We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FROM WATER FALLS TO WATER RATS”

Uncle Tom's Trails - Private Day Tours
Ranked #1 of 12 Tours in Vang Vieng
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Uncle Toms is a dirt bike tour operator offering tours and riding tuition (for total beginners) in the Kasi region of Laos PDR. 125cc four stroke trail bikes. plus smaller for training,British operator. Always best to book in advance due to limited places each day. Training is limited to two persons at one time and open to anyone over 5 feet 5 inches(165cm)on the full sized bikes, but we now have smaller bikes for anyone who is a bit smaller. Due to the rapid changes recently in Vang Vieng town,we have moved location, now we are based in the amazing Kasi District which is 55 kilometers north of Vang Vieng town.
Montgomery, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“FROM WATER FALLS TO WATER RATS”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Wow -- what an experience -- second time i've been but getting better everytime --visted a super scenic waterfall and saw rats on the BBQ too !(although i opted for Chicken !)

This tour is a must if in Vang Vieng -- dont go home without it !

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank PAUL D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Highlight of our trip in Laos, a must do in Vang Vieng”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We had a fantastic time on a trail bike tour around the mountains in Vang Vieng. Uncle Tom is an excellent guide and the tuition he is able to provide make these tours suitable for even beginner riders. Safety is the top priority on each tour and we felt completely safe the whole way through. Uncle Tom is a fun character to be around and we can honestly say that this tour was one of the highlights of our 3 weeks in Laos. The scenery is fantastic and this is the perfect opportunity to see many of the small villages in the area around Vang Vieng. Tubing is no longer the top thing to do in this picture perfect town - seek out Uncle Tom and you'll have a great time! (head over the bamboo toll bridge and turn right after the second bridge where the shop is well sign posted).

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Denise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant Day Out Seeing the Real Vang Vieng”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Due to scheduling, I got to go out with Uncle Tom solo in the afternoon, for a little more cash. It was well worth it! I was a total beginner but was shown all the ropes and was confident in about 20 minutes. They have a great spot to learn, and within an hour we were up in the hills admiring views and by the end we were trying difficult dirt paths. Tom was a great laugh. Best day of my 2 month trip so far!!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Ali R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Absolutely Great”
Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

Really, really enjoyed everything about this. This is about riding to enjoy the surroundings, not hardcore riding. The riding is fun and there are probably some areas that Tom could take you to that would be challenging, if you want them, but even someone without much experience can do this. But I can ride anywhere, so the most important was what I saw. And the sights - authentic small communities and their way of life, basically - where great.

Tom was very enjoyable to be around. Good guy

Helpful?
2 Thank ThomasTXNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

All the other reviews say it all but come see the real laos and how beautiful and friendly the real people are that dont have to deal with tourons everyday. My favourite thing in 3 months in se asia.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank jimburns4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Uncle Tom's Trails - Private Day Tours also viewed

Vang Vieng, Vientiane Province
Vang Vieng, Vientiane Province
 
Vang Vieng, Vientiane Province
Vang Vieng, Vientiane Province
 

Been to Uncle Tom's Trails - Private Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing