We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Two things to be careful of”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Anoulak Khen Lao Hotel
Ranked #5 of 26 Phonsavan B&B and Inns
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Two things to be careful of”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Overall a good location in Phonsavan while you arrange and go on a trip to the Plain of Jars, decent size room, clean, everything works and is just off the main street where the restaurants are. But two things I found. Firstly we arrived by minivan from Vang Vieng, and, as is usual in Laos, the terminal is some way out of town. As it was raining we were pleased to see a man holding our name on a piece of paper. We were taken to the hotel and the man turned out to be the owner of a nearby travel agency who had got our name from our booking. As it happened he had excellent English, was knowledgeable about the area and although we did not feel at all obligated we did book our tour with him, and were pleased with it.
The second thing to be careful of is the breakfast in the restaurant on the fifth floor, an odd case of East does not quite meet West. Congee and a cold bain maree holding implausibly red frankfurters and congealed fried eggs. My wife was sick as soon as we returned to our room and I started to feel ill as the minivan set out for Luang Prabang, six hours of very winding road later and I had regretted every kilometre that I too had not vomited immediately after eating.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UbudBaliRichard_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    63
    49
    11
    4
See reviews for
9
66
21
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Breckenridge, Colorado
Level Contributor
361 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

This was a very friendly and clean hotel that is near to the city center. The rooms were comfortable and even offered CNN on the TV. My room was nice and my breakfast was really good! Nice eggs were served and congee as well, that is popular with Asian travelers!

Room Tip: I would stay on the first floor in case something went wrong with the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SiriusSkier23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

We arrive in Phonsavan and head to that hotel because it was the number 1 suggested on Tripadvisor. Complete desaster!!! The guy at the counter was simply not nice.
There was local guy staring at us like animal while they were smoking and playing cards in the main hall ... witha lot of cash on the table!
The rooms are clean but the whole thing is so bad that we don't think that was worth it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chito A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Phonsavan hotels

Zürich
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

not much to say about this hotel....i did not have the chance to test it. they just overbooked the rooms and cancelled my reservation.....and my guide had to look for a new room without any help from them. not really what you expect after an 8 hour car drive....to bad

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank GD73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
178 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

This hotel is located off one of the main streets that runs through the commercial part of Phonsavan town, and is within a short walk of a range of restaurants and shops. I was passing through town and wanted a clean place with good internet and hot water for one night en route to Vientiane. This turned out to be a good choice.

A very well English spoken gentlemen checked me in and the price of a standard single room was 200,000kip (roughly USD25). The room had air con and was spotless and spacious. The bathroom was also clean with decent pressure and hot water in the shower. The internet worked well during the day although during the evening it was slow, I guess as many guests were also using it. The breakfast offered simple options of precooked eggs and sausages and Lao pastries, fruit and rice porridge.

This would be a decent place to spend a few nights if visiting the cultural sights in the area or transitting through as I was. After having stayed in various cheap but not so nice guesthouses in remoter parts of Lao over the past week this was a pleasant upgrade on the last day of my field trip.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

A functional hotel that serves its purpose as a stopover for the Plain of Jars. Rooms are big and airy, sparsely furnished and basic.
Staff speak basic English but are helpful.
Breakfast was a little hit and miss. Wouldn't pay more than $20 for the room though.
Eat at the western run restaurant close by. Come out of the hotel and turn right on to the main road and turn immediately left. I'll be the one that's packed with people.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back so it's in the shade
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mala8830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermanus, South Africa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

I think after Vansana Plain of Jars Hotel ( which was fully booked ) this is the next best choice in Phonsavan. Clean, large room. Bathroom ok - shower leaked. Breakfast fine ( ladies tried their best to boil me an egg ) Location good, just off the main road and close to a small supermarket. We were out and about on a motorbike ( which you can rent right outside the hotel ) all day long anyway to see the Plain of Jars.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karinSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Phonsavan
0.0 mi away
Maly Hotel
Maly Hotel
#1 of 6 in Phonsavan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vansana Plain Of Jars Hotel
0.0 mi away
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
#3 of 21 in Vang Vieng
3.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Hillside Residence
The Hillside Residence
#2 of 26 in Phonsavan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jennida Guesthouse
Jennida Guesthouse
#7 of 26 in Phonsavan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
0.0 mi away
Auberge de la Plaine des Jarres
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anoulak Khen Lao Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anoulak Khen Lao Hotel

Property: Anoulak Khen Lao Hotel
Address: No 059 / 4 Ban Phonsavanxay | Pek District, Phonsavan 0900, Laos
Location: Laos > Xiangkhouang Province > Phonsavan
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Phonsavan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Anoulak Khen Lao Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Anoulak Khen Lao Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing