We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High on a mountain top”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Phonsavan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Auberge Phouphadeng
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Phonsavan
London
Level Contributor
207 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“High on a mountain top”
Reviewed March 31, 2012

We stayed for two nights when we went to the Plain of Jars the Auberge is outside town on top of a pine covered hill the view wax amazing

It was however noisy one from the disco in town which was loud but silent after 11

We also had an owl nesting in the eaves which at regular intervals face three hoots followed by what sounded like fook me the first few times it wax funny but it did go on a bit

Bed was hard and the bathroom
Is a little spartan but we filled the sink by using a glass and taking hot water from the shower maybe the owners could supply a jug to do this

Breakfast was ok and we ate at the restaurant both nights and the food was good we had to order a few hours in advance and the choice wax limited but it was good tasty food

Overall not a bad place up stay and the Plain of Jars are amazing if a but of a climb to get to them

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edwmagee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    3
    12
    5
    6
See reviews for
3
18
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Jamieson, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2012

Love it up there, Looking over the whole town , Pine trees and Cabins, Open fireplaces. ( and you need them in winter, November through Feb ). Make sure you pack warm clothes.
Great Deck.
Attentive and friendly staff.
Cold beer Lao and Fine food.
Nothing sterile about it . Great fun.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ltscrash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2012

We stayed in this “hotel” in January 2012 for two nights. We had been advised by our tour company that this was the best place to stay in Phouphadeng . It was without a doubt, the worst accommodation which we had during our eight day stay in Laos.
The "hotel" comprises individual wooden cabins which are not insulated. They are antiquated, filthy and haven't been improved for at least 30 years. Every door hinge creaks and the lighting is inadequate. Phouphadeng is a part of Laos which has a tendency to be quite hot during the daytime but very cold at night. The heating in the cabins comprises a single fireplace and while our request for sufficient firewood to last the night was satisfied after the first night (once we realized the problem), in fact the heat from the fireplace was insufficient to keep us warm. We learned after the first night that we could not sleep through without adding wood to the fire if we wished us keep warm, as the fire died during the night.
The bathroom was an utter disaster. There was no hot water tap in the sink so only cold water was available. The hot water facility in the shower comprised a small pump which allowed a lukewarm shower, if the shower was taken quickly. Shaving was impossible either at the sink or in the shower. The shower curtain was inadequate and as a result, water covered much of the floor in the bathroom once we had completed our showers. The management provided two medium-sized old worn towels for our use (to be used either as hand towels, shower towels or face cloths).
While the owner and the staff appeared very accommodating and eager to please, the food offered was extremely poor. We made the mistake of ordering beef for dinner the first night, which resembled shoe leather and we were unable to finish. The rest of our dinner was adequate but unimpressive. Breakfast consisted of eggs made to our order. The coffee was insipid but the tangerine juice was very pleasant. A serving of fruit finished the meal.
The difficulty that travelers will encounter if they wish to see the Plain of Jars is finding suitable accommodation in Phouphadeng which is the town closest to the Jars. In the end, we concluded that the one day drive over very difficult roads to Phouphadeng and then having to stay two nights at the Auberge Phouphadeng was probably not worth the time and discomfort.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pietro65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Phonsavan hotels

Yavne, Israel
Level Contributor
396 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2012

looks charming at the beginning, located on top of a hill overlooking the town.
The staff is very friendly and accomodating.
Then you get the room , which actually is a bungalow with the most minimalistic items. The room was extremely cold, the only heating was supposed to be the fire place. Sounds cosy? It is if you can light a fire! The guy from te hotel failed because the wood was all wet. After two attempts we gave up and went to the lobby, there at least they had the fire going.
We had dinner there, wvich was reasonable, but then we had to go back to the bungalow. They tried to lught the fire again, and finally with the help of a hair dryer we had with us we succeded.
Then we wanted to take a shower. Obviously there was no hot water , only a gas heater which was set to 5 liters, and then it went out.
We slept with three blankets and the worst was to get up in the morning to a completely cold room (the fire went out sometime during the night).
If this is #3 in Phonsavanh, I don't even want to think about what the next ones are.
Bottom line: avoid!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
118 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

A great location on the hill overlooking Phonsavan spoilt by the lack ground maintenence, which takes it from rustic to tired. The duplex wooden chalets are spacious with good showers but the beds were harder than the normal Asian beds making for an uncomfortable night. The French Chef was in hospital so there was only a very limited menu that was poorly cooked and presented. A disappointment.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noelandmaxine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiba Prefecture, Japan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2010

I had stayed at this place twice previously and had positive memories -- until I made the third visit. First, the manager who was running the place this time was extremely unfelpful. The tables at the restaurant were pre-allocated, and you are not allowed to choose one. My travel companion was feeling cold and wanted to avoid draught, but we were ushered to the table closest to the entrance door. The manager seemed to have no local knowledge -- when we asked about local textiles, he didn't show any interest. Second, staff got panicky when the place was full. At dinner, we ordered a bottle of beer, but foods were served first. When I asked about the beer, the manager's response was: "We are full today!" It seemed that he can't manage his hotel when it is fully booked. Wonderful. The waiters spoke poor and unrecognisable English. It was extremely hard to communicate.

Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mariko_SC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2010

Was greated upon arrival by Sanya Vincent who while I expect English is about his 4th language he spoke it impecably. His assistance was invaluable. While to far out of town to get there there is pehaps no reason to stay in town. Views from the hotel are great. The room is a basic pine cabin without AC it was comfortable enough for the night. Food and bar prices and quality were excellant. This hotel is a real find, feel it will struggle with newly constructed and constructing better looking hotels, which will be a real shame.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OzzieJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phonsavan hotels
0.0 mi away
Vansana Plain Of Jars Hotel
0.0 mi away
Maly Hotel
Maly Hotel
#1 of 6 in Phonsavan
43 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Hillside Residence
The Hillside Residence
#3 of 33 in Phonsavan
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Nice Guesthouse
#8 of 33 in Phonsavan
6 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Dokkhoun
#7 of 33 in Phonsavan
2 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jennida Guesthouse
Jennida Guesthouse
#4 of 33 in Phonsavan
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Phouphadeng? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Phouphadeng

Property: Auberge Phouphadeng
Address: Phonsavan, Laos
Location: Laos > Xiangkhouang Province > Phonsavan
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Phonsavan
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing