We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly adequate”

White Orchid Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
White Orchid Guest House
Ranked #10 of 33 Phonsavan B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a 100,000 kip double room. The room was dingy and cold (we had to ask for extra blankets), but perfectly fine for our three night stay. We were most excited by the enclosed shower - the first we'd seen in a while - no wet floor in the bathroom!

We heard from others that a hotel along the road to the minivan station was much better and cleaner for 80,000. The guesthouse had a sign saying China Food outside - so that may be a help.

We didn't even bother with breakfast at the White Orchid and instead ate most meals at Bamboozle - a great brand new restaurant catering to tourists.

There was a guide connected with the hotel but he charged upwards of $120 for a tour! I can't believe people pay this for a private tour when you can with a small group for $18 anywhere else in town.

If you have an extra day I'd recommend the silk farm outside town (50,000 return tuk-tuk) and the market - we had the best noodle soup at a stall there (10,000).

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clarkerosie83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (52)
There are newer reviews for White Orchid Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 52 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2013

Firstly, in small aeroport, when I was finding some transport to Phonsavan, Jan (manager of guesthouse) had found me and very comfortable mini-bus was driving me in the hotel. Then, because I had very small amout of time - just 3 hours in departing day and near 4,5 hours next days and would like to see all, Jan helped to manage my trip and - voila - 30 min after I've gown to old city... Good wife, clean room, handly location - near this guesthouse there are some restorants.
In conclusion, the manager of a hotel can help you with everything!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elena_A-Doni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We had trouble finding information about places to stay in Phonsavan, and finding something at a reasonable price was even harder. We booked here knowing that it was only for two nights, so would have had to have been pretty bad to move. It was just okay (leaning towards bad). Because we were four, we got the "executive" room on the 4th floor (no lift). It had two very soft and saggy beds - which is unusual for this part of the world where beds are usually rock hard. Towels were dingy and old, bathroom was not particularly clean but usable. There was always hot water, but we did notice that whenever one of us had a shower there was water leaking in the nearby hallway, dripping down the tile staircase. Since the last set of stairs is small an steep, it was a terrible slipping hazard and we were constantly being extra cautious. The breakfast was meagre with one egg and some toasted bread. There was never enough butter or jam and you only got one cup of coffee, which is never enough for us! On our second night a french tour group arrived. They were all in their 60s an 70s and were given no help hauling their bags up the stairs to the third floor. The next morning when we came downstairs early to catch our ride, there were people sleeping in the lobby in sleeping bags. For the price, we expected more - even though the pickings are clearly somewhat slim in Phonsavan.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelFamily2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night in this place. The staff is friendly but the room was normal. It was noisy in the morning and expensive for what it is (150'000 kip). Humidity in the room and moisture in the bathroom. We recommend this Hotel only for his tourist agency called Natural Travel. We did an excellent two days trek (Phakeo Trek) + 1 night homestay in an authentic village. Book the trek with them. It was our best experience and we did not see any tourists during two days!!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Napoliangel10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Rooms relatively clean, a bit of traffic noise in morning, a little pricey but quality ok for what else is on offer. Staff friendly, included breakfast basic. Worth a mention is Mr Salor the travel "agent" attached to guesthouse, genuine man (rare). He will negotiate on printed prices for tour but hey this is Asia....

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

I did not book this hotel in advance and got a room directly on the spot. The hotel appeared to be pretty booked, so the executive room was the only room available. A bit over price, but ok. Breakfast & wifi included. The room was pretty spacious, but the furniture was almost unusable. The bed was comfy however. The bathroom had a tub and a shower. The hot water was ok. Still some details reminded me of the communist era.
The staff acted a bit strange and I always felt, that the hotel was not fitting to the city at all. The breakfast was standard. Overall, the place cannot really be recommended and does not blend with the vibe and the history of the area.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThaiRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

We had two nights here in june12 it wasnt the worst but for 100,000 kip you get what you pay for.The room was dirty with huge gaps under the door but it did have hot water.The staff were friendly and helpful,organising our tour and even giving us a taster of the local hooch "laos laos".Its an ok place for 1/2 nights but in phonsavan you wont need to stay longer

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stu-watp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phonsavan hotels
0.0 mi away
Namchai Guesthouse
Namchai Guesthouse
#2 of 33 in Phonsavan
66 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jennida Guesthouse
Jennida Guesthouse
#3 of 33 in Phonsavan
21 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vansana Plain Of Jars Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Maly Hotel
Maly Hotel
#1 of 6 in Phonsavan
43 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Hillside Residence
The Hillside Residence
#7 of 33 in Phonsavan
55 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Dokkhoun
#5 of 33 in Phonsavan
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Orchid Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Orchid Guest House

Address: Angle route No7 et Rue de l'ancien aeroport, Phonsavan 0900, Laos
Location: Laos > Xiangkhouang Province > Phonsavan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Phonsavan
Price Range: $10 - $22 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Priceline so you can book your White Orchid Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing