We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Etrip
StayForLong
eDreams
Booking.com
View all 7 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (533)
Filter reviews
533 results
Traveler rating
117
196
142
56
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
117
196
142
56
22
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
245 - 250 of 533 reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We were shown to a room which was not what we had booked. It was small, poorly equipped and dirty. No pool, but you can use the one in our new hotel for 60000 kip - a fortune in Laos. When told that was all they had we arranged to move on. Fortunately the same company was having a soft opening at its new hotel and we stayed there - the Silver Naga. New so clean, good sized rooms but bathrooms were small and looked twenty years old in a new building. But the pool was free! Breakfast buffet poor so three stars for the Silver Naga.

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grangeview
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Elephant Crossing is a very big hotel compared to the other places in Vang Vieng.
We liked the idea that they employ and educate local people but you have to do it the right way. The staff needs more guidance by the management.

Also: The rooms are run down and not well maintained. Our room was moldy and smelly, the shower was broken and leaking. Not acceptable for the price.

We would not stay there again.

Date of stay: November 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nofsky82
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
ECH1, Guest Relations Manager at The Elephant Crossing Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your comments and for sharing your encounters with us. We are sorry that your experience staying with us was unsatisfactory. Your comments have been very helpful and we will address the problems that you encountered as priority issues.
Best travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

This has to be the most awful place to stay in Laos. Never mind that the room is old, at least it was clean. BUT the service is just awfully bad, especially coming from the owner (australian lady) of the hotel! Questions were tossed aside with brief answers and attitude was just lousy (couldn't care less). Asking for travel advice, it's better to ask from anyone down the streets.

Beware for tired travelers, it's a child care centre during the day. Be prepared for screaming and crying children early in the morning in the garden and the noise just travels up through your windows even in the upper floors.

The only good thing is that the view is nice. But then again, that applies for the rest of the other 100 hotels down the river

Room tip: Don't even bother.
Date of stay: October 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ianfoo75
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
ECH1, Owner at The Elephant Crossing Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2012

Dear Sir, I am sorry that you didn't have a good experience staying at our hotel. Your review says that you stayed with us October 2011, almost a year ago. I do not recall our encounter however brief and if more recent I am not based at the Hotel, hence if you met me it would have been brief coming or going. Our front desk is managed by local staff who work hard to please our guests. Once again, I apologize that you didn't get the full service you requested. Safe travels, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We're not into the VV party scene but thought that the surrounding area would still have something to offer so we booked for 2 nights. Sadly the room was not the sanctuary away from the VV scene that we were hoping it would be. The location was lovely and the view from the balcony beautiful but the room was quite small and smelled strongly of mothballs, a smell that stayed with us and our luggage for several days after we left (we only ended up staying one night). The washroom vents out into the main hallway so if you've been eating a healthy diet of fibre, anyone walking by is subject its percussive effects.
The staff were very nice and the breakfast was fine but the room itself was disappointing.

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rachel h h
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

My husband and I have stayed at the Elephant Crossing twice in the last 2 years. It is the perfect location in Vang Vieng, away from the night life and a 1 minute walk to the shops. The rooms at the hotel face the Nam Song River with beautiful limestone mountains beyond the river that reach the clouds, amazing views which are changing all the time. Our room was on the second floor overlooking the river, it was a nice clean room, comfortable bed, the bathroom had a shower/bath and the other usual facilities such as cable tv, air con and a fridge. The restaurant and bar is located adjacent to the river, very tranquil when having a drink before dinner. The food is lovely and reasonably priced, about 30,000 - 35,000 kip for most meals, from memory the most expensive meal would have been about 45,000 kip. A large Beer Lao is 12,000 kip and they supply cocktails and spirits from the bar as well. The restaurant is very clean with a spotless toilet nearby. It opens at about 7.00 am and closes at 10.00 pm. The staff are all very friendly and helpful. It was the perfect hotel for my husband and I to relax and have some peace and quiet.

Room tip: Book the second floor
Date of stay: March 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TrickyMicky228
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews