We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible Rooms with no window and no warm water”
Review of Silver Naga Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Silver Naga Hotel
Ranked #16 of 101 Vang Vieng B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We stayed at this hotel on 13 January 2014 :
- the hotel was full with South Korean tour tourists who booked the nice rooms with view on the river
- the rooms 'with view on the village' have in fact NO view : there are no windows just a door. And our door was blocked because just in front of another building at back side of the hotel
- there was NO warm water. When entering the hotel, following warning was posted : 'This is our first winter period. Please help us save solar heater water'. This meant in fact that the solar heating was insufficient for the full hotel and hence no warm water.

The title of Boutique hotel for this is really not worth it ! And also the staff, while gently, was not able to help.

I had hoped to have a much better stay at Vang Vieng.

Room Tip: The only good choice are the rooms with view on the river And check if the warm water system is fun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mbosLeuven_Belgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (265)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 265 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2014

The hotel overall was fine for where we were... The room was clean and the beds were comfortable enough and the view over the pool and river was nice. The staff was polite and efficient. We spent two comfortable nights, the included breakfast buffet was simple but good. We rented a SUV and were driving up to Luan Prabang, better planning and we would have only spent one night in Vang Vieng - backpackers, drugs, and drunks, not our scene, especially with kids. Once there, for sure do some outdoor activities - kayaking, mountain biking, trekking, etc.

Room Tip: Face the river and mountains over the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

We could hardly sleep on this hotel. You felt like you were on the middle of everything. The neighbors having shower or speaking, kids running on the corridor or the close club with all wasted bag-packers drinking and getting high.
Breakfast is modest but poor. I felt a little bit disappointed with this hotel.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank andresit0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is a very nice almost luxury hotel. The pool and view is amazing! However we were messed around- we were given a twin room with a view of the road when booked a double. We had to sleep here one night and were then upgraded to double with mountain view. On the evening the shower was cold. We were told hot water is produced by solar and they had to drain the tanks due to construction upstairs! We were upgraded again to master suite which was lovely an to be honest I was very pleased! The manager was very polite and made sure we were happy also!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaffacake0708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

This is appears to be one of the best options in Vang Vieng at the moment, whilst they're still building the other big hotels. The pool view rooms offer an incredible view of the mountains and river.

The room was comfortable, apart from when we tried to have a hot shower after a swim in the unheated pool and couldn't get the shower warmer than slightly above completely cold. The manager on at the time tried to help but had no luck either. The next day though, there was hot water galore!

Sound does travel a lot and like other travellers we had large noisy tour groups being extremely loud from 6 am, but that's not the hotel staff's fault!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Melanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

We loved the room, bed was comfortable and most things thought of. We had a pool view plus amazing scenery of the landscape. The building carries noise, and large tour groups were very discourteous in early morning, not that the hotel can control this.
The breakfast seems more geared to Asian than Western taste.
Unfortunately a missing tile under the vanity may have allowed entry for a rat, so we had one very bad night. Without a welcome folder in the room, we could not get help via phone and were forced to wander the hotel to find staff.
We received a sincere apology from the duty manager next morning.
This hotel is in the perfect location, with just a few stairs and you are in the town.
We really liked our pool view room, and suggest you check all maintenance is up to date (and loose tiles replaced) to avoid any 'nocturnal' visits?

Room Tip: Room 310 had a great view, remember to ask to be placed away from large tour groups.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bellalab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

On balance this is a good option in Vang Vieng. There is not a huge amount of competition at this level, and the Silver Naga is one of the best hotels in town. The river view rooms have balconies with superb views over the river. The beds are comfortable with good quality linen. The bathrooms have good showers, although they would save a lot of water if there were a sign indicating the lack of hot water in the basins. However don't expect to sleep in as there are numerous tour groups who can be heard quite clearly in the morning. Also there is extensive building work going on during the day at the moment. The so called no view rooms at the back of the hotel appear to have no windows, merely a door out to a small balcony!

Room Tip: Get a river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FloydChorley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vang Vieng hotels
0.1 mi away
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
#8 of 24 in Vang Vieng
467 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vieng Tara Villa
Vieng Tara Villa
#3 of 24 in Vang Vieng
205 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inthira Vang Vieng
Inthira Vang Vieng
#4 of 24 in Vang Vieng
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mountain View Riverside Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
#2 of 24 in Vang Vieng
213 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Vang Vieng Riverside
Villa Vang Vieng Riverside
#16 of 24 in Vang Vieng
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Naga Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Naga Hotel

Address: Ban Savang | Nam Song Riverside, Vang Vieng 1003, Laos
Phone Number:
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vang Vieng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 101 B&Bs / Inns in Vang Vieng
Price Range: $51 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Silver Naga Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated on the river bank in the heart of town, the Silver Naga hotel welcomes guests to experience magnificent mountain views and warm hospitality. With a focus on ethical tourism, the environment and excellent service, we aim to make your stay relaxed and comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Silver Naga Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing