We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious!”
Review of Le Cafe de Paris

Le Cafe de Paris
Ranked #10 of 79 Restaurants in Vang Vieng
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We had the set menu, which was great value - both the stuffed aubergine starter and beef bourguignon were fantastic. Nice glass of wine too... All such a treat after weeks of rice and noodles. Really fantastic meal, friendly staff and nice atmosphere too! Definitely recommend

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    37
    11
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“What a great find! Had wonderful anniversary dinner!”
Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

It was our 5th year anniversary and my fiancé and I wanted to find somewhere to go and celebrate. So glad we came here! We happened to be the only customers that night (low season!) but Richard and his wife welcomed us, so friendly! We opted for the stuffed aubergine starter and beef bourguignon. Richard said we could mix up the starters if we wanted, one could have aubergine and one the bruschetta. The stuffed aubergines were so delicious, fantastic to dip the warm French bread into! The mushroom bruschetta was ok - on top of French baguette was a little too thick. There was a problem getting beef that month but they substituted beef for buffalo which was really tasty. The meat was tender and fell apart, the sauce thick and rich and bursting with flavour. There was so much food! A huge bowl of salad and delicious dressing as well as more French bread - not to mention the big pile if creamy buttery mash! We were stuffed! Went well with the Chilean Maipo wine! Highly recommend!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TripTommie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best food in Vang Vieng”
Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Thank you Richard for a lovely evening!
Keep on your exellent restaurant.
Don't miss the Bruscetta & the Beef Bourginun.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Oz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
55 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lovely place, amazing food, very welcoming owner!”
Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

Ate here twice and really enjoyed it.

First night we had the set menu which was stuffed eggplant followed by beef bourguignon. The eggplant was stuffed with cheddar and pepper sauce and was served with deliciously fresh french bread- really enjoyable!

Beef bourguignon was so so tender. Served with mash & fries, fresh bread, salad and the most delicious salad dressing. Thoroughly enjoyed this but was too much food!! We should have shared the set menu between 2 really!!

Ate here again and had the steak- not as good as the beef bourguignon as the meat was a bit chewy but everything else was delicious. The french owner was kind enough to offer us a glass of wine & we sat chatting for a few hours. Really lovely place, very relaxed and quiet in 'low season' and simply delicious food!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brisol123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Little France in Laos”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Great French food in a cosy restaurant. If you are tired of the boring tourist restaurants in Vang Vieng, then try this place a bit off the busy main roads. The owner, a really nice guy, kept the restaurant open for us even though we arrived quite late and he already wanted to close. The steak was perfect (quality of the meat and taste), the salad was great.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sigerl1511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Cafe de Paris also viewed

Vang Vieng, Vientiane Province
Vang Vieng, Vientiane Province
 

Been to Le Cafe de Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing