No from them. So all is well? Not so! I emailed the Hotel twice during January, without any reply. I then sent another 2 emails in February via their website and received an email on 6 February informing me that they are fully booked and cannot accommodate us.

    Normally I do not need to CONFIRM my bookings made on booking.com. What would have happened if I did not ask for their confirmation - arrived there late at night, without a place to stay!

    Be warned.

    • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
      • Service
    Thank karinSouthAfrica
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed February 5, 2013

    The Vansana is a clean and comfortable hotel with great views of the surrounding area. We were in Room 20, which overlooked the town, and it was spacious and well decorated. The mattress was very hard but we slept soundly. The bathroom was modern and everything worked appropriately. There was no air-conditioning but it wasn't needed in February. The lack of wifi also didn't bother us but restaurants in town offer a free service. Breakfast was a set menu of fruit, bread, jam and a choice of eggs - no complaints.

    We were happy to walk the distance into town but used our torch for the walk back after dinner. Overall, this is probably one of the best hotels in Phonsavan. Allowances must be made for such an isolated location.

    Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    Thank JWDB
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed January 31, 2013

    Judging from the look of the town, this is probably the best accomodation they have to offer. The hotel is perfectly fine, if a little dated. There is no A/C or WIFI in the room, and this is the only place in SE Asia where bugs were a problem. That said, the hotel was perfectly fine for an overnight stay to accomodate our visit to the Plain of Jars. The breakfast "buffet" is OK, and the dinner meal was edible. What more do you need?

    • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank ramonjamon
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    View more reviews