We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great views to town and the local villages”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vansana Plain Of Jars Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Phonsavan
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
200 reviews
178 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“Great views to town and the local villages”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

The hotel has a lovely serene feel about it, but it is a bit out of town, about a 15-20 min walk to the town centre.  Down a short hill then along a rocky dirt road.  Turn left to go to the town centre when you reach the main road.  Only 20,000 kip for a tuk tuk back.  The hotel is in a magnificent setting, it is high on the hill and has views around the surrounding districts.  All rooms have views, the room was very spacious, firm bed.  The room decor was nothing special but as we were in an upstairs room we did have a nice private balcony with views back to the town centre.  No air con, only a pedestal fan but it seemed to be Ok given the cooler temperatures here.  The bathroom is  modern, shower is over a very large corner bath, the shower pressure/heat combo was hard to achieve, nice toiletries.  The hotel has a lovely restaurant area and common room.  Breakfast was predominately western, no Lao options, but fantastic bagettes.  Wifi didn't work while we were there, but there was a desktop computer available with internet access which was complimentary.  We also received a complimentary transfer from the airport which was about 15 minutes away.  There are not many hotel options in town, this one seems to be the best, mostly there are guest houses offering more basic rooms, but much cheaper.  If you want a hotel in the centre of town the Xieng Khouang Hotel looked OK, it's apparently a Vietnamese hotel, 3 star and seems to be a reasonable mid range option.  However this hotel is a very good 3 star, we enjoyed our time here.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room, only about 8-10 steps
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Williams17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    82
    109
    41
    14
See reviews for
24
137
29
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northborough, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
500 reviews
167 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2012

The hotel common areas are very nice, and the staff were very friendly and efficient. The atmosphere of the dining area is very nice.
We ate at the hotel restuarant two nights in a row with our tour group, because our tour guide
felt that the restuarants down town were unsanitary. We did not sleep at the hotel, which is too bad, because it was much nicer than the hotel that we did stay at downtown.

They serve very bland chinese food of good quality. If you like bland chinese food this is the place for you, I don't.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BostonSkier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamieson, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

Bit Bland, But the staff are nice .
Food is of and on, depends on the time of day. great view.
Wi fi usually works well.
Burgers are good , steaks are ok , bit small, plenty of ice and the beer is usually cold, on the hill looking over the back of town down past the old airstrip.

Room Tip: most are the same .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ltscrash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
190 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

Hmm ... this hotel does the job. As long as you don't expect much and realize you will only be here for a day or two, it's OK. Actually, there is not much choice in Xieng Khouang anyway, so it's very likely you will end up here :-)

We had a suite that was actually very big. The rooms were clean, given that the hotel is on a hill you actually have somewhat of a view and the staf was trying hard.

Be prepared for very hard beds!

Room Tip: get a suite ... the price differential is not that large
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bojantercon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
106 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2012

Stayed 2 nights here and had 1 day touring the Plain of Jars and surrounding country side.
Phonsavan is small and I think this is the only real Hotel in the area ( I could be wrong, but saw nothing else ) Very quiet, only 4 groups of guests while I was there.
Room is nice with all the added bits, but no A/C or working Wifi while I was there.
Front staff are cold and no real enthusiasm when they greet you, just the usual "you have a reservation?" when you walk in the door.
Don't use the front staff to book any of your tours of further transport out of town - is a rip off! Just walk into town, or drop by the Bus station to buy / book your tickets.

Room Tip: ?? they are all the same from what I saw.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toosdh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2012

The good: no security issues, rooms are clean. Staff is friendly. Ample storage/shelf space, and nice to have a little fridge. I had a good supply of hot water for my shower.

The bad: don't think that just because you are away from the main town that you will have a restful night...music from nearby houses is persistent. Beds are hard. Breakfast is bad...cold, congealed scrambled eggs and stale bread. Maybe this is the best to be had in Phonsavan?

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marymandmarkw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2012

We stayed in a deluxe room which is very large, but decor of whole hotel is very tired. It is reasonably priced but definitely a no-frills place. Breakfast was also very poor.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hols_87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Phonsavan hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phonsavan hotels
0.0 mi away
Maly Hotel
Maly Hotel
#1 of 6 in Phonsavan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Hillside Residence
The Hillside Residence
#2 of 26 in Phonsavan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.0 mi away
Phouviengkham Resort
Phouviengkham Resort
#4 of 6 in Phonsavan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Namchai Guesthouse
Namchai Guesthouse
#3 of 26 in Phonsavan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jennida Guesthouse
Jennida Guesthouse
#7 of 26 in Phonsavan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
0.0 mi away
Auberge de la Plaine des Jarres
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vansana Plain Of Jars Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vansana Plain Of Jars Hotel

Property: Vansana Plain Of Jars Hotel
Address: Ban Phonesavanh, Phonsavan, Laos
Location: Laos > Xiangkhouang Province > Phonsavan
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Phonsavan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Vansana Plain Of Jars Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vansana Plain Of Jars Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing