We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dont't stay” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Elephant Crossing Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Vang Vieng
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Dont't stay”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2012

This is my first very negative review. This hotel is in need of major refurbishment. The room was tired. The bathroom atrocious. The shower curtain had mould on it. The water pressure was non existent. The hot water took several minutes to warm up. The service at the restaurant was slow and inefficient. Food was average at best. Stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    165
    111
    40
    19
See reviews for
40
197
49
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2012

Nice hotel in good position in Vang Vieng....right on the river and handy to restaurants and shops but far enough away to avoid the noise from the young crowd.

Rooms were spacious, nicely decorated and clean. Lovely comfortable foyer area to relax.
and beautiful restaurant next to the river. No safes in rooms but safety deposit system at reception worked well.

Our room was on the level above the ground floor (they call it the second floor). River view was nice but somewhat restricted by buildings. Third floor would be ideal for the view or fourth if you don't mind a few more stairs.

Mozzies at sunset. Bring mosquito protection. The plastic mozzie zappers you plug into an electric socket to burn permethrin pads are ideal for hotel rooms all over Laos. No adaptor needed for Australian plugs.

Book tours at Green View Tours across the road and along a bit to the left. They are very good and safety conscious. Caving/kayaking tour cost 90,000kip compared with 200,000kip for the same tour booked through the hotel.

Room Tip: Third or fourth floor have best views of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AprilinVietam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2012

The hotel is run down and shabby with almost ridiculous electrical fittings and mixed service standards (reception good, restaurant poor)

The shower randomly pulsed hot and cold water and the room was simply not worth the $66 price. Breakfast was surrounded by flies.

The hotel has a good view but as others have noted, it is not exclusive to this hotel.

Not recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBrownTrout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Vang Vieng hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

stayed here for a few nights when doing the tubing

Not a bad pad for the price..

Room Tip: get one facing river high level
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeyD101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2012

We are staying at The Elephant Crossing Hotel with a room that doesn't have a view for $50 a double. Too much for what is provided which is a very basic room. The staff are very nice and helpful but this town is so ugly, it's amazing how such a beautiful location can be destroyed by such ugly hotels & guest houses. This should have been the premiere location on Laos, now is full of booze & drugs. We haven't done any sight seeing, I think we will go to Luang Prabang as soon as possible. That's our favourite town in Asia, it is beautiful, just hope it stays that way.
The bus trip from Vientiane was awful, terrible roads, uncomfortable. Cost was $7.50 each, only good thing about it.

Room Tip: The bus trip form Vientiane was a nightmare, uncomfortable, just awful.Getting off the bus at Van Vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kevino8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2012

We stayed at the Elephant Crossing Hotel in January, 2012. This hotel lacked maintenance. Everything in our room was either dirty or worn. There was a significant amount of old wood in our bedroom most of which was either chipped or discolored. The air conditioning unit in our bedroom was filthy and proved to be inadequate in the day heat. The door lock to the bedroom was a basic simple lock and wholly inadequate by today's standards. The sign on the door indicating that the hotel was not responsible for stolen articles did not leave us with a sense of security particularly as there was not a safe in the bedroom.
The bathroom also had a significant amount wood trimming all of which was either moldy, discolored or chipped. The bathtub contained the shower. The primitive shower head was poorly positioned on the wall with the result that we had to contort ourselves in order to wash. The enamel in the bathtub was flaking and discolored. The toiletries offered by the hotel were not new and appeared absolutely disgusting. There were no hand towels in our room and the shower towels provided were skimpy and worn. A condensing type dripped water constantly on to the bathroom counter and the floor.
We ate dinner at the hotel restaurant which was nicely situated by the river. Generally, the food was quite good and it was the first time that we had good meat in Laos. The fruit offered was also very good. However, many items on the menu were not available and the service was extremely slow. Many of the staff did not understand English. One of the disadvantages of eating by the river at night is that there is an overabundance of insects attracted by the lit candles.. The management solves this by lighting a bonfire in the middle of the restaurant utilizing the smoke to get rid of the insects. So you have your choice, insects or smoke in your eyes.
The breakfast offering was reasonable but again, the choice of cereals was limited and certain items which we expected were not available. The “napkins” consisted of a roll of toilet paper still in its package placed on the table.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pietro65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ECH1, Owner at The Elephant Crossing Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,
Firstly thank you for your review and we apologise for your unsatisfatory stay at The Elephant Crossing Hotel. Your review has made us more aware of the immediate maintenance and upgrading that is so urgent! We will be refurbishing rooms one by one in the immediate weeks. We wish you a pleasant trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
111 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2012

I'm writing this from my room at Elephant Crossing. We paid $50 for a night in a Deluxe Queen room with a balcony over the water. I guess I should be happy to get such a low price but somehow I wish I could have paid a bit more and got a bit more.
The room is shabby. The pipe for the airconditioning unit comes through the bathroom and drips water all over the floor. The bathtub is falling away from the tiled wall and the shower curtain is badly mildewed. One wall is lime green. There seems to be the remnants of a drawing of someone's genitals on the wall. There are marks on the ceiling where people have squished mosquitos.
On the positive side, the air conditioning works, there is a fan, there is a TV, it has a nice view of the river and the mountains beyond. The bed linen appears to be clean.
The real problem is that this dive seems to be rated as one of the best in Vang Vieng. What kind of miserable life are people living in the other hotels? I can't wait to get out of this hotel and Vang Vieng.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marathonwinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ECH1, Owner at The Elephant Crossing Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,
Firstly thank you for your review and we apologise for your unsatisfatory stay at The Elephant Crossing Hotel. Your review has made us more aware of the immediate maintenance and upgrading that is so urgent! We will be refurbishing rooms one by one in the immediate weeks. We wish you a pleasant trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vang Vieng hotels
1.0 mi away
Vieng Tara Villa
Vieng Tara Villa
#5 of 20 in Vang Vieng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
1.1 mi away
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
#2 of 20 in Vang Vieng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
1.1 mi away
Villa Nam Song Vang Vieng
Villa Nam Song Vang Vieng
#6 of 20 in Vang Vieng
3.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Inthira Vang Vieng
Inthira Vang Vieng
#4 of 20 in Vang Vieng
3.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
1.2 mi away
Villa Vang Vieng Riverside
Villa Vang Vieng Riverside
#15 of 20 in Vang Vieng
3.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.3 mi away
Khampaseuth Hotel
Khampaseuth Hotel
#12 of 20 in Vang Vieng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elephant Crossing Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elephant Crossing Hotel

Property: The Elephant Crossing Hotel
Address: Ban Viengkeo | (PO Box 5512, Vientiane), Vang Vieng 1003, Laos
Phone Number:
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vang Vieng
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Vang Vieng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Elephant Crossing Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elephant Crossing Hotel is a welcoming, warm and friendly accommodation venue situated on the river with fabulous views of the Karst limestone mountains! A boutique hotel, well established gardens and long terrace that stretches along the river. We aim to please all our guests and may they have a memorable experience while staying here with us. The bar and restaurant utilizes local farmers produce and serves Lao, Asian and Euro food. We are doing our best to reduce miles and serve clean chemical free food, with our own organic grown rice and winter vegetables from our own gardens. Our team of local staff are always willing to help with a friendly approach and authentic touch! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Elephant Crossing Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elephant Crossing Hotel
Hotel Elephant Crossing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing