We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very current rooms”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vang Vieng
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Vang Vieng Central Backpackers
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Great up-to date room with a more than fair price tag, 80,000 kip for a triple room with no air con, we only stayed one night but staff were friendly enough and they play friends like alot of the other resturants/guest houses. I give poor service because i left something in the room, went back the next da and no one wanted to help.

Room Tip: if you want wifi in the room, try to get a room on the 1st floor because there is no router upstairs...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Isobel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (140)
There are newer reviews for Vang Vieng Central Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 140 reviews

Reviewed November 29, 2012

I must admit, I did not like the vibe of Vang Vieng and so was my experience in this backpackers slightly biased.

I can only agree that the showers lacked the hottnes, but at 40 degrees, its not really want you need anyways.

It's quite a good place to hang out though, the bar area facing the street is definitely the highlight if you asked me.

My suggestions for Vang Vieng is however, shop around. It's a tiny town so do the effort to have a look at all the places.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arwed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We passed by this hostel after we just arrived in Vang Vieng during the evening. We had no accommodation booked yet, so we decided to let them show us a room. We were very positive surprised about how spacious & clean the room was (1st floor) and then I didn't mention the spotless clean bathroom and the great price yet. It is true that the WIFI signal was very weak in the room, but I just went down to the bar and all was fine. The only thing that bothered us a bit was a guy working there (not sure if he was the owner) was very pushy. We had to tell him off a few times and then he was a bit grumpy, but about the rest of the staff I cant complain. I would recommend this place because of the spacious/clean rooms for a very cheap/fair price.

Room Tip: Rooms at the first floor were very spacious and clean.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrTravelAllAround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We walked in from the street, asked if there was hot water and wifi in the room. We were assured that there were both. Unfortunately, there was a wifi signal that didn't actually connect you to anything, and the shower was ice cold (they tried to say we hadn't been using the shower correctly, but we were). When we came downstairs at about 9:15pm to ask about the wifi, all of the lights were off, and there was no one to be found, so apparently if you have a problem after 9pm, you're SOL. Only paid $10 for a double room, but there's better elsewhere.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adhaglin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We agreed to stay because of the promised internet in the room (I had to get some work done) and the hot shower. When we got back to our room- after the cafes shut down, the internet was down. We tried to get help but no one was around in the lobby and in the morning we woke up to a freezing cold shower. The shower hose wasn't even installed properly so the wall got a more proper shower than I did. We asked for some of our money back and they gave us a whopping 5,000 kip back after they said the water worked fine. -Three hours later. For no internet and cold water- you can pay half of the price elsewhere. Don't stay here!

Room Tip: Construction was in the front- so maybe choose one in the back if you ARE going to stay here.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thiskentuckygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Central Backpackers is always full of life and laughter. It has ensuite dorms, rooms and a restaurant that plays family guy. As the name says, it is central and located just next door to where you first arrive. I stayed in the 4 bed dorm. Security isn't fantastic, the reception closes at a certain time so it will be difficult if you need help in the middle of the night. The security lockers are locked outside the dorms right next to the reception but bring your own pad lock.

One dorm is 130 baht per night. If you have 2 people, get a room from a guesthouse down the street as it is almost the same price.

Room Tip: These guys are always full and they do not check their emails regularly so if you have to do walk-in...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rainbowbiscuits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Rootmultiply
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vang Vieng hotels
0.2 mi away
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
#2 of 25 in Vang Vieng
204 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vangvieng Homestay
Vangvieng Homestay
#3 of 25 in Vang Vieng
29 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
#8 of 25 in Vang Vieng
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Real Vang Vieng Backpacker Hostel
0.1 mi away
Vangvieng Central Park Hotel
Vangvieng Central Park Hotel
#8 of 100 in Vang Vieng
65 reviews
0.2 mi away
Real Vang Vieng Backpacker Hostel 2
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vang Vieng Central Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vang Vieng Central Backpackers

Address: Ban Savang, Vang Vieng 1003, Laos
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vang Vieng
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Vang Vieng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing