We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In a city aimed at teenagers, an hotel for adults”

Savanh VangVieng Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Savanh VangVieng Hotel
Ranked #22 of 23 Hotels in Vang Vieng
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“In a city aimed at teenagers, an hotel for adults”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We had some time to spend and decided to take a bus from Luang Prabang (excellent, if increasingly touristy) to somewhere between on the way to Vientiane. Vang Vieng seemed a good stop and the drive was supposed to be through beautiful mountains.

The drive is through spectacular mountains and allows you to see Laosian countryside and country rest stops/restaurants up close and personal. The downside was that our "air-conditioned minivan" wasn't really air-conditioned, was crammed full of people and luggage so mini was the operative word. Our fellow passengers were all in their late teens, early twenties. Great if you're that age. Way less great if you're not.

The hotel is only a couple years old so it's pristine. I'm not sure anyone had stayed in our room before. It was lovely and perfect. We paid a little more and stayed on the 4th floor with amazing views on both sides of the mountain-like things called karst. Gorgeous esp in the morning when hot air balloons drifted by.

Our room was huge with a sofa, coffee table & chairs and a giant bathroom. The shower head, mirrors, and door safety-eye were all at Asian heights, which means mid-chest on a tall American woman. My husband and I both had to kneel in the tub to wash our hair. Not exactly a negative and pretty much a given in Asia.

As long as you avoid the hotels & restaurants right on the river where all the teen-aged backpackers stay and eat you can have a nice, low-key, inexpensive stay in a very low-key town. There's not a lot to do but it won't cost you much.

I was especially intrigued by the swing/sofas in many local bars. The sofas are big enough to accommodate 2-4 people, and you can lounge while watching endless reruns of the American series Friends. Many of these bars advertise buckets for $3 USD - a small bottle of Mekong whisky, a couple local beers and a couple soft drinks - 7 UP is popular. Some bars offer 2-for-1 buckets parts of the day.

Most of the activity is aimed at very young, foreign, back-packers. We spent a pleasant and mindless 3 days there and didn't tube the river, drink in the bars, or buy a bucket.

Can't think of a single reason to ever return to Vang Vieng unless I turn into a 19-yr-old (god forbid).

Room Tip: On the 3rd & 4th floors you have unimpeded views of the spectacular close-in mountains. Worth t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank k8bemis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    6
    4
    2
    7
See reviews for
1
10
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
bruce123
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

This hotel was great. The rooms were large, clean and had a balcony. The staff was very nice and accommodating also. I would imagine this has to be one of the better hotel options in Vang Vieng. It is a 6 minute walk to the main street with bars and restaurants but not far at all. I actually enjoyed the fact it was a little away from the craziness. I will definitely stay at this hotel again when I am in Vang Vieng.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bruce123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
200 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We had a room on the top floor which had pleasant views over VV. The room was more than adequate for the price & the bathroom very clean. The hotel can be quite noisy probably due to the fact the corridors are bare. We were near the lift and could hear it going up & down once things got quieter. The breakfast is filling but is in the you only eat as it is free category. The hotel is an easy walk to the river. When we arrived on the bus everyone is transferred from the bus station to a hotel in town & literally dumped there with no way of knowing where to go and no tuk tuks. If this happens to you, turn left of that hotels car park & the Savanh VV is the last hotel about 600m along the road. FYI – VV is a much quieter town than is written up in guide books...the Govt demolished all the bars along the river in Aug 2012.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CricketGirlDarwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is spotless, safe and comfortable. There isnt many extras but I didn't think they were necessary for the price of the hotel. It was quiet, well placed and had great views. Breakfast was bread, egg and bacon which was fine. This place is excellent for the cost.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bcc30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester, england
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

This may not be the cheapest option in Vang Vieng but having viewed many places in town this is by far the best. At 180,000 Kip p/n (bargained for a 3 night discount) it's still really cheap - only about £14 a night. The hotel is brand new so all is very clean and fresh. The view from the room is also brilliant. It's in central Vang Vieng so only a coupe of minutes walk to all the places you're likely to go to - bars, restaurants, clubs, tubing rental places etc. It's at the quiet end of town which for me was a bonus. If you go to Vang Vieng and are not on a £5 p/n budget this is definitely the place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pauld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for one night before heading further north. The hotel is only a few months old so it looks nice. The rooms are large and the bathrooms are super big - too big. being new, it also seems somewhat sterile. They need to put some more decorations around the place just to give it a lived in feeling. Breakfast is included however they do not have a kitchen on the premises. All the food, including the cooked food, is brought from across the road. Pity, because the large covered area for eating would make a good beer and grill. It would also help if they had a computer set up for internet use, but they do have free wifi. The hotel is away from the noise of the main area but certainly close enough to walk to everything. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank plbk4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vang Vieng hotels
0.1 mi away
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
#2 of 23 in Vang Vieng
195 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Vang Vieng Riverside
Villa Vang Vieng Riverside
#16 of 23 in Vang Vieng
138 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
#5 of 23 in Vang Vieng
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Thavisouk Riverside Hotel
Thavisouk Riverside Hotel
#17 of 23 in Vang Vieng
63 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Nam Song Vang Vieng
Villa Nam Song Vang Vieng
#6 of 23 in Vang Vieng
168 reviews
0.8 mi away
RoungNakhone Hotel
RoungNakhone Hotel
#20 of 23 in Vang Vieng
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savanh VangVieng Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savanh VangVieng Hotel

Property: Savanh VangVieng Hotel
Address: Ban ViengKeo, Vang Vieng 1003, Laos
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vang Vieng
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 23 Hotels in Vang Vieng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Savanh VangVieng Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Savanh VangVieng Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing