We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Thavonsouk Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Inthira Vang Vieng(Vang Vieng)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vieng Tara Villa(Vang Vieng)
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Silver Naga Hotel(Vang Vieng)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (291)
Filter reviews
291 results
Traveler rating
36
104
84
43
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
36
104
84
43
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe rivera river view roomroad leading to the hotellounge chairslong boatriverside suiteeach eveningcold eggsbreakfast averagesunrise and sunsetshort walksmall balconygood nights sleepstayed for nightsmountainsriverfrontlao
Filter
Updating list...
115 - 120 of 291 reviews
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Our room was dirty and poorly equipped. Security was poor -- no in-room safe, door secured with skeleton key. We were robbed of $500 by someone who entered room while we were at dinner -- easily accessed room door, and picked lock on suitcase containing valuable. Our own fault for leaving $$ in room, but be aware the place is subject to thievery.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ed O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

There is no going past the simply incredible scenes of nature that surround these bungalows. In a place like Vang Vieng, where the drunk, shirtless and obscene style of traveller rule, this is the perfect place to escape and enjoy the beauty the city has to offer.

Staying in a bungalow right on the river and my favorite memory of Vang Vieng is sitting by the river on a sunbed outside the bungalow, watching the herds of cows as they gathered by the river and reading a book in the sunshine.

Whilst perhaps a little dated, the rooms are very comfortable and of a good size, with all the usual amenities. No matter what you wish to enjoy whilst in Vang Vieng, this accommodation is perfectly located, with many restaurants with Friends or Family Guy on loop within walking distance. Despite the noise of the louts at night, you are guaranteed a quiet and peaceful nights sleep here, which is also definitely an added bonus.

As many of the other reviewers have mentioned, the breakfast is pretty average. I wouldn't say it's great, or bad - just average.

The room was reasonably priced considering it was right on the river - more than we would normally spend, however. If you are on a specific budget or have a preference of room type, book in advance. In fact, if you want to ensure you get a room at all book in advance, particularly in peak seasons. We arrived to obtain the very last room in the place and it was by fluke that it happened to be so fantastic!

Room Tip: The bungalows right on the river have stunning views and provide sunbeds to really enjoy it
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mslexxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Average rooms, poor breakfast...the good thing is they have a really nice view. You can call them to pick up from the bus station. Vangvieng has changed a lot, hotels and restaurants on the Song River...so bad!

Room Tip: Some Garden View rooms can see the river
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EnjoyBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

We stayed in Vang Vieng for two days and really enjoyed our bungalow that looked out over the beautiful karst cliffs. The bungalow was clean, comfortable, and in a good location, although it was pretty expensive by Lao standards. We loved the deck attached to the back overlooking the river and spent one day just relaxing and enjoying the view. The service was not overly friendly, although that changed during Lao New Year, when we joined an impromptu drinking/dance party with the staff. Overall, it seems like we had a better stay than other reviewers - I'm not sure if Thavonsouk Bungalows and Thavonsouk Hotel are the same property, so that would be worth looking into.

Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank NanPan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Before we arrived our tour guide had sold Thavonsouk Resort as a resort, which meant our expectations were set too high. When we arrived the layout looked very nice and the view was stunning from the restaurant however the rooms were average. They were clean but basic. Unfortunately because our expectations had been set so high we could only be disappointed which I suppose really isnt the hotels fault. The staff were helpful an friendly so no complaints. Vang Vieng itself didnt impress me too much so it is more of a case would I recommend the town as opposed to the hotel. It depends on what your are looking for I suppose. If you want to party and drink your head off then go for it, the hotel was a few mins walk from the main drag, so you could party and then go back to some peace and quiet. Although, do not bring the party back with you, the hotel was quiet and I dont think it would be open to a party goers coming back disturbing other residents.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view of the river, because it really was beautiful.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews