We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Vang Vieng
Oconto Falls, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing view”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Unlike Cambodia or Veitnam, in Loas the costumer service is not that great. This hotel's service was the same as all the hotels we stayed in Loas. However, the view from this hotel is worth every cent. I suggest renting bikes and ride around town and the countryside for awhile. However, if you ride bikes out to the blue lagoon area, do yourself a favor and get a mountain bike. The fixed gear road bikes are terrible on the rocky roads.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristianDory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    168
    120
    44
    19
See reviews for
42
205
50
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level 6 Contributor
276 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

I stayed here as part of a group so I highly doubt the rates were in any way expensive. Nonetheless, I thought this was a pretty nice hotel with incredible views. There have to be hotels in Vang Vieng on a 4-star level but I would happily stay at The Elephant Crossing Hotel if I return.

Pros: #1 All of the rooms look over the river and the view is incredibly beautiful. #2 The view from the deck outside is also beautiful and I think it would be a romantic place for a man to propose to his girlfriend. Sunsets are worth paying an admission fee. #3 The hotel is in a great location from town.

Cons: #1 You are required to take off your shoes at the stairs before you even get to the front desk. They clean the floor but when you're wearing sneakers it becomes a bit annoying to have to take them off before you get to your room and wait until well after you leave your room to put them back on. #2 I found a lizard (or gecko as some people call them) in my room. It didn't bother me at all because I know they eat bugs, but that could be a deal breaker for someone afraid of geckos. #3 The mosquitoes flying around in my room were almost as big as dragonflies. Yes I'm exaggerating, but the mosquitoes in Vang Vieng are far from puny.

Recommendations: #1 Make sure you keep your luggage zipped close at all times. I didn't want to take the gecko with me to my next location. #2 Ask for a room on the second floor or higher as the view from the balcony was beautiful. There are no elevators at the hotel so dragging your luggage up the stairs is the trade-off. #3 I HIGHLY recommend taking a powered longboat ride while in Vang Vieng. The best time for a ride is mid-morning (around 10 AM or so) when the sun is already in the sky but it hasn't gotten too hot. The ride lasts about an hour and is a nice way to get a tour of sorts on the lake.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor or higher for maximum views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank appetite4trvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2013

if it`s your first time to VANG VIENG you will instantly be comfortable and thrilled once you enter the alfresco "lobby area" . ALL signs point to , wow , this was a wise choice, and the journey only gets better hour by hour . views from the rooms n balcony facing the river - karst limestone mountains are TOTALLY spectacular ! Upon waking in the morning and looking across the river, LAOTIAN life is moving along at its ancient rhythms with cows being shepherded along and locals walking with colorful umbrellas . the breakfast buffet area is a dream , right over the flowing river . I had the good fortune to be greeted by the wife of the LAOTIAN owner, RACHEL from SYDNEY AUSTRAILIA , who sweetly steered me on my great 4 day immersion into the town and its spectacular surroundings. PING PONG at the front desk is just great . THERE is NOTHING not great at the ELEPHANT CROSSING HOTEL . I can can certainly see why LONELY PLANET gave it their top choice!!

Room Tip: higher the better for the river facing rooms …
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MIchaeLEVINE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

Wow! This hotel's location is just amazing and the views are to die for! Their deck overhangs the river and is just an amazing place to have breakfast every day!

We even found a guitar in their reception and started jamming a few tunes on the deck!

I'll definitely be back!!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Justin Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Currumbin, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Tried to get a room without booking and it was full. So we stayed elsewhere for a night. The hotel was OK but when we came back the next day Elephant Crossing had a room. The difference was "the view". Absolutely stunning. Just sit on your balcony and soak it all in. Watch the colours change early morning and at sunset. I mean the location in the stunning karsts with the river is what Vang Vieng is all about so do it properly and stay at a hotel on the river with a view. The hotel has a nice open reception area leading to a garden atmosphere and then the breakfast/restaurant on the river. There are nice comfortable chairs where you can sit and read or entertain guests if you dont want to go to your room.The hotel staff were very polite and accomodating. We like to have a cup of tea upon rising so a jug was sent to our room the minute we mentioned it. We couldnt understand the air conditioner. A repair man came straight away. The bedroom is a reasonable size - not that big but not pokey and small either. Beds are comfortable (not always the case in Laos), bathroom just adequate (nothing to rave over), breakfast is on the river and a buffet style with all the normal things at buffet breakfasts. All in all we were very happy we could get a room at this hotel. Would definately stay here again if we came back to Vang Vieng.

Room Tip: I think they all have a view - but if not...then definately ask for one
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prue Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

What a welcome change from concrete boxes and tiles! This mature large guesthouse may be built of concrete, but the beautiful hardwood floors and the lovely reception area make all the difference. Attractive, mature garden area leads to sublime deck bar and restaurant with an uninterrupted view of the stunning karst mountain scenery. Most of the rooms have balconies for your own personal breathtaking outlook. Simple, tasty Lao and International menu at sensible prices and so are the drinks. To top it all, the Lao staff are always smiling and eager to practise their English. There's even a charming native French speaker. The Lao-Australian couple who own Elephant Crossing are extremely helpful about what to do and see in Vang Vieng. Great value. Stay for a few days and relax. We did.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiscerningBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Had a wonderful view of the river and stunning mountains from our verandah and our bed. Breakfast was very good with eggs to order. Very clean and neat hotel. Had a book exchange which was great. Position close to cafes and walks over the river.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenny d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vang Vieng hotels
0.2 mi away
Vieng Tara Villa
Vieng Tara Villa
#3 of 23 in Vang Vieng
192 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Nam Song Vang Vieng
Villa Nam Song Vang Vieng
#4 of 23 in Vang Vieng
169 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mountain View Riverside Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
#2 of 23 in Vang Vieng
201 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riverside Boutique Resort
Riverside Boutique Resort
#1 of 23 in Vang Vieng
665 reviews
0.0 mi away
Savanh Sunset View Resort
Savanh Sunset View Resort
#10 of 23 in Vang Vieng
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elephant Crossing Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elephant Crossing Hotel

Property: The Elephant Crossing Hotel
Address: Ban Viengkeo | (PO Box 5512, Vientiane), Vang Vieng 1003, Laos
Phone Number:
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vang Vieng
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Vang Vieng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Elephant Crossing Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elephant Crossing Hotel is a welcoming, warm and friendly accommodation venue situated on the river with fabulous views of the Karst limestone mountains! A boutique hotel, well established gardens and long terrace that stretches along the river. We aim to please all our guests and may they have a memorable experience while staying here with us. The bar and restaurant utilizes local farmers produce and serves Lao, Asian and Euro food. We are doing our best to reduce miles and serve clean chemical free food, with our own organic grown rice and winter vegetables from our own gardens. Our team of local staff are always willing to help with a friendly approach and authentic touch! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Elephant Crossing Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elephant Crossing Hotel
Hotel Elephant Crossing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing