We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
Ranked #8 of 25 Hotels in Vang Vieng
Reviewed September 18, 2012

This has to be the most awful place to stay in Laos. Never mind that the room is old, at least it was clean. BUT the service is just awfully bad, especially coming from the owner (australian lady) of the hotel! Questions were tossed aside with brief answers and attitude was just lousy (couldn't care less). Asking for travel advice, it's better to ask from anyone down the streets.

Beware for tired travelers, it's a child care centre during the day. Be prepared for screaming and crying children early in the morning in the garden and the noise just travels up through your windows even in the upper floors.

The only good thing is that the view is nice. But then again, that applies for the rest of the other 100 hotels down the river

Room Tip: Don't even bother.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ianfoo75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ECH1, Owner at The Elephant Crossing Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2012

Dear Sir, I am sorry that you didn't have a good experience staying at our hotel. Your review says that you stayed with us October 2011, almost a year ago. I do not recall our encounter however brief and if more recent I am not based at the Hotel, hence if you met me it would have been brief coming or going. Our front desk is managed by local staff who work hard to please our guests. Once again, I apologize that you didn't get the full service you requested. Safe travels, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (454)
There are newer reviews for The Elephant Crossing Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

203 - 209 of 454 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2012

We're not into the VV party scene but thought that the surrounding area would still have something to offer so we booked for 2 nights. Sadly the room was not the sanctuary away from the VV scene that we were hoping it would be. The location was lovely and the view from the balcony beautiful but the room was quite small and smelled strongly of mothballs, a smell that stayed with us and our luggage for several days after we left (we only ended up staying one night). The washroom vents out into the main hallway so if you've been eating a healthy diet of fibre, anyone walking by is subject its percussive effects.
The staff were very nice and the breakfast was fine but the room itself was disappointing.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rachel h h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

My husband and I have stayed at the Elephant Crossing twice in the last 2 years. It is the perfect location in Vang Vieng, away from the night life and a 1 minute walk to the shops. The rooms at the hotel face the Nam Song River with beautiful limestone mountains beyond the river that reach the clouds, amazing views which are changing all the time. Our room was on the second floor overlooking the river, it was a nice clean room, comfortable bed, the bathroom had a shower/bath and the other usual facilities such as cable tv, air con and a fridge. The restaurant and bar is located adjacent to the river, very tranquil when having a drink before dinner. The food is lovely and reasonably priced, about 30,000 - 35,000 kip for most meals, from memory the most expensive meal would have been about 45,000 kip. A large Beer Lao is 12,000 kip and they supply cocktails and spirits from the bar as well. The restaurant is very clean with a spotless toilet nearby. It opens at about 7.00 am and closes at 10.00 pm. The staff are all very friendly and helpful. It was the perfect hotel for my husband and I to relax and have some peace and quiet.

Room Tip: Book the second floor
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TrickyMicky228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

I have stayed at the Elephant Crossing on 3 separate occasions over the past 3 years and could not recommend a better hotel than the Elephant Crossing in Vang Vieng. The hotel is located on the beautiful Nam Song river a couple mins walk from the town centre, far enough away from the partying of backpacker central. Most of the rooms face the picturesque limestone mountains in which Vang Vieng is so famous for. The Elephant Crossing is positioned for the best views out of all the hotels in Vang Vieng. The Elephant crossing is great value for money. The beds are very comfortable and the rooms have adequate cooling with a/c and also a fixed wall fan which comes in handy if u want to turn the air con off. The hotel is very quiet which I love as i am a light sleeper and wake easily. The restaurant directly fronts the Nam Song river with 5 star views. The Restaurant is very clean and hygienic and has very tasty dishes which are so fresh with local produce. The meals are a mixture of Lao, Thai and western food. The average meal is about $3-4 AUD..so cheap. For those who like a drink or two the restaurant has the best cocktails I have ever had. I have travelled all throughout Asia and the South Pacific and never have I ever had a better cocktail.... some of my favorites you need to try are the Frog, Gin Zing, White Dragon and Mango twist...and ONLY about $4-5 AUD. The cocktails are beautifully decorated and are a piece of art in itself. The breakfast is buffet style with a mix of Western and Asian. The staff are lovely and attentive and have good service. The gardens surrounding the hotel create a little oasis which is just so soothing and relaxing. I could not recommend a better Hotel in Vang Vieng. I stay for about a month at a time and I never want to leave. You can never tire of the views and the peacefulness of the hotel, just paradise.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Sheree W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

The staff at the reception were very nice and the breakfast okay, The room was on the small side and the AC not great. Overall I would say that the problem is that this hotel is not good value for money. For this price bracket we stayed in much nicer places elsewhere in Laos.

Room Tip: Views are better on the higher floors. (alough the nicer rooms are lower.)
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paulito86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

This hotel looks lovely in any web site and also the photos I took, but really is very run down.
The hotel location is very good, right in the center but not too noise around the bars. The restaurant located in a beautiful spot of the place. Rooms look out to river, beautiful view. The staff is nice and breakfast is okey. All this offer is very nice for us.
But.... The rooms full of ants, the bathroom was so dirty, wifi was poor (always cut out). Anything I try to use in room was broken or not have.....
For the price I pay in Laos, this place is really overprice.
I think I can be back for the view and Vang Vieng, if there is some upgrade and better management.
Vang Vieng is a very beautiful place and this is a lovely hotel with lovely location, hope can be better for my next visit.

Room Tip: River view high floor.... Beautiful!!!
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kkivy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

For anyone looking to be a bit away from the guesthouses and bars where all the young people are getting drunk, the Elephant Crossing is in a great spot just down the road along the river from the center of town and most of the commotion. The views form the upper floors is spectacular and a great vista to look at in the mornings.

The rooms are getting a fair bit worn, and apparently the management is renovating them a few at a time during the low season, so hopefully the place will soon return to a fresh updated state.

The staff was very friendly and helpful both in the hotel and the restaurant. The restaurant terrace overlooking the river was a great place for breakfast or dinner. The food was about average although that may be different in the high season.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the 3rd or 4th floor if you want the great views.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TaLRoberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vang Vieng hotels
0.2 mi away
Vieng Tara Villa
Vieng Tara Villa
#4 of 25 in Vang Vieng
196 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Nam Song Vang Vieng
Villa Nam Song Vang Vieng
#7 of 25 in Vang Vieng
169 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mountain View Riverside Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
#2 of 25 in Vang Vieng
204 reviews
0.0 mi away
Inthira Vang Vieng
Inthira Vang Vieng
#5 of 25 in Vang Vieng
334 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riverside Boutique Resort
Riverside Boutique Resort
#1 of 25 in Vang Vieng
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elephant Crossing Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elephant Crossing Hotel

Address: Ban Viengkeo | (PO Box 5512, Vientiane), Vang Vieng 1003, Laos
Phone Number:
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vang Vieng
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 25 Hotels in Vang Vieng
Price Range: $37 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Elephant Crossing Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elephant Crossing Hotel is a welcoming, warm and friendly accommodation venue situated on the river with fabulous views of the Karst limestone mountains! A boutique hotel, well established gardens and long terrace that stretches along the river. We aim to please all our guests and may they have a memorable experience while staying here with us. The bar and restaurant utilizes local farmers produce and serves Lao, Asian and Euro food. We are doing our best to reduce miles and serve clean chemical free food, with our own organic grown rice and winter vegetables from our own gardens. Our team of local staff are always willing to help with a friendly approach and authentic touch! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Elephant Crossing Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elephant Crossing Hotel
Hotel Elephant Crossing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing