We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely beds!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Vang Vieng Central Backpackers
Oxford
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely beds!”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

After weeks of sleeping on stiff mattresses with just a sheet, I was pleased to arrive here and feel that the beds were soft and we had a nice pillow and comfy duvet!

The hostel is in a good location and was clean enough as well...not really any complaints

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hollie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    43
    29
    14
    21
See reviews for
2
31
28
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

Big clean cheap rooms with comfortable beds located on the main road through vang vieng excellent value for money and a good atmosphere on the bar area only complaint is the service can be a little slow and rude but still would stay here again for the rooms.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A-k-189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

We ended up staying here for 4 nights after only planning to stay a couple.
We stayed in a triple room which was so nice! It looks more like a hotel than a hostel.
It is located right in the centre of town close by to everything and lots of people coming and going to meet as well.
We ate here once but it is one of the more expensive - you can get the same food anywhere for cheaper.
Overall loved it and would recommend it!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank britishtraveller6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

Had a really great stay here with three other travellers. We had a four bed room and was really comfortable compared to the hostels we had been staying at. The rooms were big, spacious, clean with good bathrooms. The staff were really helpful too.

The downstairs area has a restaurant with really good food and drinks (highly recommend the watermelon shake here as well as the Pad Thai and fried noodles). It was a great place to just hang out and watch the Friends re-runs that Vang Vieng is so famous for! Highly recommended!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Binula W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guayaquil, Ecuador
Level Contributor
67 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

Great place to relax, wonderful beds and covers, wifi decent. No book exchange or bicycle hire etc. but places nearby. Beware scammers!! (Motorbike hire) staff nice but overall extremely difficult to actually plan how to catch tuktuks to lagoon, etc. don't know about tubing. Chill out area pretty good, rooms again were amazing. Would stay again, great value. Vv overall is expensive but this was great.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

We got in really late, around 130 in the morn. As we knew options would be limited, we decided to give this a go. The owners son was nice enough to let us know that parents were out for a walk, this was Laos Women's Day, so even a majority of the locals were drunk. It did take an hour or so, but in the meantime we chatted with the Belgium couple who we had come in on the bus with and drank a Beer Laos. We had a few encounters with drunk tourists just leaving the bars…. of course I expect this it was just bad timing as I was incredibly fatigued. Finally, the owners returned and though they were a bit smashed they were able to check us into our rooms (minus a bit of confusion). This really was no problem, we got in late and it was a holiday after all. The room was big and clean, cheap at 50,0000 kip. As this is a hostel in a party zone, you are going to get other travelers coming back late and being a little raucous. It wasn't too bad, the all day journey of bus travel without a/c had just worn me thin. The shower in the morning had almost no water pressure, but other then this I think this hostel is great and the owners were really nice. The wife is a little silly, but in a good way.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for 1 night, 30.000 kip pp for a dorm (6 pers). There is WiFi (connection is so so) hot water. Bathrooms are not clean, but for 30.000 acceptable.

They can do laundry, 8.000kip/1 kilo - back the same day.

Staff is not very friendly - They seem agitated.

Easy to meet other people. It's good for what u Pay for it but don't expect to much.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Yentl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vang Vieng hotels
0.8 mi away
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
#2 of 22 in Vang Vieng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
#6 of 22 in Vang Vieng
3.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
0.9 mi away
Vieng Tara Villa
Vieng Tara Villa
#3 of 22 in Vang Vieng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Chilllao Youth Hostel Guesthouse
0.6 mi away
Real Vang Vieng Backpacker Hostel 2
0.8 mi away
Pan's Place
Pan's Place
#6 of 97 in Vang Vieng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vang Vieng Central Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vang Vieng Central Backpackers

Property: Vang Vieng Central Backpackers
Address: Ban Savang, Vang Vieng 1003, Laos
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vang Vieng
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Vang Vieng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Vang Vieng Central Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing