We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fascinating”
Review of Plain of Jars

Plain of Jars
Ranked #1 of 11 things to do in Phonsavan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 26, 2018

Did the Kong Keo tour and thought it was great. Good vehicle, nice lunch at a restaurant, all entry fees included and Kong is a bit of a character. Well worth it for us. We did another tour the following day (Hmong village, hot springs etc.) and thought that was excellent as well. The Jars were fascinating and mysterious to me. How did they carve them out of such hard stone? Look for the one next to the bomb crater, From memory at site 1. It's right on the edge and upright but the shock cracked the back part off, but didn't crumble the jar.

Date of experience: February 2018
3  Thank Rocky19533105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (566)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"bomb craters"
in 50 reviews
"luang prabang"
in 53 reviews
"jar sites"
in 43 reviews
"rice paddies"
in 19 reviews
"visited site"
in 14 reviews
"vietnam war"
in 33 reviews
"main sites"
in 16 reviews
"worth the trip"
in 9 reviews
"secret war"
in 26 reviews
"hour drive"
in 8 reviews
"noodle soup"
in 8 reviews
"worth the effort"
in 6 reviews
"local guide"
in 9 reviews
"marked paths"
in 6 reviews
"the main road"
in 6 reviews
"small hill"
in 5 reviews
"recent history"
in 10 reviews
Filter

30 - 34 of 566 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2018

Many oldest jars ever seen and it's the largest . the weather is very nice. have to buy ticket before visiting , Prices: 10.000 kip.

Date of experience: February 2018
1  Thank Em Lar A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2018 via mobile

We spent such an amazing day exploring these sites! The fact that it isn’t a UNESCO heritage site yet is baffling. I would highly suggest taking a tour with Kong from the Kongkeo Guesthouse. He was was full of the history of both the sites and all of Laos, let us in on his theories of the Jars, and told us a bunch of funny jokes. Touring is necessary, as I believe you would miss A LOT wandering around by yourself.

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank samanthabO7461XX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2018

Wanted to visit years ago but it was a closed area, finally a reasonable road, two flights a day & significant site clearance make the journey worthwhile. The whole area does dwell a bit on the war, but the jars enable ones imagination to flow!

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank philter1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed March 6, 2018 via mobile

Since we had our own car, we didn't have to join any tour in town and thus luckily avoided some of the unpleasant incidents happened to some ( but that has nothing to do with the sites themselves!)

We arrived at site 1 shortly before 9am and were willing to hire a local guide for more info. We spent the time in the small museum/info Centre while waiting for the guide to start working (9 am in February) The info Centre itself is worth visiting whether you have done any research on line or not.

There was a half filled golf cart waiting outside the info Centre so when our guide showed up, we thought we were to join the other tourists but we didn't have to. The guide told us to use a golf cart for our own. Before we left the ticket booth, we asked the asked the cashier how much to hire a guide.

Answer: She said up to your satisfaction when it was finished. I must say we have seen a lot more honest locals in Laos then in other countries. If some tourists did have some unpleasant moments in town, it was perhaps just some 'tour' operators.

So we were in our own golf cart for the free ride to the site.it took about 3 minutes. Once off the cart, we walked up the slope for a few minutes and there would be more walking all morning so comfy shoes are advisable. Our guide gave us very detailed info about the jars, and the history of the bombing and showed us all the small details which we would not have noticed if we were just by ourselves. After the first hill top, he took us downhill to see a cave for ancient cremation (which was also not easily seen by other tourists just wondering aimlessly.

There were craters here and there and you just wonder why so many giant jars remain undamaged after the war.

Then across the huge plain, we saw military planes up in the sky, adding to more imagination of the history in the past.
He then asked us if we wanted to take the path uphill again to see more or if we just wanted to go back the same way. As we were interested to explore more we all walked up the small path overseeing all other tourists downhill. Up there he showed us another giant jar, half hanging just at the side of another big crater. It was magical it didn't get damaged at all.

The walk up the bath was not difficult but if you do this in the hotter months, a hat and a water bottle are definitely necessary. Eventually we continued the path and went downhill back to the parking to meet our own driver.

We were happy with our guide and at all times he looked very scholastic and gentle. It was nice to see him gently insisted other tourists not to stand in, or step on any jars, to pay respect to the dead once buried in the jars. We then voluntarily gave him 30,000 kips and he made some recommendations about what to see after we left him.

We then continued driving to site 3. This is not exactly a plain, but rather hidden in the forest across some rice fields. Our walk was no problem in dry February but I guess it would be a bit muddy in wet seasons. Anyway after about 7 minutes pass the buffalos (I guess), we arrived in a quiet forest to see some jars, not as much as in site 1 but it was the difference between a plain and a hidden forest, which was quite serene here too. There was no need to hire any guide here as it was very straight forward in site 3.

After that, we went back to small restaurant next to the ticket booth and had some beef noodles and a few drinks. It was not bad.

A very pleasant and relaxing experience.

Date of experience: February 2018
7  Thank nickiBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plain of Jars also viewed

Phonsavan, Xiangkhouang Province
 
Phonsavan, Xiangkhouang Province
Phonsavan, Xiangkhouang Province
 

Been to Plain of Jars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing