We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All good but the sleep :(”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Hillside Residence
Ranked #3 of 33 Phonsavan B&B and Inns
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
194 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“All good but the sleep :(”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

This hotel was off the main road and made me almost feel like I was in the country side. The town sucks for the most part.
Now for the hotel.... The place was super clean, the breakfast included was very good. The room had English stations, the room was super clean and it had a nice deck to sit at.
But I felt like I was on Noah Ark ....at 5am I heard birds, packs of dogs, pigs, chickens and maybe Noah himself.. I just could not sleep here. But if you want a nice clean place to stay or feed the animals this is the place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank theeyesoftheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    25
    19
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
33
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

The Hillside residence is a good place to stay as long as you don't mind a 10-15 min walk to the main part of the town, - a torch at night is useful. Set amongst other detached type houses this place is set in its own garden and there is a nice balcony nd airy breakfast area. Our double room at the frnt had a balcony too with lovely view so a real bonus. The room was fine and the bathroom was nice with a very hot shower. Very comfortable bed and nice people. The only comment I would have would be on cleanlines in that the toilet did not look as if it had been cleaned and the doors are all a bit grubby, but everything else was clean, and the bathroom was cleaned more throughly during our stay , so the original may have been an oversight. We were surprised to be met off the bus from Luang Prabang, a nice touch that we did not expect. The house is part of the Sousath travel organisation, so canoffergood but picey tours. Sousath travel were great when we decided to book a last minute flight to Vientiane.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reviewbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

I chose this place after reading reviews in which visitors with reservations at the big hotels in town found their rooms sold away because they arrived late. I didn't want that to happen, and my agoda booking here was honored.

We were met at the airport by a tour guide with our name, despite never requesting a hotel transfer. It turned out to be a free ride if we listened to his sales pitch for tours of the jar sites. We took it.

The owner/receptionist really doesn't speak English that well, but we were saved once by an English-speaking tour guide who seemed to be hanging out in the lobby and other times by pantomime. He is very friendly and helpful.

The bed is hard and the room can be cold at times. Hot water ran out once or twice in the shower, but it died slowly and didn't immediately turn to cold.

The breakfast is delicious, and you can ask for seconds. A walk to restaurants on the main drag (Bamboozle really is the best) takes about 15-20 minutes, but walking around is pretty much the only thing to do in town once you've visited the UXO Survivors' Centre and MAG.

I did enjoy relaxing in the garden out front on a sunny morning. It's a good-looking place.

Overall, if we were going back to Phonsavan, I'd book us here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happenstance3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

I had. It's just a 15 minutes stroll "downtown" (take your torch with you for the night), very peaceful, the porch offers an unparalled view over parts of Phongsavan. Don't expect the usual traveller amenities. But isn't it what we are here for????

Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank fraugold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosford, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights after our booking at the Vansana was cancelled with no explanation and no alternate booking. This place was booked for us by IndoChina Travel in Phonsavan.
Could find no information about the place, so just had to hope it would be ok and it was. It's on the same road as the Vansana but not as far along, and it was $50US per night cheaper!
I think our room number was 102, it was downstairs next to Reception which I would recommend avoiding as it was a little noisy. Upstairs away from reception may be better.
We had a good sized room, with a small private bathroom which had plenty of hot water, and the biggest, softest towels of our whole trip.
There is a decorative metal security grille on the windows, and metal flyscreens. A pedestal fan, no a/c or heating, but we didn't need when we were there, the weather was pleasant, even though we expected cold mornings and evenings. There was no fridge in the room but you can buy cold drinks at Reception. There was a 54cm TV in our room.
The family who own the place live on site and Mr Kay (that's how you say it, prob not how you spell it) was always smiling and nothing was too much trouble. His English wasn't great, but enough to get by.
Breakfast was included and is simple but filling and served upstairs near the communal balcony. Some rooms have their own balcony.
The only down-side was the really hard bed.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laceytreigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Phonsavan
0.0 mi away
Maly Hotel
Maly Hotel
#1 of 6 in Phonsavan
43 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vansana Plain Of Jars Hotel
0.0 mi away
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
#2 of 23 in Vang Vieng
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Namchai Guesthouse
Namchai Guesthouse
#2 of 33 in Phonsavan
66 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pukyo
Pukyo
#1 of 11 in Phonsavan
10 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jennida Guesthouse
Jennida Guesthouse
#4 of 33 in Phonsavan
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hillside Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hillside Residence

Property: The Hillside Residence
Address: Ban Phonesavanh, Phonsavan 0900, Laos
Location: Laos > Xiangkhouang Province > Phonsavan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Phonsavan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Hillside Residence 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Hillside Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing