We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place - away from the madness of Vang Vieng”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riverside Boutique Resort
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Vang Vieng
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We found this place by accident during a 3 week visit to Laos. We had heard about Vang Vieng, and while the town and the backpacker scene didn't really sound like our kind of place, I wanted to see the countryside around Vang Vieng. It was with some trepidation that we booked this hotel and made our way to Vang Vieng.

As it turned out, this was one of the highlights of our trip. A gorgeous, elegant hotel away from all the backpacker madness of the town. The hotel has an excellent location, outside the town and away from the noise, but within walking distance if you wanted to go into town. It took us about 10 minutes to walk to the centre of Vang Vieng.

One of the highlights of the hotel were the lovely staff. Always friendly, smiling and helpful. And brilliant service - attentive without being "in your face".

Another highlight was the stunning view - from the pool or from our balcony, across the river to the mountains. The hotel is right next to the little toll bridge and it was great watching the flow of people going across - school kids, monks on bicycles, ladies with shopping - throughout the day.

All in all a highly recommended spot in a fabulous country.

To the owner and staff, I say extremely well done and thank you. If only more hotels around the world could follow your lead!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Neale T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (756)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

534 - 540 of 756 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights and loved it. It is the most expensive hotel in the area and there is a reason why. Service is expectional, even when sitting in reception someone would pop over from the bar with a cold glass of water. The manager and staff always made sure we were ok. The rooms have fantastic views over the river and it's great place to relax after a hard day of sightseeing.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dej23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Need I say more??

Well worth a visit.

Excellent rooms, very clean, spacious and tastefully decorated. Comfortable and great facilities.

Breakfast was excellent and the local food on the dinner menu is also delicious, excellent value and very tasty.

The grounds are very well manicured with a stunning view of the mountains and riverside. Quiet location but only a short walk into town. 5 mins max.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DancSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I wanted a quiet hotel, overlooking the river, away from the tubing madness. And that is what I got. A peaceful setting next to a little toll bridge my room overlooked the beautiful scenery. A great pool in the centre of the hotel grounds if you don't want to leave. Still only a few minutes walk to the main bars and restaurants if required. Not a cheap hotel but I thought it was worth every penny. Good customer service from the attentive hotel manager and staff.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tracie0909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised with this beautiful new hotel, situated on the banks of the Nam Song, at the outside of the rather ugly town. The simmingpool is an extra bonus on a hot day.
Our room was very spacious and comfortable with a big balcony and a stunning view of the majestic karst peaks. The bed has excellent mattresses.
We enjoyed our breakfast, served near the river, with such a beautiful view of the mountains. We found that the choices for the breakfast were too limited for a hotel of that level. We were rather tired of having to eat every morning eggs.
The staff was very friendly and helpful.
We only found that their proposed excursions are far too expensive and preferred to go on our own.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rose L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at the Riverside Boutique as a getaway break for my parents first visit to Laos. We were all taken aback by the beauty of the resort and its surroundings. The rooms are beautifully decorated, the pool and view simply awesome, and the food in the restaurant, not to mention the service from the staff is higher than first class. Well done Riverside Boutique.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Choppa1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We visited this resort during the weekend of 18-20 August 2012. We were a group of 10 people...ages ranging from 4-62!!!! The hotel was FANTASTIC. The staff - even more. The accommodation and other services of EXCELLENT top notch quality. It was a welcome break from the hassles of our daily/weekly schedules and certainly a place i'd recommend to many other people visiting Laos or Vang Vieng in particular.

Looking forward to another trip there. Thank you so very much to the management and staff for a wonderful reception during our stay.

Joyce Mmaitsi

Room Tip: All the rooms have a theme attached to them. Each room is modelled after any one of the ethnic group...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank seydou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vang Vieng hotels
0.1 mi away
Vieng Tara Villa
Vieng Tara Villa
#3 of 26 in Vang Vieng
217 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mountain View Riverside Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
#2 of 26 in Vang Vieng
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Inthira Vang Vieng
Inthira Vang Vieng
#4 of 26 in Vang Vieng
344 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Vang Vieng Riverside
Villa Vang Vieng Riverside
#16 of 26 in Vang Vieng
145 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
#7 of 26 in Vang Vieng
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Boutique Resort

Address: Ban Viengkeo, Vang Vieng 1003, Laos
Phone Number:
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vang Vieng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Vang Vieng
Price Range: $98 - $308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riverside Boutique Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located on the bank of the Nam Song River, multi-award winning Riverside Boutique Resort is a luxury hotel with charm and character. It is laid out around one of the most inviting swimming pools to be found in Laos, and offers stunning views of the surrounding lush landscapes and forest-clad limestone mountains. Thirty-four rooms with large balconies are located within the tranquil gardens, as well as a traditional herbal spa and an elegant restaurant overlooking the river. With a beautiful design that blends local traditions, ethnic arts and French colonial architecture, Riverside Boutique Resort celebrates the exceptional diversity of Laos, just a short drive away from Vientiane. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Riverside Boutique Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing