We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You couldn't get a better view from a hotel in VV!”
Review of Thavonsouk Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Thavonsouk Resort
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Vang Vieng
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“You couldn't get a better view from a hotel in VV!”
Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

We spent two nights at the Thavansouk and had an excellent stay. The bungalows are lovely, the resort is very well landscaped, and many rooms have stunning views across the river and the distant mountains (viewed from some very comfortable chairs from our room's private balcony!). We had some minor language difficulties with some of the staff but they were very helpful and arranged our onward bus travel to Luang Prabang. It's a short 5-10 minute walk into the centre of Vang Vieng and close to the walking trail to the nearby caves.
Negatives? The breakfast was adequate but not as good as similar hotels we stayed in. Also, there were no tea/coffee making facilities in the room. These were minor complaints and I would definitely recommend Thavansouk.
Tip: pay a few extra £ for a River View bungalow - it's worth it!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    101
    74
    36
    21
See reviews for
31
107
23
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Pattaya, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Situated on the riverside, Thavonsouk Resort arguably has the best view in Vang Vieng looking across the river & paddy fields with the spectacular Karste Mountains as a backdrop.
The owners & staff were attentive and friendly and any problems I had were immediately dealt with.
The Resort which is locared a 5 minute walk from the town centre is continually being upgraded, English & French are spoken.
Not the cheapest place in Vang Vieng but well worth the cost as I left with nothing but good memories.
Even if this hotel is not in your price range the Sunset Restaurant which shares the same great views is well worth a visit but beware it closes at 8.30 !!!!
Note: Make sure you do not confuse Thavonsouk Resort with the nearby Thavisouk Hotel & Resort, closely named but very different !

Room Tip: Riverside Cottages have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank axact
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

During our (me and my wife) last trip (a tour around Northern Laos), we stayed one night at this hotel. But both the hotel and the environment at Vang Vieng made us feel that we should have stayed longer there: the surroundings are marvelous, the views beautiful and the hotel, although a little old-fashioned, very charming, especially the nice gardens and well-placed bungalows. The room was spacious, comfortable and very quiet. The staff was also friendly and helpful!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pmlousa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Arrived here after travelling from Vientiane, thought we were booked into somewhere else so that didn't start us off too well. Our rooms weren't ready so we waited in the bar for 2 and a half hours before we realised they were finished an hour before( no one bothered to tell us). As we settled in we realised there were no towels,soaps,toilet paper,or fresh water!!! What had they been doing??? The television was as useful as a paperweight or doorstop, no internet unless you sat at reception. Our daughter hopped into bed then it collapsed to the floor, we all had a good laugh, didn't bother telling management we fixed it ourselves. The grounds were well kept with a nice view over the river to mountains beyond.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelling_Spuddies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Vang Vieng hotels

Riccione, Italy
2 reviews
Reviewed July 11, 2013

The hotel’s elegance and serenity is subtle at first, but I quickly fell in love. The staff is top notch. They really want to work there, and should since the whole setting is indescribable. Our room clean and cozy and it was terrific. I'm afraid we will have to compare future trips to this property. A tough act to follow.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robertotir71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Our group of three stayed two nights at this location. The owner was extremely nice and the view was fantastic & relaxing. I struggle with rating this accommodation anything above average due to the distance from the downtown area, the cramped rooms for three people, weak breakfast arrangement, and most importantly their inability to be flexible with us leaving early & refunding us our money for a final night. Vang Vieng is a back packer haven and if you a looking for that experience this is not the location for you. Also in comparison to the other hotels in the area this is must more expensive & I don't understand why. I would recommend to keep searching for a better option.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights here on the way to Vientiane from Luang Prabang. Hotel pick us up from the bus station after a call to the hotel as it hard for them to estimate the arrival time. The resort is on a quiet and peaceful area and walking distance to the main road of restaurant, bars and tour agency. The check in was smooth on a very hot day thanks to Ms Luna (the manager). Got a triple sharing garden view room for 2 nights. Basic room with 1 queen and 1 single bed. The aircond leaked on the 1st night but was ok on the 2nd night. The amenities in the room are limited; only very basic toiletries were provided. Point to note: we were surrounded by thousands of lizards and geckos; live there long before the hotel was built. Hence, it was believe to be a sacred species. The landscape and view is just soo amazing and mesmerizing especially at sunset. Average buffet breakfast is served at the restaurant overlooking the river and cliffs. Wi-Fi signal is good near the reception and restaurant but not in our room. We need to stay at the balcony to use wifi. Even tho Staff speaks little English but Overall it was a pleasant stay at Thavonsouk

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xanthus_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vang Vieng hotels
0.1 mi away
Vieng Tara Villa
Vieng Tara Villa
#3 of 23 in Vang Vieng
190 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
#6 of 23 in Vang Vieng
441 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mountain View Riverside Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Villa Nam Song Vang Vieng
Villa Nam Song Vang Vieng
#5 of 23 in Vang Vieng
168 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
#2 of 23 in Vang Vieng
195 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Vang Vieng Riverside
Villa Vang Vieng Riverside
#16 of 23 in Vang Vieng
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thavonsouk Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thavonsouk Resort

Property: Thavonsouk Resort
Address: PO Box 2715, Vang Vieng 2715, Laos (Formerly Thavonsouk Bungalow)
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vang Vieng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Vang Vieng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Thavonsouk Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Thavonsouk Hotels & Resort in Vangvieng. Thavonsouk is your accommodation choice when you travel to Vang Vieng. Stay with Thavonsouk if you are in Vang Vieng. Thavonsouk Hotels is located on the riverside with the gorgeous view of the Phadeng (Red Cliff) Mountain, green forest and Stunning sunsets. Our resort hotel is your magnificent private holiday home, just 3 hours drive from Vientiane; the capital city of Laos and 5 hours down from Lungprabang, the World heritage town. Vang Vieng and surrounding areas offer unsurpassed natural wonders, still unspoiled...explore by yourself or with an tour / activity company which we can arrange. We offer a free shuttle service from the bus station and can arrange airport transfers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Thavonsouk Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thavonsouk Bungalow Hotel Vang Vieng
Thavonsouk Hotel Vang Vieng
Thavonsouk Resort Vang Vieng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing