We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price, clean and quiet. Fair deal!”
Review of Namchai Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Namchai Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 33 Phonsavan B&B and Inns
World
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good price, clean and quiet. Fair deal!”
Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

A new hotel with big rooms, good and clean beds, tv and a clean bathroom with hot shower. Located parallel to mainroad 7, but no disturbing noise of traffic. We stayed there for 2 nights, payed 80.000 for a twin room per night and liked it! Guess it's a goid deal. No breakfast, but Coffee and tea. Check simmalys for cheap breakfast...

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank FruttiDiMare1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    33
    13
    4
    4
See reviews for
2
30
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stayed at Namchai Guesthouse for 4 nights. We didn't expect much in terms of quality of accommodation in Phonsavan so we were very happy to find Namchai Guesthouse. They are located on a back street right in the centre of town (2 minute walk to restaurant, mini mart and MAG centre). The owner doesn't speak much English but enough for what we needed. We had a room in the building at the back which appeared to be quite new. Our room was spacious. The bed was hard like most beds in SEA but they provide the best fluffy duvet you could find in a guesthouse! We were provided with a second one on the first night as the room was cold and there wasn't any heating. The room and bathroom were clean. The hot shower is good. The wifi isn't reliable at all. We had to go hang out at a cafe to have internet. It wasn't a problem in itself, we just don't like when something advertised can't actually be provided. Overall, we enjoyed our stay at Namchai guesthouse and highly recommend it to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Audree_Joshua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014

While it's not really anything special, Namchai is a great value. We stayed in the brand-new building at the back of the lot and found it very comfortable. We came here after staying at Kong Keo for a night and found it really uncomfortable. This is only a few dollars more and it is of significantly higher quality. Plus, there is free coffee and tea in the downstairs lobby!

Room Tip: The rear building is newer but the rooms are all about the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brianstromberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

This is a relatively new guesthouse which was clean and comfortable - free water, towels and soap etc as well as coffee and tea.

The shower wasn't amazing but that's par for the course - good heat but not very powerful.

It was one of the first places we stayed with a proper duvet, which was nice. Bed was also comfortable.

The room was cold though, and there's no way to heat it up with radiators or aircon, so be prepared to huddle in bed!!

We paid 80,000 kip and found it clean, tidy and secure - just what we expect for the price.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Elly E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Stayed here a couple of days ago
Rooms were clean enough for 80.000 with fan but not needed

Guesthouse is one road over from main road behind nice guesthouse
If I had to complain shower could have been better
Mini van for 8 people to all three jar sites etc £10 each 9am- 6pm

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ukkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Considering the price, it is rather ok -- rooms are large, the bed is comfortable and the place is quiet. The sheets and towels were all stained, but smelled of recent wash. Internet works all right. But there was a bit layer of dust all over our room. Behind the bed, which we had to move after something fell, the dirt had adhered to the floor. We asked them to clean it and they simply passed the broomstick very quickly, which clearly wasn't enough. The bathroom was quite disgusting. For a new place, it was rather run down, I think. Have no idea how this place compares to others in Phonsavan though.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaracolBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Phonsavan hotels

Totnes
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

The hotel is ok for the price,comfy beds and good views from the balcony.
Do not organise tours from here though.
The guy promises you the earth then you end up with a grumpy old guy with no English spoken and no local knowledge. He is the owner of the Sabaidee guesthouse down the road.
There are plenty of tour options in town.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank 5joemoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phonsavan hotels
0.7 mi away
Vansana Plain Of Jars Hotel
0.0 mi away
Maly Hotel
Maly Hotel
#1 of 6 in Phonsavan
43 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Hillside Residence
The Hillside Residence
#3 of 33 in Phonsavan
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Jennida Guesthouse
Jennida Guesthouse
#4 of 33 in Phonsavan
18 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pukyo
Pukyo
#1 of 11 in Phonsavan
11 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Dokkhoun
#7 of 33 in Phonsavan
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Namchai Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Namchai Guesthouse

Property: Namchai Guesthouse
Address: Navieng Road, behind the Nice Guesthouse, Phonsavan, Laos
Location: Laos > Xiangkhouang Province > Phonsavan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Phonsavan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Namchai Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing