We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Thavonsouk Resort
Nearby Hotels
$40
$37
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Champa Lao(Vang Vieng)(Great Value!)
$32
$12
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Laos Haven Hotel(Vang Vieng)
$21
$19
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$48
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vieng Tara Villa(Vang Vieng)
$53
$45
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
$41
$30
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$20
$16
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Internet
Maylyn Guest House(Vang Vieng)(Great Value!)
$7
$3
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$117
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Inthira Vang Vieng(Vang Vieng)
$112
$72
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (291)
Filter reviews
291 results
Traveler rating
36
104
84
43
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
36
104
84
43
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe rivera river view roomroad leading to the hotellounge chairslong boatriverside suiteeach eveningcold eggsbreakfast averagesunrise and sunsetshort walksmall balconygood nights sleepstayed for nightsmountainsriverfrontlao
Filter
Updating list...
143 - 148 of 291 reviews
Reviewed September 30, 2010

You can have much more in much less in the Vang Vieng.
The rooms smells bad, the shower is old, the bed is a disaster, the stuff attitude is terrible!
The hotel manager treat the guests like they were one of the 100 slaves he keeps there, while he cant stop eating in the restaurant the bad food they serve.....

my advice to you is- take any other hotel in the area - you wont regret!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dorothyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2010

We booked a Ban Lao Room which was actually quite small and had little in the way of furnishing, but the view was out of this world. The staff were friendly and helpful. The restaurant was below average for breakfast and closed too early for us to try in the evening.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dab107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2010

Sadly I have to give this place a bad review, I read through many reviews before booking this place and decide to take my chance that maybe the bad reviews were just people have a bad day as the place looks great on their wesite - I have to confirm that the bad reviews were correct!

The views are very nice and the resort itself is nice to walk through as it is well maintained but the rooms are a different story. We booked the river view for around $50 per night and that was to have aircom and a fridge. The aircom did not work for the whole time we were there which was a nightmare as it was so hot at night, I informed the resort of this and they took a look at it but never fixed it and that was that. Also the Wifi which was also another reason we booked here stopped working after about an hour of checking in and 4 days later when we checked out it was still not working, when we informed management on the first night we thought they may look into it but no there was no action.

The room themselves are quite dated and could do with a lick of paint but also the bathroom stank and had ants running through it. I really do feel with a small bit of investment this place could be a real winner but not in it's current state.

Vang Vieng is a bit like Spain in the summer so don't expect to much but from talking to other travelers u would be better of staying in some $10 or $20 accom as the service and quality seem to be the same.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mac_Eolas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2010

If you're not twenty one, from Australian decent and up for booze, girls and floating around in a tube Vang Vieng isn't really the best place to stay in Laos. The good thing is that the Thavonsouk is located somewhat off centre so you don't have any noise from the bars and disco's. The view on the river and karst mountains from our bungalow was very nice. But that was about it. The room was poor and needed touching up. A shower was more a sort of drip with no hot water. Airco was not functioning. Not to mention the breakfast which was one of the worst we had in SO Asia. The surrounding are great of course but we cannot put that on the account of the hotel.

When we were there they were obviously getting ready for better since half the complex was under construction. Maybe in a year time it will be much better?

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bnbass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2010

We recently spent one night there on the way to Luang Prabang. We had a bungalow that was perfectly located at the river banks with a wonderful view. So much for the positives.
This place is run by a bunch of kids that provide the lowest level of service one could think of. Upon arrival the only word the boy lazing behind the reception table said was "passport". No welcome, or hello, or have a nice stay - nothing.
The boy who accompanied us to the bungalow opened the door, turned on the AC and disappeared without a single word.
Our bungalow was actually pretty nice from the outside, but very basic from the inside. There were spider webs in the corners and even some smaller spider nests at the ceiling. Yuck.
Wifi seems to exist but it was down, and the computer at the reception was incredibly slow, not even suitable for checking the mails.
The biggest letdown was the so-called breakfast. Very limited choice, and the few leftovers we found (at 8.30 am!) ranged between "better watch out" and simply disgusting.
It's most obvious that these people don't care about returning customers at all. Seldom before I've stayed at a place that is basically wonderful, but totally neglected by a bored, uncaring and indifferent staff.
Sorry folks, but so far the least welcoming place I've ever been to in Asia.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chris_and_Jas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews