We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nice Guest House
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Maly Hotel(Phonsavan)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Favanhmai Hotel(Phonsavan)
Booking.com
View Deal
Chittavanh Hotel(Phonsavan)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Dok Khoune Hotel(Phonsavan)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (137)
Filter reviews
137 results
Traveler rating
7
64
50
8
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
7
64
50
8
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdouble roomspoke good englishdrinking waterwithin walking distancerooms are cleanfree coffeetour companiesluang prabangwestern foodcouple of nightsthe main roadplenty of hot waterstationkipguesthouselaundryjars
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 137 reviews
Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

The room was clean. we stayed for 3 nights and it was worth it...

one NICE thing about NICE is their receptionist, "Va", he speaks good english and was sooooo helpful, very friendly & accomodating. he will help you save a lot of time & money, more than the rooms their very helpful staff is worth your stay at phonsavan.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sqdfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

The Lonely Planet description of the place is extremely misleading! Essentially it's an OK place to sleep for one or two nights but not somewhere you would want to spend too much time. The rooms are functional and clean enough but didn't smell great. I booked a tour from the tourist office across the road (I can't remember the name) which was great, with a really knowledgeable local guide. The UXO centre and the QLA a few doors down are well worth a visit to learn more about the UXO legacy in the region. If you plan on staying at Nice you can get a free transfer from one of the touts at the bus station.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HelenDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Given available choices in Phonsavan, I'm glad I picked Nice for a 2-night stay in February (essentially to tour Plain of Jars). Got a room in 3rd level in the back so that reduced evening noise somewhat. The guesthouse was straightforward and room was OK for the $10 walk-up price.

All of the desk staff were helpful, spoke decent bits of English, and I didn't find them overbearing at all with respect to tour. Granted, I arrived fatigued and was inclined to book a tour without expending a lot of effort, so I did book a 6-hour tour right at the hotel desk, but I felt that Mr. Yeng was pretty laid back, not pushy. As it turned out, the tour was just ducky and our guide was enthusiastic without annoying and was very pleasant.

I had pho/soup right across the street and (maybe it was MSG!) I found the broth to be the most interesting I had in 5 weeks and the soup was rich and colorful with tomatoes and lots more.

So 4 stars given it's Phonsavan, not LP or Vientiane.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bo_geste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

The rooms are good, with comfortable beds, wardobe and dresser, tv with english channels and bottled drinking water provided. Our room was made up each day. My only complaint - a small one - would be that the bathrooms are tiny, with the shower (plenty of hot water) squeezed in right next to the toilet.

Downstairs rooms open onto a courtyard, upstairs rooms onto an open corridor with a large covered terrace, with seating and tables, at the front of the building. Couldn't get wifi in our room, but it was fine on the terrrace. There is a good restaurant directly opposite the guest house where you can get a decent breakfast.

Staff were very friendly and welcoming and they have an efficient laundry service, very necessary after a couple of days trekking in the hills nearby!

We used the associated tour company for a tour to the Plain of Jars, a 2 day trek to Ban Pha Keo, and to book onward travel to Luang Prabang. Everything was well organised and the guides were friendly and knowledgeable.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kaz_in_essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights. Rooms are clean and there is a great selection of channels on the cable tv. Our room was at the front of the hotel so we could hear a bit of traffic noise, so probably better to stay in a room at the back of the hotel.

No food served here, but restaurants close by. Would stay here again, if ever back in Phonsovan. Hired a motorbike to see the Plain of Jars sites so can't comment on the tours organised by this guest house.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the hotel as they're quieter.
Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank LoopyLouRTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews