We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best in town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Vang Vieng
West Sussex, UK
Level Contributor
125 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“One of the best in town”
Reviewed March 30, 2008

We booked direct with The Australian / Lao owners, who welcomed us warmly (as did her mother!). We enjoyed this hotel in the perfect location, if only the sun had shone ! The room was adequate and clean, and breakfasts were OK. The staff were very accommodating though they had limited English. Out of convenience we ate in the hotel every night which was OK. The rest of Vang Vieng, as the Lonely Planet stated was a little seedy, the best places to stay are on the river, and the Elephant Crossing is one of the best ,and seems to do very well with tour groups in and out every night.
They arranged a day trip, walking, caving and kayaking with a brilliant guide - much recommended and they arranged our onward travel to Luang Prabang direct from the hotel in a 10 seater mini bus with other guests.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2Turners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    166
    117
    41
    19
See reviews for
40
202
50
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2008

How different reviews are! We really enjoyed this hotel and had no problem at all with our reservation. We had requested and received one of the larger rooms with a balcony on the second floor. We were lucky enough to be in a corner room on the far side of the hotel (the left side), which meant we had an excellent view of the river and the mostly-cloud-covered mountains beyond as well as the attractive property beside the hotel (yes, another hotel). We liked the room and enjoyed the balcony. Loved being able to sit in the tub with the sliding windows open, which provided a tub-view of the mountains. The staff were very accommodating though they had only minimal English. The Australian owner , a young mother, was perfectly pleasant though not particularly interested in her guests, The in-room massage arranged thru the front desk was great. The hotel's riverside restaurant was just okay, with somewhat better food found next door.

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
Thank Judyno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
1 review
Reviewed March 16, 2008

I have just returned from spending 10 days at the Elephant Crossing Hotel in Vang Vieng, Laos. I had planned on staying only 5 days but the tranquility of the Hotel and its environs was so inviting I cut short the time in Vientiane that I had planned.
Opening my curtains each morning to magnificent Karst mountains and sitting on the balcony watching the river traffic was amazing.
It was so nice to be in the quiet end of the town even though it was the wedding season and there is some noise from them.
the staff is very friendly and helpful and the owners, an Australian woman and her Lao husband are fonts of knowledge about both the area and Lao in general.
i would highly recommend this hotel to families, older people and young marrieds.

  • Liked — Bigger than normal beds and a bath tub
  • Disliked — Shower over the bath
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled solo
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sullySydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2008

Strictly speaking not a review as will become apparent. I had booked a room at this hotel several months in advance and an exchange of emails confirmed my booking. We duly arrived on the day appointed, following a 5 hour drive down from Luang Prabang. Presenting ourselves at the reception desk we were told by the local staff that there was a "problem", they were full! I presented printoffs of our correspondence and confirmation but was told that the person I had booked with no longer worked there, as if that explained everything. The staff seemed to have little idea of what they were doing. I managed to track down a western woman who I took to be the boss and she was equally unhelpful and rude, denying all knowledge of the booking.

At no point was an apology offered. In all my travels never have I been treated in such an offhand and unpleasant manner in a hotel and this particularly contrasted with the charm and welcome we experienced elsewhere throughout Laos. As luck would have it we found a very pleasant bungalow next door for one night and then subsequently next door to that at the delightful Villa Nam Song.

I would not stay at the Elephant Droppings if they offered me a free room and I would advise others to be wary.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Check in / front desk
Helpful?
1 Thank EnglandNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Vang Vieng hotels

Sydney
Level Contributor
122 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2008

A gorgeous hotel located on the edge of the Nam Song River with the spectacular mountain escarpments in the background. A four storey building with lovely garden and restaurant on the edge of the riverbank. Two year old hotel run by an Australian women and her Lao husband with their two young children. Very welcoming and relaxing retreat away from the backpacker element of Vang Vieng. Rooms have a balcony overlooking the River with simple bathroom and furnishings.

  • Liked — Location on the river
  • Disliked — Lots of stairs to climb with luggage
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank arundel153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2008

The Elephant Crossing could not do enough to help. We arrived quite late and were warmly welcomed and shown to our room without any problems or hassles. What's more, when we missed breakfast the following morning, the receptionist immediately offered to provide us with a freshly cooked chicken and salad baguette, as well as juice, coffee and fresh fruit.

The rooms are not flash, but very, very clean, comfortable and with stunning views and lovely balconies.

It was one of the nicest places we stayed on our trip and, above all, made us feel comfortable and relaxed.

  • Liked — Friendliness and location
  • Disliked — Not much really
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarkFMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2008

The hotel is nice but a bit overpriced in my opinion. The rooms are ok, but quite old, the bath was mouldy and the sink was leaking (that was a superior room!). The views are great but then there are a lot of places in vang vieng which have great views.

  • Stayed December 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmiliaXYZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vang Vieng hotels
0.2 mi away
Vieng Tara Villa
Vieng Tara Villa
#3 of 22 in Vang Vieng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
#2 of 22 in Vang Vieng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Nam Song Vang Vieng
Villa Nam Song Vang Vieng
#4 of 22 in Vang Vieng
3.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Villa Vang Vieng Riverside
Villa Vang Vieng Riverside
#16 of 22 in Vang Vieng
3.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.9 mi away
Khampaseuth Hotel
Khampaseuth Hotel
#11 of 22 in Vang Vieng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riverside Boutique Resort
Riverside Boutique Resort
#1 of 22 in Vang Vieng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elephant Crossing Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elephant Crossing Hotel

Property: The Elephant Crossing Hotel
Address: Ban Viengkeo | (PO Box 5512, Vientiane), Vang Vieng 1003, Laos
Phone Number:
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vang Vieng
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Vang Vieng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Elephant Crossing Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elephant Crossing Hotel is a welcoming, warm and friendly accommodation venue situated on the river with fabulous views of the Karst limestone mountains! A boutique hotel, well established gardens and long terrace that stretches along the river. We aim to please all our guests and may they have a memorable experience while staying here with us. The bar and restaurant utilizes local farmers produce and serves Lao, Asian and Euro food. We are doing our best to reduce miles and serve clean chemical free food, with our own organic grown rice and winter vegetables from our own gardens. Our team of local staff are always willing to help with a friendly approach and authentic touch! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Elephant Crossing Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elephant Crossing Hotel
Hotel Elephant Crossing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing