We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for sleep bad for tour”
Review of Nice Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Phonsavan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nice Guest House
Ranked #5 of 33 Phonsavan B&B and Inns
Delft, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good for sleep bad for tour”
Reviewed February 13, 2014

The guesthouse is okay and they can book Tours but... we booked a tour and they forgot one part of it so we didnt see the whisky village. Also water was included but everybody only did get one little can for all day long.
The next day we booked a vip bus to thakhek end ended up in local bus which took a long time and was less comfortable. So for sleeping its fine, for travel not.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HannaDuckie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    62
    46
    8
    6
See reviews for
3
48
44
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

I can't complain about Nice guest house, but can't say I'll remember it for years to come either. It was clean and the staff were helpful. Most guesthouses in Phonsavan are on the main drag, so they're a bit noisy, but our room was generally quiet at night.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank dbmonty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

I think this guesthouse is reflected in its name. It's clean, reasonably priced, fine for a stay in Phonsavanh. I had some laundry done, which was very reasonable.

The shower could have been hotter, but I gather that is a problem in most guesthouses

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank BrownLongEaredOwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights in July purely to visit the Plain of Jars. The rooms were average, and having just come from Luang Prabang where i'd only paid a little bit more for a much better room, I was disappointed. The bathroom was tiny (considering it was a wet room, there really wasn't much room to shower, and the cleanliness probably left a bit to be desired). I also think there was a rodent of some sort living in my room.

However, I had read reviews about not booking the tours with these guys (after i'd booked the tour, i'd looked up reviews once i'd gotten the wifi to work), but I must say that I thoroughly enjoyed my tour. I don't know if sometimes they run them themselves and other times they get a company to do it, but I think i was on one with another company and I enjouyed it immensly.

The UXO information centre is also worth a look.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

Nice guesthouse was good enough for one nice. Rooms are cheap plain and simple although can be noisy with the busy roads outside which start up from 5am. When staying here make sure you visit both MAG and UXO centres across the road. There both very educational on the damage bombs are still causing to the local people and projects they are working to improve living conditions for those effected. They also provide documentaries on those who lived through the secret war on Laos.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SherelleAllwood1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv District, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

For the price we paid and in a town like phonsavan I could rank it higher. During a trip to southeast Asia we ran into nice guesthouse, the owners English wasn't that great but they were helpful, the rooms are basic but indeed are clean, and the bed indeed was comfortable. If you run into this town, I would recommend it.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Edokon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

There’s not a lot of choice in Phonsavan (of places to stay or to eat) but this place is OK and it is possible to book online. The room was a decent size, cable TV was included and it was right in the centre of the main street. I didn’t experience any of the problems with smells or dirty sheets but I was kept awake one night by rain falling on what must have been a metal roof next to my room. This was the only place I stayed in Laos where breakfast was not included. The wi-fi didn’t reach my room and they switched it off at night but I could get a signal down near the reception.

I never really saw anyone on the front desk during my stay but a tout attached himself to me at the airport (Mr Vong – he seems known around town for this behaviour) and “tried” to con me into purchasing one of his incredibly over-priced tours. I’m not convinced that he wasn’t something to do with the guesthouse, as they made no attempt to get rid of him when I wasn’t interested.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms are quieter because there are fewer people walking by outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HKLissie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phonsavan hotels
0.6 mi away
Vansana Plain Of Jars Hotel
0.0 mi away
Maly Hotel
Maly Hotel
#1 of 6 in Phonsavan
43 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Hillside Residence
The Hillside Residence
#3 of 33 in Phonsavan
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Nice Guesthouse
#8 of 33 in Phonsavan
6 reviews
0.0 mi away
Anoulak Khen Lao Hotel
Anoulak Khen Lao Hotel
#6 of 33 in Phonsavan
135 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Dokkhoun
#7 of 33 in Phonsavan
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nice Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nice Guest House

Property: Nice Guest House
Address: Main Street, Phonsavan 0900, Laos
Location: Laos > Xiangkhouang Province > Phonsavan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Phonsavan
Number of rooms: 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing