We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice quiet resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Vang Vieng Boutique Resort
Ranked #30 of 97 Vang Vieng B&B and Inns
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
98 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Nice quiet resort”
Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights at VV. Location is a little off the main street but a convenient walk to the river. Staff is friendly and helpful with transportation and tour arrangements. Breakfast is ok but a little pricey.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Phua W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    25
    19
    8
    9
See reviews for
3
53
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

We booked for 3 nights with PS. When we arrived we were shown a superior room and decided to upgrade our stay from the standard room. We thought this was worth the money as the room generally had a nicer decor and feel about it.

We decided to extend our stay and told a member of staff. I saw her clearly mark this in their system.

We then decided to further extend our stay by another 2 days (due to flights being booked up!). Before we did this we checked with the manager, he said this was fine (English speaking Aussie guy), he said to let them know and it wouldn't be a problem.

We then booked our transport to Luang Probabg based on the fact we could stay.

We then confirmed and paid with another member of staff... Or so we thought.

On our final day, whilst lying in bed, we were interrupted and asked if we were leaving today. We answered and said, no, as confirmed before, we are leaving tomorrow.

20 minutes later there was another bang on the door. We were told we had to leave the room, we hadn't extended our stay and we had to move room immediately. As you can imagine this was a complete annoyance, inconvenience and absolute let down.

After speaking to the Aussie manager it became apparent we had no choice but to move, and it also shown through the staffs lack of communication with each other and lack of English understanding - which ultimately caused this issue.

We received no apology. At all.

We moved to a not so nice standard room, in an out building behind the main area. The room was slightly dirty, had dust and cobwebs along with spiders and lizards in!! The bathroom had ants and no lid on top of the toilet cistern. We were not happy.

There was no loyalty towards us as existing customers and no sympathy towards moving us. They didn't even help is move out stuff. They sent the cleaners in before we had even finished packing.

The WORST thing though was seeing our original room remain EMPTY that night! What a joke.

A note regarding both rooms and the hotel:
- Cold showers
- Loud cockerels everywhere making noise all through the night
- Internet temperamental (even the manager complains about it)

Plenty of other places closer to town centre at same (or lower) price.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris2hall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phongsavanresort, Manager at Vang Vieng Boutique Resort, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
I would like to reply to this review , which I agree is factually correct but does imply that the staff are all callous, heartless people. I feel that on the contrary , we go out of our way to try and make our guests' stay as enjoyable as possible. We have a lot of guests who extend their stay and we do our best to keep them in the same rooms wherever possible. However we do have an obligation to fulfill new bookings that we receive often on the day prior to their arrival. As the guest mentions, their stay was extended a couple of times and at some point a misunderstanding occurred. I would have thought an apology was offered but in the circumstances maybe not heard. As also mentioned, in the end the guest who was meant to arrive didn't which just added insult to injury for all concerned.
As far as the cold showers. These are always available but if one does know how to operate the heating device , hot ones are always available too!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Vang Vieng hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014

We stayed here 2 nights and were very happy with our stay, and this accommodation is a real bargain which makes it even better! Although basic the rooms were very spacious, clean and comfortable, and have a really nice balcony. The free wifi didn't work very well in our room but was fine in the communal area which was really nice; a good place to relax, have a beer, and plan our onward route. There was a good drinks, lunch and dinner selection and we really enjoyed the food we had, and breakfast was tasty too with again a good selection (though at extra cost if I remember correctly). We really liked the location, only a 10 minute or so walk into the centre of Vang Vieng across the old airfield (and we did it with heavy backpacks), but far enough away to be quiet and peaceful. Finally, the owners are great, laid back but efficient, and always friendly which is a big plus for us. For budget travellers, I cannot recommend this place enough.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Efrat
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

The hotel was very friendly and welcoming and helped us with everything we needed!
The room was clean but very old fashioned and the tv did not work properly!
Wifi did not work in the room and only in the lobby.
Very gd location off the main road so its very quiet and peaceful!
Overall worth the money.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Starkiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

Perfect place to experience the hustle and bustle of the main town yet retreat to swing in a hammock with a book when the party people get too much. The manager Neil was lovely and was always up for a chat and there to give you good advice. They had a chicken parma here, that coming from Australia, I loved. The two dogs were awesome. For once we had a shower far enough from the toilet that it stayed dry ;) one of the better places to stay we've found so far and the older reviews fail to reflect the changes Neil and his wife Pan since they've taken over. All the other staff were also lovely and the only criticism I have is that Neil beat me at chess too much!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank brian542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Booked for 3 nights, ended up staying 8 and wished it had been more. Set on the other side of airfield from the main town, it's a quiet, relaxing place. Neil and Pan run the place so efficiently, book whatever you want , cook excellent food and still have time to chat. Excellent value.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phongsavanresort, Manager at Vang Vieng Boutique Resort, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Thanks for taking time to review us! We have fun running the resort and it is an extra bonus to know that our guests are really enjoying their time here too!!

Neil and Pan and all the staff..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Peaceful location but convenient for town. Nice, clean and comfortable. Excellent value for money. Very friendly staff and helpful owner. Food very good. They arrange trips, transfers etc. full cooked breakfast is excellent.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daistrose601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vang Vieng hotels
0.3 mi away
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
#2 of 23 in Vang Vieng
194 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
#6 of 23 in Vang Vieng
441 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Nam Song Vang Vieng
Villa Nam Song Vang Vieng
#5 of 23 in Vang Vieng
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Vilayvong Guesthouse
Vilayvong Guesthouse
#25 of 97 in Vang Vieng
124 reviews
0.4 mi away
Champalao The Villa
Champalao The Villa
#23 of 97 in Vang Vieng
65 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vangvieng Central Park Hotel
Vangvieng Central Park Hotel
#8 of 97 in Vang Vieng
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vang Vieng Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vang Vieng Boutique Resort

Property: Vang Vieng Boutique Resort
Address: 13 North Road | Phonephang village, Vang Vieng 01000, Laos (Formerly Phongsavanh Resort)
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vang Vieng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Vang Vieng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best value 3 star resort in Vang Vieng. Clean, new rooms in a tranquil garden setting only 5 minutes walk from the town centre. We pride ourselves in offering excellent customer service and providing comprehensive information on the many things to see and do in the area. A la carte restaurant, free Wifi, great atmosphere, we promise to make your stay in Vang Vieng one to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Vang Vieng Boutique Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing