We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Switched on, nice Western relief”

Bamboozle Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #3 of 11 Restaurants in Phonsavan
Cuisines: International, Healthy, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Catering for both travellers and locals in Phonsavan, 'Bamboozle' is a bamboo-themed restaurant and bar, with a range of both International and Asian dishes, as well as a wide selection of drinks. Specialties at Bamboozle include goat cheese dishes, cream of pumpkin soup, vegetable tempura, tofu laab, homemade 12-inch pizzas and "The best burger around". Drinks include a range of ice cold beers, spirits, cocktails and house wines. In mulberry season, we have our popular mulberry shakes, mojitos, teas and wines. We have free and fast wifi, local gifts for sale, local info and occasional live acoustic music. Open daily from 5.00pm to 10.30pm.
Pattaya
1 review
“Switched on, nice Western relief”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

After all those noodle soups and lovely rice dishes it was a delight to have a culinary change. Excellent service, ice cold beer - the works.
The toilet upstairs had no water - inconvenient; the place was dimly lit and more a sort of a cocktail lounge. But apart from that very nice and we went there twice. Shall be back next time for more ;-)

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ticino-Thailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    92
    24
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warrington
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Try the chips”
Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

We shared pizza and chips here both were really tasty. The chips were actually some of the best I've ever had.

Probably the highlight of Phonsavan as there isn't much else to do after seeing the Jars.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jessica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“try the burgers!”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

The Bamboozle is quite a nice place with a relaxed atmosphere. As the name says there is bamboo everywhere. You can sit on normal tables or on two low ones on the ground.
I tried their chicken burger, and was surprised how good it was. I actually wanted to order another one, but then took the fried rice, which was excellent as well!
The fruitshakes they make, are quite good as well.
Burger came at 35k and the mangoshake at 10k. - Extremely good value for money.
Go there if you are in town!!! - And yes they also have Wifi.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Next best thing in Phonsavan after Plain of Jars”
Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

Found this place from the Tripadvisor reviews.

A bamboo-themed restaurant with walls, ceiling, and bar clad in bamboo. There are two platforms where you can sit on cushions instead of normal tables, which was nice.

The Wi-Fi was nice and fast for Laos. The service was friendly.

The food was delicious! A bit pricey but probably good for Laos western food. Ordered a meat lovers pizza and it was yum. The toppings were generous and similar to what you'd get on a gourmet pizza back home. Also ordered khao pad chicken (fried rice) with large pieces of chicken (not tiny minced up bits elsewhere). The fried rice was tasty as well.

I would like to eat here 3 times a day if I could but I can't wait to leave Phonsavan.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KayCeeNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Ok for Lao and Western food.”
Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

The first thing you need to know is that is is bamboo themed... And the decor is all bamboo walls and ceilings. The service was quite good. We were given our glasses of water and menus very quickly. The food was acceptable - probably better at a local restaurant for the Lao food, but good. The choice of food was not too large or small, and dessert was available in four different kinds.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SteamedBun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bamboozle Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Phonsavan, Xiangkhouang Province
Phonsavan, Xiangkhouang Province
 
Phonsavan, Xiangkhouang Province
Phonsavan, Xiangkhouang Province
 
Phonsavan, Xiangkhouang Province
Phonsavan, Xiangkhouang Province
 

Been to Bamboozle Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing