We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best view and caring family”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vang Vieng
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mesah View Guesthouse
Ranked #26 of 101 Vang Vieng B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Me and my two friends stayed here during the whole time in Vang Vieng. Very nice family, they really care for you and give you good advice. They most definitely have got the best view over the river and the mountains. You can watch the beautiful sunset from the balcony. One of the nights Loay took us out to a place further up the river, bonfire, good food, good drinks and good company.

Room Tip: The rooms on the backside of the guesthouse has view over the river from the window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arthur G, Public Relations Manager at Mesah View Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Glad you had a good time. I need to clarify some aspects of Lao culture visitors may not understand. One review said some of our staff seemed disinterested. In fact, many Lao people are shy and avoid eye contact, which will be validated if you check out Teaching English In Laos in Google... it is a sign of respect, not disinterest!. Also many do not speak English, although you may not speak the local language either!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 39 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2013

Very good place to stay. Loay and his familly are very friendly, they invited us to share their meal with us, they told us the best places to go ...
It is not so far from the center and it is a peaeful guesthouse with a beautiful view on the river.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Niels N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Allright, i stayed at laoy s ghest Houde for maybe 10 nights.
At thé beginning i wanted to stay only 3 nights but.... Theres ré some places Luke this one where yyou can stay longer because you feel good. That s what happened.
Laoy is.... I think one if my best meeting in Laos! He helped me a lot and his ghest house is vert good, not far from the center so calm at night for sleep and during thé day you meet him or other backpakers.
A really good place to stay !

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eyslime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

I stayed at Mesah View for 2 nights, and it was a great deal, but not clean enough. Everything was dirty from the bed sheets, to the curtains (I found a huge grasshopper in the curtains), to the floor, the towels, the bathroom, the toilet seat was broken and the sink smelled. The sink does just drain onto the floor, which I've seen plenty of times, but there's a lot of splashing with this one.

On the plus side- the owners are super nice and helpful, it's a decently quiet location, the internet works well and there's a great view from the balcony!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jkraska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Everything about mesah view guesthouse is just exellent, the family, the atmosphere. Loyd the guesthouse mananger is a very helpful person. Me and my friends visited alot of other guesthoueses, but i must say that mesah got the best view of the valley and river. We stayed there for 9 days.

From time to time Loyd make trips to the jungle, he gather alot of funny people and he cook an awesome bbq, along the river and with the fire and the moon into your eyes, it's just perfect.

About the rooms, everyone has different kinds of budget, but we were 3 persons, and got a really nice room for 90k kip. Hot shower, the internet (wifi) is working exellent, the beds and the blankets are also really good. Alot of space for putting your luggage in the room, i have really no complains about mesah view. Defiently a place i want to go back to.


//Michael, Leo and Andreas

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kungpulan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We planned to stay for 3 nights but unfortunately moved after 1 as this wasn't the place for us. Firstly Loay is absolutely lovely and so is his family. They were all very welcoming and willing to do anything to make their guests happy. We emailed the day before we arrived to see if they had space and he responded to emails immediately and had a room ready for us. The guesthouse is located well; close to the centre of Vang Vieng with absolutely amazing views from the back and the balcony - the sunset views from here were far better than those we climbed 300+ steps for in Luang Prabang!

Unfortunately we did not like the room so we ended up moving. We did not find it to be clean; numerous cobwebs in the corners with spiders, dusty floor and the bathroom sink had what looked like vomit in it from the person before. I nearly threw up when I tried to clear it. Also, the sink tap drains straight onto the floor - I asked Loay about this and he said it was normal in Laos but we was looking at arranging proper drainage. However, I found it dirty that when I washed my hands/brushed my teeth and everything from the sink ended up around my feet. He gave us a bucket for the interim but it was too small and emptying it still gave us the same issue - a dirty floor. Also, when we returned from dinner at night, the guesthouse was full of flies and mosquitoes - there are no nets on the windows and no mosquito nets are provided for sleeping so we got bitten lots that night. Also, the walls are paper thin and it was really noisy so we did not get any sleep - it felt like we could hear everything all the other guests were doing and every vehicle that went down the road. Loay had told us he would have given us a room at the back from the second night onwards but as we are light sleepers, we probably still would have been disturbed.

We moved to another place nearby which cost 10000kip more per night and did not have the beautiful sunset views, but also did not have any of the other problems we mentioned above.

The owners are absolutely lovely and we can't fault them in anyway but unfortunately this wasn't the right guesthouse for us.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank innocent26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

we stayed 3 nights at loays place and where feeling good there. nice and quiet, off the main street and still close footwalk to the "centre" and bars. loay was really helpful with explaining things to us and his small daughter is adorable! payed 50.000 instead of 80.000 on the website so it was all good, and, after it was available, even one of the two rooms facing the water with spectacular sunset views :)
thanks for the nice stay loay

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arthur G, Public Relations Manager at Mesah View Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Thanks for the positive feedback. We would like to take this opportunity to wish past and future guests a very Happy Christmas and a Healthy and Prosperous New Year, and may you be able to afford to do some travelling, which is good for you and good for us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vang Vieng hotels
0.0 mi away
Riverside Boutique Resort
Riverside Boutique Resort
#1 of 25 in Vang Vieng
700 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vieng Tara Villa
Vieng Tara Villa
#4 of 25 in Vang Vieng
200 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mountain View Riverside Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
#8 of 25 in Vang Vieng
464 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Nam Song Vang Vieng
Villa Nam Song Vang Vieng
#7 of 25 in Vang Vieng
174 reviews
0.0 mi away
Thavonsouk Resort
Thavonsouk Resort
#12 of 25 in Vang Vieng
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mesah View Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mesah View Guesthouse

Address: Ban Viengkeo Vang Vieng, Vang Vieng 1003, Laos
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vang Vieng
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 101 B&Bs / Inns in Vang Vieng
Price Range: $6 - $16 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly guesthouse, 11 rooms, with great views over the river and the hot air balloons taking off and landing early in the morning or in the afternoon, massage room and beauty salon and a short stroll from the noisy bars so you get a good night's sleep, wifi, mosquito nets, affordable prices. Loay pronounced as in TOY is the proprietor. His wife Phai pronounced as in PIE runs the massage salon. and the guesthouse is named after their daughter Mesah. 4 brand new motorbikes are lovingly maintained by Phai's father who religiously cleans them daily. They are like his grandchildren! Three of the top four restaurants as rated on tripadvisor are located close by about two minutes walk. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing