We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mr. Nam is the king of kings”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chilllao Youth Hostel Guesthouse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

This place rocks!!!
Great rates and efficiently knowledgeable staff make chilllao highly recommendable.
Wifi and clean showers are really important parts of a backpackers life, and they are right on the money here!
Vibrantly infused environment and people made my stay here top notch.
I wish I could drop in all the time, alas Laos is a bit of a commute.

I hope I see you aagain soon vv and all your quirky inhabitants!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jkarmalita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (155)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 155 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2013

4 Day waterfight! so much fun!
The hostel was perfect. Everything we needed and one of the cheapest places in town.
for only a few bucks per day I couldn't expect anything more. Location is excellent.
Restaurant downstairs had really good food so make sure you eat there at least once on your visit.
The owner is from Canada but has lived in Laos for many years. His adorable little girl hangs out downstairs during the day and we even had her helping in the water fight!

Room Tip: Go for the aircon and if you stay near the front of the hostel over the lobby your wifi will work be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank james o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Well what can I say, the place was perfect..
clean dorms, good showers, friendly atmosphere, free coffee (instant) but hey your a backpacker..so shut up!
Wifi access, great location (within stumbling distance of fat monkeys)
Devin, the owner is an english speaking expat who also speaks the local language, and can help organize things for you... I needed a motorcycle to rent and he drove me to a renter and said a few words in Lao, and next thing I know Im riding away on the cheapest price in town.
Cheers Dev see you soon!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gianluca225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

In a beautiful city like this it was great to be treated in a complimentary way. The Lao people are so kind and chilllao is no exception. I would recommend this guest house to anyone planning on staying in Vang Vieng. English and Lao staff were more than happy to help us get the most of our time here at the best prices. Thanks for an awesome time!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Muayguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Great place to stay, free wifi, friendly staff, clean rooms, smack bang in the centre of town. Spent a fair few nights chilling on the balcony and sipping on ice cold BeerLao. Would stay there again, Cheers Chillao, all the way from New Zealand.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KiwiTom69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

Best bang for your buck in vang Vieng. In the center, clean rooms, wifi, hot water, free coffee. Dorms and rooms available. All around great choice for budget travelers. Nice view of the cliffs over the river from the upper levels.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vvddd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

This guesthouse was very clean and cheap. You get what you pay for but it is so close to the city centre. Enjoyed my stay in the private room, all though the mattress was a little old. Would stay here again oh and free wi-fi which is great!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tess B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vang Vieng hotels
0.3 mi away
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
#2 of 25 in Vang Vieng
205 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vangvieng Homestay
Vangvieng Homestay
#4 of 25 in Vang Vieng
29 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mountain View Riverside Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Vang Vieng Rock Backpacker Hostel
0.2 mi away
Real Vang Vieng Backpacker Hostel
0.0 mi away
Army Barracks Hostel
Army Barracks Hostel
#2 of 55 in Vang Vieng
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chilllao Youth Hostel Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chilllao Youth Hostel Guesthouse

Address: 100 / 1 Main St, Vang Vieng 1003, Laos
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vang Vieng
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Vang Vieng
Price Range: $11 - $20 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Chilllao Youth Hostel Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near the center of town, close to all that Vang Vieng has to offer. English speaking staff, Wi-Fi, Air Conditioning (optional), Dorms, triple rooms, etc. Just tell the tuk-tuk driver "chill Lao" and you will be on your way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Chilllao Youth Hostel Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing