We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Phonsavan
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (28)
Filter reviews
28 results
Traveler rating
6
2
9
7
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
6
2
9
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hotel location is good size room was clean hot water tickets bus tour
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 28 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Everyone in my group was very happy with the rooms they offered which were free upgraded. Really good location, nice staff and good breakfast. Nothing was too much trouble and we got a nice time staying there

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank 205hedvigb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I recently stayed at this hotel. Everything was good.
The hotel's location is really convenient. The staff was really friendly and helpful. My room had a good size and was furnished with A/C, hot shower, private bathroom. Breakfast was also included in the room rate

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Kegant88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2019

There must be better places to stay than here. Charged higher price because we didn’t book in advance, then wanted to charge 6% for using a credit card rather than the 3% standard in this country. Bread bun was microwaved to rock hard, coffee was terrible. Better off having breakfast at Cranky T bakery down the road. Wifi was practically non-existent. Hot water for the shower eventually arrived after 5 or more minutes.

Room tip: Don’t come here!
Date of stay: November 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2018

When we booked we looked for a hotel with a pool. Only the Xieng Khouang met this requirement. Except it has no pool only a paved area at the rear where rubbishy is stored and an impressive crop of grasses flourish in the cracks between the pavers. The hotel itself is quiet - eerily so. The dark tiled hallways add to the feeling of a trip back in time and incarceration in some form of post war rehabilitation facility.

You will be thankful for air conditioning unless it is cold. It was around 10 degrees Celsius when we were there and the air conditioning does not provide heat - only cold. In some ways this adds to the experience of being incarcerated.

Some rooms are fortunate enough to have an extra doona rug to ward off the cold. If only these rugs could talk. What is the mystery behind the myriad of small burn holes in the rug? Who were the people that left the inexplicable stains? Why do the rugs exist in some rooms and not others? If scientists think the Plain of Jars is a mystery they should embark on a study of the Xieng Khouang doonas.

Team the doonas with a bed that has a mattress where the springs creak wildly and conspire to pin you to the bed each time you attempt to roll over and you have the ultimate experience. This is providing you want to experience how you would survivie a night on a mortuary slab.

There is hot water in the shower. A ceiling would also be a nice touch. Perhaps it is just a slow renovation.

Breakfast is included. An egg and a bread role with jam. Wash this down with coffee of the very instant type and you have a reason to visit somewhere else the next day ( in fact anywhere else seems better).

Mini bar prices are good - for the hotel.. 25000 kip for a beer which can be purchased for 6000 kip just on block away.

We did wonder why the hotel had so few recent reviews. I guess people smarter than us decided not to stay there.

You should avoid it as well.

Room tip: Stay away.
Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2018 via mobile

I highly do not recommend this hotel. You definitely get what you pay for. Beds are uncomfortable. The bathroom is scary. Karaoke downstairs does not stop. Not even worth it to stay one night. It is located right on the main strip.

Date of stay: February 2018
Thank vacaygal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews