We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good budget guesthouse”
Review of Nice Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Phonsavan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nice Guest House
Ranked #6 of 33 Phonsavan B&B and Inns
Haacht, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
424 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
“Good budget guesthouse”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

The Nice guesthouse is a budget guesthouse, like so many others in Laos. But it is a good one, with clean rooms and a hot shower. Location is very central, a few good restaurants are nearby. If you are coming with the bus, there will be some guys (touts) who will offer you free transport to the guesthouse.

Room Tip: The rooms on the 3rd floor have a view of the surroundings
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Globetrotter045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    62
    48
    8
    6
See reviews for
4
49
44
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

We had decided to stay here based on the LP write up and when our minivan from Luang Prabang rocked into town, we were surrounded by tour agency guys offering free transport to this hostel, amongst others. We found put after arrival, this was in turn for them trying to get you to book a Plain of Jars tour which we declined due to taking a motorbike instead. They were fine with this.

The room was nice and spacious, clean with free water, hot shower for 80,000 kip. Not a bad deal. Wifi wasn't available in our room (13) but the top floor has a sitting area/balcony for guests where wifi is available. The guesthouse was very near some good restaurants (Nisha Indian and Bamboozle European), as well as the MAG UXO visitor centre. Also close to Happy motorbikes where you can rent a bike with some level of insurance. It's a good budget choice.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heygepetto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

We got off the bus and chose a man holding a sign for the nice guest house, this place was in our LP guide and had a decent write up so we headed off there with a free transfer. We took the last room, I think it's was $10 with hot shower and a fan. You do not need a/c it gets cooler at night and i slept with the fan off and a blanket. The room was small but fine for the 2 off us we wouldn't be spending much time there anyway as we were heading off to the jars. The room for serviced and had free soap and water. We went for dinner at craters. We HATED it. The food was Horriable and small servings plus it was expensive compared to what we had been paying. We went a few doors down the next day. I can't remember the name but it's always packed its on the corner. Cheap and tasty. We booked a tour for 150.000 to the jars you won't get it cheaper. We had transport, a guide, enterance paid and lunch.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrandMrsJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

We paid $10 for a room with comfy bed ad a clean bathroom. The hot water was great and didn't run out half way through a shower.

Staff were really nice and friendly.

Clean towels given each day.

Overall a great little choice. We have nothing at all the complain about. Wifi would sometimes not work, if you go and ask they switch the router off and on and it's back up and running again.

Would recommend to anyone coming to phonsavan.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tweed Heads, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

I have spent the last two weeks volunteering fot MiVAC Trust about 30 Klm West of Phonsavan. Every 3-4 days we come back to town for restocking of Western food. I have been staying at "Nice" and would recommend it to travellers. I did try "DokKhoune" for 1 night but came back to "Nice'. I choose a 3rd floor room as they are slightly larger and have a refrigerator/freezer. The top floor rooms have an access to a balcony overlooking the main street and it is cool and pleasant to sit there whilst updating emails and making Skype calls home . The WiFi is reasonably fast and Skype calls are clear. The room itself is basic but clean and at 100,000 Kip (A$12.50) is good value. The rooms on the lower floors are cheaper at 80,000 Kip and would be OK except that I need the freezer for overnight storage. There are only 15 rooms in total. Location is perfect being central and amongst the restaurants and tour guides which seem to be everywhere .

I see a review from Billy W which seems out of character as I have had no worries with security and have found the staff very jovial and helpful. One wonders about people who have only posted one review. I suggest that with all the positive reviews you could ignore that and be guided by the general trend especially from more experineced frequent reviewers

I have another two weeks in Laos and plan to continue to use "Nice" as a base when in town

Room Tip: 3rd floor rooms are larger and have a fridge - probably more secure and quiter - at 20,000 kip extra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vientiane, Laos
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

only stayed here for 1 night, cant really complain about the room or the price, was pretty good!. but for the staff, they rude and didnt seem to try and help us out at all! and i had my laptop stolen from the room by either the cleaners or the hotel staff. And once i confronted the hotel staff about it they didnt seem bothered and i never got it back. would highly recommend finding another hotel

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank billy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Phonsavan hotels

Philadelphia, PA
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Room was acceptable. Basic, but clean enough. Good location on a "strip". Hot water was really tepid water, but due to the hot weather, not a problem. I would describe the hotel as "backpacker comfortable". At this price, no complaints.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fubijar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phonsavan hotels
0.6 mi away
Vansana Plain Of Jars Hotel
0.0 mi away
Maly Hotel
Maly Hotel
#1 of 6 in Phonsavan
43 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Hillside Residence
The Hillside Residence
#3 of 33 in Phonsavan
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Nice Guesthouse
#8 of 33 in Phonsavan
6 reviews
0.0 mi away
Anoulak Khen Lao Hotel
Anoulak Khen Lao Hotel
#5 of 33 in Phonsavan
135 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jennida Guesthouse
Jennida Guesthouse
#4 of 33 in Phonsavan
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nice Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nice Guest House

Property: Nice Guest House
Address: Main Street, Phonsavan 0900, Laos
Location: Laos > Xiangkhouang Province > Phonsavan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Phonsavan
Number of rooms: 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing