We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just simply relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ban Sabai Riverside Bungalow
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Vang Vieng
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Just simply relaxing”
Reviewed December 25, 2013

What can I say, bungalows, no tv and the river just outside what more could you ask for. We were greeted with a welcome drink and shown to our bungalow. The rooms were extremely clean and all had a balcony which was great to relax with a beer. The breakfast was good and you could sit at the restaurant and enjoy food or a drink and watch the boats and kayakers go by. There was a mosquito net but to be honest did not see many mosquitos during my stay. The town Centre is just a short walk away and the hotel can arrange a bus or mini van to Luang Prabang or Vietianne at a price of course. If you are Vang Vieng and just want to relax then this is the place and reasonably priced. So glad we found this place and if you like a bit of peace and quiet after a hard day you can’t go past this place.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul24101964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    131
    51
    18
    16
See reviews for
33
150
26
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Stayed in one of the bungalows in Nov 2103, the location and views are amazing which is why I’ve given a very good rating. The bungalow its self like other reviewers have pointed out needs upgrading, the room is very basic but it adds to the authenticity of the place. Might not be to everyone’s taste but for a couple traveling through Laos it was perfect for us! The welcome drink on arrival was an added bonus on a hot day - thanks

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liamkitty2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

The bungalows are basic but quaint and all you need. Although small you don't spend much time in there anyway so the location makes up for the size! Right on the river with the beautiful mountains surrounding we couldn't be happier waking up to such a beautiful sight every day! The restaurant has delicious food and a 10% discount for those staying in a bungalow... Our favourite dish that we had at the restaurant was the steamed fish in a banana leaf - yum! The free breakfast is also great and the service is quick. Would definitely come back

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank livschweik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herent, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Ban Sabai is by far the nicest place we stayed at during our 3 week holiday in Laos.
The staff is very friendly and speaks very good English.
The bungalows are very cosy and the location of the restaurant alongside the river is also very charming plus the food is really good.
I can really recommend this place.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank inge309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

We took 2 nights stay in the only twin-bed bungalow at the premise. We love the beautiful river view. You could just dine by the side of the river and enjoy watching the local folks doing their daily activities. Occasionally, your mental bliss is interrupted by a noisy passing motor boat.

The manager and staff at the reception and guesthouse were very nice. They were friendly and tried hard to make your stay there enjoyable.

Lighting in the room is intentionally low, so all light readings should be done at the balcony on the deck chair. Free wifi is available, however the signal is weak on several occasions. There is no TV or fridge in the room. There is a house rule on food consumption which is for a good cause. The Manager requested that all foods should be stored at the Front Desk area and not in the room. This is to prevent pests infestation in all the rooms. Daily room cleaning is done upon request. ( Booking was done via Agoda and reception process was fast and easy.)

Overall, the price and good service level at the property deserved a "VERY GOOD" rating from us. Well done and Thank-you Ban Sabai staff for making us stay memorable.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JerryThirteen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delft, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We went to Vang Vieng for a couple days out of Vientiane. Ban Sabai offers a great relaxing location in Vang Vieng with friendly staff and a great view on the river. We enjoyed drinks in the hotel's restaurant from where you can locals (as well as tourists!) on and around the river. The rooms are charming. Also the surrounding area is beatifull, with, next to tubing, great possibilities for mountain biking and hiking.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank dirkielander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delft, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

After a couple of days of travel to and from Phonsavan we chose Ban Sabai for a few days of relaxation. Upon hearing that the whole backpacker-tubing-drinking-thing was not the big party it once was anymore we decided to book three nights and we were glad we did. The surroundings of Vang Vieng are great and there are enough activities to spend a few days. Vang Vieng however seems to be a place in transition: the backpackerplaces are running empty, and there are not yet very many places that offer good quality for tourists with more to spend.
Ban Sabai is really our kind of place. We had a nice bungalow (I don't think it was upgraded yet, but it was charming and clean) with a terrace. The restaurant serves good quality meals, snacks and drinks all day and the views are stunning. The staff at the reception is friendly, but it took the guys serving in the restaurant until the last day to make contact and give us a smile, they always understood us well however.
In the last year a big hotel was build directly behind the poolbungalows. The big groups staying there are sometimes noisy in the morning and so are the boats in the river. We weren't bothered, but perhaps the bungalows a little further from the river offer better sleep quality.
The pool is small, but seems bigger in real live than in the pictures. It's nice for cooling down after a day of mountain biking or walking.
Recommended for a few days of r&r!

Room Tip: We stayed in bungalow 14, but probably bungalows 10 and 11 are a bit more quiet since they are furth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vang Vieng hotels
0.1 mi away
Vieng Tara Villa
Vieng Tara Villa
#3 of 23 in Vang Vieng
192 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mountain View Riverside Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
#7 of 23 in Vang Vieng
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Villa Nam Song Vang Vieng
Villa Nam Song Vang Vieng
#4 of 23 in Vang Vieng
169 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
#2 of 23 in Vang Vieng
201 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riverside Boutique Resort
Riverside Boutique Resort
#1 of 23 in Vang Vieng
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ban Sabai Riverside Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ban Sabai Riverside Bungalow

Property: Ban Sabai Riverside Bungalow
Address: Ban Savang, Vang Vieng 1003, Laos
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vang Vieng
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Vang Vieng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ban Sabai Riverside Bungalow 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Ban Sabai Riverside Bungalow Hotel Vang Vieng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing