We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to meet travellers at the campfire”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Phonsavan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kong Keo Guesthouse & Tours
Ranked #1 of 33 Phonsavan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leiden, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to meet travellers at the campfire”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Every night there was a Campfire going in an old bombshell dropped by the Americans in the secret war. Phonsavan has a lot to offer and this was a great place to stay. Staff was friendly and gave good information on the secret war. Go to his brothers pizza place to watch documentary's on the war and to get discount on a motorbike.

I do not understand the bad reviews on this place,

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank KlaasGommers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    19
    10
    11
    6
See reviews for
3
38
30
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The lonely planet it was a good value for money place but my experience was totally different. The place is dated and dirty and in need of a good clean and refurbishment. Taps or toilets aren't working properly according the owner so my question is why hasn't it been fixed?
The owner was drunk or non existing when I was there and no excursions offered so I've arranged my own.
The only plus side was that the water was really hot so that was a bonus after days of cold water. His brother runs a small guesthouse with a dorm just up the road which i can highly recommend if you're looking for a cheap place to crash

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Belle_Dutchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

The hostel's fine - a decent room with aircon, although when I went there it was pretty much empty, so the much-vaunted restaurant wasn't functioning.

Mr Kong himself lifted this up from a 3 to a 4 star for me, by virtue of giving me a personal tour of the Plain of Jars at 6am, just because I needed to get out of town at 9. He gave me a better rate than I'd have got on group tours elsewhere, and drove me out, showed me around, and gave me a really fun morning. A great guy, doing a great job.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmaltby1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vang Vieng, Laos
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Even though I heard some bad things about the owner I went there, because i'm very easy going and have no problem staying in a bit of dirty place.
the owner- Keo was extremely rude and on the verge of verbally sexual harassing me. I went to sleep and was waken up by a hand full of rats going about in the room, under my bed, on my backpack and just everywhere.
I barely slept and early the next day I checked out.
when I told Keo there where rats in my room he didn't even say a word.

Not recomended to anyone, especially not for single girls.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yifat G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salzburg, Österreich
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Im surprised about the bad reviews concerning the owner! I loved the place. To be honest the matrasses was very hard but i dont expect much in simple accomodations.
I had the greatest time because the owner Mr Kong was amazing. He told so much about Laos bad history and there tours were fun, too. We had a lot of fun sitting outside the grill area, listening to music, playing guitar, talking nonsense and serious topics.

I just can say thank you to Mr. Kong becaus i learned so much!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hendriksson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

I'm surprised at some of the poor reviews for Kong Keo but I think some people expect too much from backpacker accomodation. Sure, the place is a little rusty around the edges but what were you hoping to get for 50,000kip? Personally I couldn't care what state the place is in as i'm not there to enjoy the interior decor of a bedroom! Mr Kong was a super host and I can highly recommend his guesthouse and especially his tours (I chose option 2). He and his brother have a great sense of humour (his brother is what we in Britain call a dark horse) and give you insight into Laos which you wouldn't get staying elsewhere. One of the great things about this place is there is no WIFI, this might not appeal to some but it means travellers aren't glued to computer screens, instead they are drinking beers around the fire and having fun! People call Mr Kong lazy, he isn't, he is laid back just like Laos. Cheers Mr Kong!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thebigbrowndog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foix, France
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at Kong Keo guesthouse ! It's a family run businness and Mr Kong, his wife and his brother are very friendly and helpfull ! The tour they offer is pretty nice too and if you choose the option 2 with the included dinner you'll really enjoed the food. It cost about 140.000 kip. My grilfriend and I got a nice room (quite basic) for 50.000 / night.
You can spend the evening next to a fire drinking beers (10.000 kip) and ask to your hosts to play some guitar.
Just so you know, if you want to take the night bus to Hanoi (at 2 am) they can book seats for you but it doesn't take 12hours as everybody seems to think. It's more about 20 hours !!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yannick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phonsavan hotels
0.0 mi away
Maly Hotel
Maly Hotel
#1 of 6 in Phonsavan
43 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vansana Plain Of Jars Hotel
0.0 mi away
Pukyo
Pukyo
#1 of 11 in Phonsavan
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Nice Guesthouse
#8 of 33 in Phonsavan
6 reviews
0.0 mi away
Namchai Guesthouse
Namchai Guesthouse
#2 of 33 in Phonsavan
66 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jennida Guesthouse
Jennida Guesthouse
#4 of 33 in Phonsavan
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kong Keo Guesthouse & Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kong Keo Guesthouse & Tours

Property: Kong Keo Guesthouse & Tours
Address: Phonsavan, Laos
Location: Laos > Xiangkhouang Province > Phonsavan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Phonsavan
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing