We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Vang Vieng
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Amazing views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2011

The hotel is at one end of the resort making it a really quiet place to stay. The hotel is run by an Aussie lady and her husband. They can't do enough for you, they are also putting back in to the local community and environment. All rooms have a balcony. We could get wifi in the room even though it says only in reception.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jude-g73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    166
    116
    40
    19
See reviews for
40
200
49
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Zurich
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2011

We stayed there for two nights and had a positive impression of the hotel. It is some minutes away from all the backpackers and tube staions and the staff is very nice.
The room was ok, we booked a deluxe room and for our impression we had a good value for money. The room is clean and has a nice balcony

I did not like the bathtub, at all it looked very scratched old and had mildew on the tiles.

They have a nice restaurant with terrace on the river. The food is very good and not expensive. Breakfast is also served there, it is ok but nothing special

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mell27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
103 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2011

Apart from the glorious view of the limestone peaks across the river--a view available from many other riverside inns--the best feature of this place is that it is somewhat removed from the ridiculous spring break-meets-"Deliverance" scene that is the main reason for Vang Vieng. Like all buildings in this slapped-together-overnight town, this hotel is not particularly attractive or well constructed. But the bed was fine, we slept well and the hardwood floors were a nice touch. Beyond that, the dimly-lighted bathroom and its cold-water sink made shaving a challenge; management was stingy with TP (we ran out both days); there was no mosquito net (needed); and the breakfast was uninspired (for example, "orange drink" rather than fresh juice). In the end, though, the trick to enjoying Vang Vieng is to ignore the foreground.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms in middle of second floor, where the peaked roof over the terrace blocks the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
59 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2011

Great location and staff very helpful, but the rooms are very basic, we had booked the best room they had, with a river view, but it was on the second floor and had very limited views.
We had two rooms while we where there and both was very basic.
A real shame and not very good value for money

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hubbleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Vang Vieng hotels

Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2011

Most fabulous views from this small friendly hotel. It is small and simple hotel but with clean adequate rooms but all is made up for with the view across the river to the mountains behind.

Perfect place to stay for a few days or when passing through,

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fishwiwg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Level Contributor
82 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2011

We arrived at the hotel late at night and were unable to see the view. Next morning we opened the curtains to a fabulous view. The hotel is situated on the river with a beautiful, typical rock formation on the other side. Breakfast was taken on a terrace overlooking this view. The hotel was excellent and the service very good. We only stayed 1 night but after a wander around the lovely elcoming town, the hotel were happy to let me sit on the terrace while my Husband and Daughter went Tubing, They found this and its bar visits great fun. I would stay here again for a short stay but on its downside there isn't a swimming or plunge pool, for a longer visit.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldiesontherun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilversum
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2011

Stayed only one night. Very comfortable rooms but not very big. Fabulous view of the river and the mountains. The restaurant has the same magnificient view. A small stroll into the village center.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vang Vieng hotels
0.2 mi away
Vieng Tara Villa
Vieng Tara Villa
#4 of 21 in Vang Vieng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
#2 of 21 in Vang Vieng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Nam Song Vang Vieng
Villa Nam Song Vang Vieng
#6 of 21 in Vang Vieng
3.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Villa Vang Vieng Riverside
Villa Vang Vieng Riverside
#15 of 21 in Vang Vieng
3.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.9 mi away
Khampaseuth Hotel
Khampaseuth Hotel
#12 of 21 in Vang Vieng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riverside Boutique Resort
Riverside Boutique Resort
#1 of 21 in Vang Vieng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elephant Crossing Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elephant Crossing Hotel

Property: The Elephant Crossing Hotel
Address: Ban Viengkeo | (PO Box 5512, Vientiane), Vang Vieng 1003, Laos
Phone Number:
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vang Vieng
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Vang Vieng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Elephant Crossing Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elephant Crossing Hotel is a welcoming, warm and friendly accommodation venue situated on the river with fabulous views of the Karst limestone mountains! A boutique hotel, well established gardens and long terrace that stretches along the river. We aim to please all our guests and may they have a memorable experience while staying here with us. The bar and restaurant utilizes local farmers produce and serves Lao, Asian and Euro food. We are doing our best to reduce miles and serve clean chemical free food, with our own organic grown rice and winter vegetables from our own gardens. Our team of local staff are always willing to help with a friendly approach and authentic touch! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Elephant Crossing Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elephant Crossing Hotel
Hotel Elephant Crossing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing