We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Spot in Vang Vieng”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ban Sabai Riverside Bungalow
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Vang Vieng
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Spot in Vang Vieng”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

In all our travels, this was probably the nicest $30 per night room we had. The hotel is right on the river, and has great views of the surrounding mountains from both the rooms, and the restaurant. We loved having breakfast right on the water every morning - and the food was great! The room was a little cabin/hut, but the charm appealed to us. The bathroom and room were clean, and the view from the balcony was very nice. The location is also perfect. Ban Sabai is only a few minutes walk from the main town, but it's removed enough that you wont ve kept up by the late night partiers. While $30 a night is quite reasonable by western standards, this is on the more expensive end of accommodation in Laos - so you are able to get a much nice place than the average backpackers guesthouse. We loved our time here, and would recommend it to anyone staying in Vang Vieng.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kalyso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InthiraMD, General Manager at Ban Sabai Riverside Bungalow, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear Kalyso,

Thank you for your kind words that will make all of us happy at Ban Sabai. The Chef of our restaurant River Spirit, Mr. Atheu and his team, do their best to cook the best of Lao and International specialties and it is always nice when it is recognized.

We wish you a safe trip and hope to welcome you again.

Tai,
General Manager
Ban Sabai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    131
    51
    18
    16
See reviews for
33
150
26
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We booked a superior room and it was ready on arrival, given we booked a superior we were a little surprised it was as small as it was. The bed and bathroom were both fine. However, there were a few issues, the design of the bungalows means ants and mosquitoes easily get in the room. The mosquito net for the bed had rips in it and the air conditioning didn't work throughout our stay. All in all not our most comfortable hotel experience, this said from wandering the town it did appear our accommodation was far better than most so if travelling to Vang Vieng it may be better to just expect lower quality accommodation.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InthiraMD, General Manager at Ban Sabai Riverside Bungalow, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear Clare,

I am sorry you did not appreciate our bungalows at Ban Sabai. I wished you had mention the AC issue a we would have looked into it. I checked them all and they are all working fine now.

If you decide to come back to Vang Vieng, please contact me directly and i will make sure everything goes fine this time.

Tai,
General Manager
Ban Sabai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

my friend and I stayed for two nights in Ban Sabai after seeing some good reviews on Tripadvisor. We were not disappointed! It was so good to escape the city of Vientiane and see some of the gorgeous scenery that Laos has on offer. The view from the restaurant here is stunning. You are right on the river and can watch the world go by. We didn't want to deal with the mad backpacking party people so we stayed away from the town centre and relaxed poolside at the hotel, hired bicycles and meandered through the rice paddies and did half day kayaking to see the caves - also recommended.
The standard twin room we had was lovely, furnished tastefully and very clean. The air con and hot water worked fine as long as you don't have hot water pressure on full. Mosquito nets for the beds too. There was a nice balcony to sit on to read a book. Everything in easy walk. Breakfast was fresh and good variety. Pool very clean! Not sure why some people have had a problem with that.
Only tip I would give hotel management is to put tea/coffee/milk and a kettle in the rooms as it is nice to make a hot drink for yourself when you want it.
I plan to come again in late August with my family. Thanks to all the friendly staff for a wonderful weekend getaway!

Room Tip: We had room 4, bit noisy near stairs but nice to be up high with the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lisjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InthiraMD, General Manager at Ban Sabai Riverside Bungalow, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear Lisjane,

Thank you for your nice review and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do our best to bring full satisfaction to all our guests and it is always a pleasure to read that we have managed to achieve it.

I will speak to the owner regarding adding tea/coffee kettles in the room.

We wish you safe journeys and hope to see you in Vang Vieng again.

Tai,
General Manager
Ban Sabai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights but wish we could have stayed longer - thank you Ban Sabai staff

Pros
* Staff were, without exception, wonderful (Lo and Aoth spring to mind but all lovely)
* Very helpful arranging transport for us to get to the waterfall and arranging onward transfer to Luang Prabang
* Gorgeous location right on the river
* Well equipped and comfortable bungalows
* Pool perfect for cooling off
* Food great - good choice at breakfast and we had dinner here one night too
* Terrace by river = perfect place for drinks - recommend pineapple-mint fruit shake!

Cons
There are a lot of bugs (as mentioned in previous reviews) but that is to be expected in this sort of location and, with correct precautions, by no means detracted from our experience

Room Tip: Number 14 is right next to the river and facing the pool - perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank missguerin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InthiraMD, General Manager at Ban Sabai Riverside Bungalow, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your experience. I read your review to my staff and you made their day ! We are all doing our best to make our guests stay the most enjoyable one and when we read that we managed to do just that, it makes us all proud and happy.
We wish you safe journeys and hope to welcome you back in Vang Vieng soon.

Tai,
General Manager
Ban Sabai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna Bay, New South Wales, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We loved staying here, ended up staying a week. The location is right on the edge of the river and our bungalow also overlooked the small pool. It was such a relaxing place. The staff were terrific, very friendly and helpful and spoke english really well. The bungalows are cute and rustic but certainly suited us. We would definitely stay there if ever we are back in Vang Vieng.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InthiraMD, General Manager at Ban Sabai Riverside Bungalow, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Dear Sandy,
We loved to have you stay with us and i m glad that you could notice that my staff speak well english. We only hire local people and most of them don't speak any english when they arrive. We learn english together every day, talking to our guests, sharing our love for our region. Don t hesitate to ask us any question you want and we will me very proud to tell you all we know about our culture, traditions and tell you the best places to visit!

Best regards,

Tai,
General Manager
Ban Sabai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Queensland, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Ban Sabai was a lovely place to stay, with very rustic rooms, a beautiful view, and a very comfortable bed. The room was clean and the staff were very good. The restaurant was very nice too, and breakfast was included and good.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annika C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Ban Sabai Riverside Bungalow, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
Dear Annika,

I am glad we could offer you a nice holiday in our hotel ant that you enjoyed your stay.

We wish you nice trips!

Regards,

Tai,
General Manager
Ban Sabai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Don't let the beauty of this place deceive you. It had without a dought the wosrt service I recived. We went there for one night and ended up looking for another place to sleep at 23:30 at night, after we were kicked out because "there is no electricity".
All in all- we have been to better hostel for 3$ a night.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron0502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Ban Sabai Riverside Bungalow, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
Dear Miss Ron,

I am truly sorry you had such a bad experience in our hotel. Clearly we were not performing to our usual standards that day, and for that I sincerely apologize. We had a major electricity problem that night and you will be happy to know that it has been fixed the next day.
We hope you will have the opportunity to give us a second chance and if you wish to do so, please contact me directly.

Best regards,
Tai
General Manager
Ban Sabai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vang Vieng hotels
0.1 mi away
Vieng Tara Villa
Vieng Tara Villa
#3 of 23 in Vang Vieng
192 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mountain View Riverside Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
#7 of 23 in Vang Vieng
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Villa Nam Song Vang Vieng
Villa Nam Song Vang Vieng
#4 of 23 in Vang Vieng
169 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
#2 of 23 in Vang Vieng
201 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riverside Boutique Resort
Riverside Boutique Resort
#1 of 23 in Vang Vieng
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ban Sabai Riverside Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ban Sabai Riverside Bungalow

Property: Ban Sabai Riverside Bungalow
Address: Ban Savang, Vang Vieng 1003, Laos
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vang Vieng
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Vang Vieng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ban Sabai Riverside Bungalow 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Ban Sabai Riverside Bungalow Hotel Vang Vieng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing