We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic views, beautiful layout, helpful staff”
Review of Thavonsouk Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Thavonsouk Resort
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Vang Vieng
London, UK
Level Contributor
44 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Fantastic views, beautiful layout, helpful staff”
Reviewed December 2, 2011

The location is stunning, right on the Nam Song river, and it's handy that there's a boat dock right by the hotel. I loved the layout of the rooms in a resort style, with beautiful landscaping. The rooms are basic but have everything you need, and many have balconies. The staff were pretty young and had mixed abilities in English, but without exception they were keen to help and did their best. The breakfast was a bit disappointing, but you could fill up if desperate! The walk into the centre of town is longer than many other places you could stay, but it's still only 10 minutes or so, and there is an advantage to not being in the centre in terms of quietness.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jopycroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    101
    74
    36
    21
See reviews for
31
107
23
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Vientiane, Laos
Level Contributor
276 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2011

I am a regular visitor to VangVieng and have tried about a dozen different resorts/hotels. We stayed at Thavonsouk as the usual place we stay at in VV just downstream was booked out. The riverside bungalow itself was fine - set in a pleasant garden, hot water shower, AC etc, but fridge broken. The "free" breakfast was inedible - cold omelette and cheap ham with bread crusts - they would be better off just not providing breakfast if this is all they can manage.

The main downside however, was the price - 450,000 kip or $56. We would have moved on, but after a long motorbike trip and with it getting dark, decided to stay one night. This is way over the odds for what you get. The resort we usually stay in is better than Thavonsouk and charges less than half this. Most of the positive reviews here rave about the views - they are great, but many hotels/resorts have the same view.

Thavonsouk is well set out if a little crowded, bungalows are fine, but represents very poor value in a town full of good accomodation options.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bluecramp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Vang Vieng hotels

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2011

This hotel was amazing. We have river view bungalows and each one opened up on the river, the best way to relax. By all means this is not a 5 star resort but was comfortable, had aircon, tv, mini fridge etc. The view was what made it amazing for me, also you could get straight off your tube at the hotel!!

Room Tip: Get a river view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasmineo84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Barker, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2011

Great location overlooking the NamKhong River. Lovely staff. Breakfast a bit ordinary but good enough. A very short walk into town

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurence_baillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2011

I stayed here as part of a group tour of Laos so don't know how much was paid for this hotel. Its location right on the river with large outdoor patio with banana lounges and views of the local agricultural industry as well as the river could not be bettered. The room was large and had a fridge and TV. The bathroom was large also although the water pressure was not great. The food in the restaurant was perhaps a little pricey but the convenience and advantage of avoiding all the tourists in the 'Aussie bars' downtown was well worth the little extra. The food was european as well as asian. I had the mixed seafood salad with Lao lime dressing which was fantastic and cost less than a gin and tonic (no wine). Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: It's a bit of a hike up the short but steep gravel walkway to the main road into the town centre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oldpakana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
221 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2011

This is a pretty little resort on the river. The rooms are clean and fairly large. This is not the ritz but if you are here you are not looking for that. The bungalows are cute. The view is Spectacular! This is a pretty great hotel - Enjoy!
I spent several happy days here. The food is Great!! The Beer is inexpensive. It is close the the center of town. The Staff at the hotel are friendly .. in fact everyone in that area is so friendly and nice. Sabidee!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2011

Ok so I am sitting on the patio of my bungalow here at Thavonsouk and I feel like I need to say my piece after reading a number of scathing reviews on this place. The view here is absolutely spectacular, its quiet (apart from a few crowing roosters in the morning) and its about a 10 minute walk to the bars and main center. The food at the restaurant isn't great but there are SO many options if you just walk into town. The serving staff are young and inexperienced but I don't see how that can be the deciding factor on this place. How much service does one really need in a beautiful place like this? The rooms are basic and the shower area is basically part of the bathroom floor with a drain in it. There are ants running around on the patio but who cares! I paid 12 dollars to stay in a twin with one other friend. 6 dollars each? Overpriced?! Uhhh.. I don't think so. These prices may change in high season but right now its an incredible deal.

To conclude, people need to stop expecting five star service in these places. Even those that paid 50 dollars a night. You get a chance to see the rooms before you get here and I found that during my time in Laos, most of the locals appear indifferent to foreigners. No big deal. I don't need big smiles and "yes sir" "ok sir". I need basic accomodation in a stunning setting just a short walk to town, and this place has all that. For those looking for the party scene, I came here for that too and its just a short stumble home. Don't be put off.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Passion4Backpacking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vang Vieng hotels
0.1 mi away
Vieng Tara Villa
Vieng Tara Villa
#3 of 23 in Vang Vieng
188 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
#6 of 23 in Vang Vieng
441 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
#2 of 23 in Vang Vieng
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Villa Nam Song Vang Vieng
Villa Nam Song Vang Vieng
#5 of 23 in Vang Vieng
168 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mountain View Riverside Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Villa Vang Vieng Riverside
Villa Vang Vieng Riverside
#16 of 23 in Vang Vieng
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thavonsouk Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thavonsouk Resort

Property: Thavonsouk Resort
Address: PO Box 2715, Vang Vieng 2715, Laos (Formerly Thavonsouk Bungalow)
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vang Vieng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Vang Vieng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Thavonsouk Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Thavonsouk Hotels & Resort in Vangvieng. Thavonsouk is your accommodation choice when you travel to Vang Vieng. Stay with Thavonsouk if you are in Vang Vieng. Thavonsouk Hotels is located on the riverside with the gorgeous view of the Phadeng (Red Cliff) Mountain, green forest and Stunning sunsets. Our resort hotel is your magnificent private holiday home, just 3 hours drive from Vientiane; the capital city of Laos and 5 hours down from Lungprabang, the World heritage town. Vang Vieng and surrounding areas offer unsurpassed natural wonders, still unspoiled...explore by yourself or with an tour / activity company which we can arrange. We offer a free shuttle service from the bus station and can arrange airport transfers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Thavonsouk Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thavonsouk Bungalow Hotel Vang Vieng
Thavonsouk Hotel Vang Vieng
Thavonsouk Resort Vang Vieng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing